We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
200
77
62
56
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
77
62
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseisle of wighttennis courtsevening mealislandseapathwoodland
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 427 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. Although we only had a short stay we were made to feel really welcome by all of the staff and relaxed very quickly. The hotel and grounds are stunning and our room was delightful. The hotel has a private beach which is clean and safe. Food was excellent.
Well done The Priory Bay! and Thank-you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had our wedding here at the end of May 2012. We booked all the rooms for Friday and Saturday night and therefore had sole use of the hotel which made the whole weekend amazing. The setting is superb with the sea views, the beach and the sporting facilities. The rooms are also excellent with different themes and lots of character.
The staff at Priory Bay were friendly and very attentive and performed very well throughout the entire weekend. We never had to worry for one moment as it was so well orchestrated.
We had the ceremony in the big sitting room which was beautifully relaxed and intimate and the dinner and band/disco in the Oyster Room which leads out onto the terrace.
The food was excellent - although the vegetarian option needed for a few people was not quite as good as expected. Overall it was one of the most memorable weekends of our lives and it was also by helped by good weather for the whole weekend!
Having our wedding at Prioy Bay was very successful and worth the travel and accommodation costs for the friends and relatives. Everyone commented on the wonderful venue and a fantastic time was had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel which is wonderfully secluded with it`s own private beach and extensive grounds. We had a nicely decorated room on the top floor with a spacious bathroom, small sitting area and very small balcony with sea view. However, I wouldn`t recommend it for the elderly/infirm as it was up 47 steps and no lift! The public rooms were a bit of a mixture. The lounge and bar were lovely but the Oyster Restaurant where we breakfasted was in need of upgrading. It all looked somewhat scruffy and the chairs could certainly do with a springclean. Also, the staircarpet had seen better days and was stained in places. We elected to have B & B as we like to try different places for dinner so I can only comment on the breakfasts. These were excellent with plenty of choice.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The definite plus points for this hotel are the staff, the position and our bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 if you don`t mind climbing 3 flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Priory Bay Hotel. The hotel is situated in large, beautiful grounds, including a large private beach approx. 5 minutes' walk through the grounds. Our room was fine and the bathroom was large. Breakfasts and dinners good. Staff helpful and friendly.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Have just returned after a mini break at this hotel. It really is a hidden treasure! Fantastic setting just a short walk from the hotel's private beach. Our newly decorated rooms were very comfortable and stylish, although the shower was a little weak. Both service and food were very good, and the staff so friendly, helpful and informative about the history of the hotel. This was our second stay and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews