We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!!! What a find!!! First rate!!!”

The Hoo Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totland Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hoo Guest House
Ranked #8 of 11 Totland Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What an absolute gem, this gueat house has it all.
It's clean, it's spacious, it's comfortable, it's quite, it's value for money, breakfast is first class and above all Setsuko is a charming, friendly host.

We stayed here at the end of March and we both agree that it was a most pleasurable experience.

We didn't get to know John very well as he had a family emergency and had to go away the day we arrived, but his wife Setsuko was a fantastic host and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. We were supplied with maps and an array of litreture about the island and she was always on hand to answer any queies.

Breakfast was the best that I have ever had in any B&B and that includes 5 star hotels, heaps of choice and all freshly cooked to order, it really sets you up for the day.

We would highly recommend this establishment and if in the future we retrun to the island we would look no further than The Hoo for accomadation.

Well done John and Setsuko.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62bethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

From the moment you arrive, John and Setsuko will make your stay memorable. The house is absolutely delightful and feels like a much loved home. The rooms are exceptionally clean and have every amenity you could wish for. The garden is so beautiful and a peaceful haven to sit and relax. The owners will leave you to enjoy your holiday in your own way but are always on hand with any advice you need. With their help, we visited places on the island that we would not have known about or seen during our stay and we would have missed out on some real gems. They know so much about the island and have the expertise to tailor their advice to exactly suit your needs. It is very much a home from home and you will feel as though you are staying with much loved friends. Our holiday was an absolute joy from start to finish and we will definitely be going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This guest house is an absolute treasure.The rooms comfortable and decorated to a very high standard.This is my second visit and not my last!!! I can recommend a stay here any time.1st.class and friendley service from John &Setsuko,the owners,Clive @CIF.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mediaclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

The guest house is opposite a green in probably the nicest part of the village. Parking would be easy as they are on the corner of an unrestricted side-street. Although it is on the main road (making it easy to find), once inside I heard no traffic-noise.

I was welcomed in despite arriving early and while the owners were having to deal with a family problem far away. The property is spotless and faultlessly maintained - I wish I could attain and keep to such levels of cleanliness at home!

My room was comfortable and contained everything I might need, including a reasonably-priced minibar. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom well-equipped. When I asked about places to eat they discussed the possibilities, phoned to book a table at the chosen spot for me and lent me an umbrella and map. They even charged-up my run-down mobile.

Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, with excellent cereals, toast and preserves accompanying scrambled egg with smoked salmon. They make porridge even better than I do, and mine is pretty good.

Over the course of six nights on the island this was not the most expensive place I stayed at but was BY FAR the best. In fact It is one of the top ten I have ever stayed in during a B&B career of 30+ years.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RetiredBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludwig3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland Bay
2.4 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Freshwater Bay Country House
6.7 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
205 reviews
1.7 km away
The Highdown Inn
The Highdown Inn
#6 of 11 in Totland Bay
61 reviews
0.6 km away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoo Guest House

Address: Colwell Rd., Totland Bay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland Bay
Price Range: $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing