We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - quality accommodation- stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property
Wake up to a fabulous view of the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wake up to a fabulous view of the sea
Very cosy living room, with stunning views and an open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Wake up to a fabulous view of the sea
Very cosy living room, with stunning views and an open fire
The kitchen leads to a sunny breakfast area, and steps up to garden and summerhouse
The beach is my happy place. Yup!
Luxurious new bathroom installed in 2017
The kitchen is fully equipped, including a tall built-in fridge-freezer
Watching the yachts sail by...
The front garden is smaller than the rear garden, but makes up for it in view
One of the old canons at Fort Victoria next door
Nearby Compton Beach is famous for surfing and dinosaur footprints
The view of Hurst Castle, a 10-minute woodland walk away
The summerhouse in the rear garden. The perfect place to catch up on work emails, or a glass of wine
View from the front of the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lubyspoon...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic - quality accommodation- stunning location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2011

This was the 4th time I had visited the property - every time has been wonderful. I have visited with my husband and teenage sons, just with husband, and also with girlfriends. The cottage is perfect for each occasion. It is well equipped, quality finish, and stunning views across to Lymington and the sunsets from the cottage are legendary. The location is excellent, being walking distance along the coast from Yarmouth (10-15 mins) but with equally lovely walks in the opposite direction. If you have a car -don't miss the opportunity to explore the island - the cottage has a visitors' book with photos and ideas of places to visit which is really helpful. I am looking forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Nothing -
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, perfectly equipped period cottage by the sea”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Myself, my husband and our one year old son went for a one week stay at Wright Cottage and it was delightful. The sea was a 2 minute walk from the cottage, which was fantastic for little legs eager to explore. The local town was a 15 walk away along the beach and parade where there are many great restaurants and cafes to choose from.
The cottage itself was adorable, with every detail thought of - even a pint of milk in the fridge for a much needed cup of tea on arrival. We can't wait to go back again.
(Fishermen take note - we went mackerel fishing with a local fisherman and caught more than we could ever eat!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How every detail had been thought of to make us feel it was a home away from home
Liked least: I can't think of a thing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M
Bishop Auckland
2 reviews
“We would return every year if we could”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

We thoroughly enyoyed out stay and look forward to returning in the not too distant future. This is a lovely cottage, a real home frm home, tastefully furnished with everything you need and more. The sea view is beautiful, we would strongly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and furnishings.
Liked least: Not applicable, it was al brilliant.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleks9122...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, bright comfortable cottage with sea views.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a great stay on the Island. The cottage is very well equipped and suited our family with three children aged 6, 10 and 12 very well. Being able to walk so quickly to the beach was great and there is also a great walk up the hill behind the cottage which gives access to far reaching views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing