We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location, tranquil and heavenly hotel”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Turned up here late on a Friday evening - 7.30pm ish with no booking. They had a fabulous room still available, which was overlooking the front lawn and down to the sea. Ate later that evening on the terace..... we were the only people still eating outside at 9pm. All other diners seemed to have small children and had eaten much earlier. Food and service were both good. The most impressive thing apart from the location, beach & Buzzard up in the tree was that the owner came to introduce himself to us and everyone else at breakfast ! Huge bonus points for that. Will definitately return, but maybe not in school holidays next time ?!

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea - its must !......... Fabulous !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. Although we only had a short stay we were made to feel really welcome by all of the staff and relaxed very quickly. The hotel and grounds are stunning and our room was delightful. The hotel has a private beach which is clean and safe. Food was excellent.
Well done The Priory Bay! and Thank-you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had our wedding here at the end of May 2012. We booked all the rooms for Friday and Saturday night and therefore had sole use of the hotel which made the whole weekend amazing. The setting is superb with the sea views, the beach and the sporting facilities. The rooms are also excellent with different themes and lots of character.
The staff at Priory Bay were friendly and very attentive and performed very well throughout the entire weekend. We never had to worry for one moment as it was so well orchestrated.
We had the ceremony in the big sitting room which was beautifully relaxed and intimate and the dinner and band/disco in the Oyster Room which leads out onto the terrace.
The food was excellent - although the vegetarian option needed for a few people was not quite as good as expected. Overall it was one of the most memorable weekends of our lives and it was also by helped by good weather for the whole weekend!
Having our wedding at Prioy Bay was very successful and worth the travel and accommodation costs for the friends and relatives. Everyone commented on the wonderful venue and a fantastic time was had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel which is wonderfully secluded with it`s own private beach and extensive grounds. We had a nicely decorated room on the top floor with a spacious bathroom, small sitting area and very small balcony with sea view. However, I wouldn`t recommend it for the elderly/infirm as it was up 47 steps and no lift! The public rooms were a bit of a mixture. The lounge and bar were lovely but the Oyster Restaurant where we breakfasted was in need of upgrading. It all looked somewhat scruffy and the chairs could certainly do with a springclean. Also, the staircarpet had seen better days and was stained in places. We elected to have B & B as we like to try different places for dinner so I can only comment on the breakfasts. These were excellent with plenty of choice.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The definite plus points for this hotel are the staff, the position and our bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 if you don`t mind climbing 3 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Priory Bay Hotel. The hotel is situated in large, beautiful grounds, including a large private beach approx. 5 minutes' walk through the grounds. Our room was fine and the bathroom was large. Breakfasts and dinners good. Staff helpful and friendly.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Have just returned after a mini break at this hotel. It really is a hidden treasure! Fantastic setting just a short walk from the hotel's private beach. Our newly decorated rooms were very comfortable and stylish, although the shower was a little weak. Both service and food were very good, and the staff so friendly, helpful and informative about the history of the hotel. This was our second stay and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in on of the beachfront yurts for our wedding anniversary and couldn't fault it! They were super luxury, the staff were fantastic and did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. We stayed one night in may 2012 and were so lucky with the weather. The yurts are really spacious, gorgeous bathroom and terrace with a view of a lovely private beach! We will definitely be returning to the yurts!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beachfront one for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
1.3 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
471 reviews
8.7 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
14.9 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
364 reviews
6.6 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
14.9 km away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range: $159 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing