We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful cottage, wonderful setting, extremely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Dairy

Front Entrance with private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Entrance with private garden
Lounge area with Log Burner Open plan Kitchen/Dinning area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front Entrance with private garden
Lounge area with Log Burner
Open plan Kitchen/Dinning area
Driveway secure parking
Terrace area out of master bedroom french doors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon B
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage, wonderful setting, extremely clean.”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful holiday, the cottage is extremely clean, modern facilities and lovely owners. The jacuzzi is relaxing to use. It is in a lovely setting making the island very accessible. We had wonderful trips to the Alpaca Farm, Monkey Haven and Garlic Farm. Our favourite food was at Chessel Pottery and Fish and Chips at Ventnor pier. We would highly recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities including the separate bathrooms and washing machine.
Liked least: coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday in a home from home”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a week on the Isle of Wight with our three year old and had a lovely stay at 1 The Dairy. The cottage was very well equipped and a great size for the three of us. Our daughter especially enjoyed swimming in the hot tub. The location was great and the owners were very welcoming and friendly.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annibavar...
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a great time at The Dairy Cottage. Our two little kids (2 and 4) were able to run around outside and inside as the whole place is very safe and secure. It is an ideal location to explore the Isle of Wight from. Yarmouth is only a short drive away and absolutely beautiful with little shops and several pubs and cafes.
The hot tub is the icing on the cake. Adults and kids enjoyed this equally.
The landlords Kristina and Nick were very nice and super helpful.
We would like to stay at the cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia K
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, lovely people, perfect location”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We (with our two children aged 11 and 5) are staying in No 1 The Dairy this week and have fallen in love with it. Nick and Kristina are lovely, they've made us feel so welcome and the arrival basket was a fabulous touch.
The beds are comfy and the cottage is clean and well equipped, Kristina and Nick even put in a sandwich toaster when I mentioned that we liked them!
We walked across fields into Yarmouth today, it was a lovely walk which took about 20 mins (1.5 miles approx) and the scenery was gorgeous.
We can't recommend this accommodation enough, we are already talking about coming back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Dairy, Isle of White”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First visit to Isle of White. Booked accommodation through holiday lettings. Not disappointed the number 1 the Dairy a great place to stay. The cottage was excellent Nick and Kristina gave a nice welcome, hamper provided a nice gesture with basic items milk, bread, eggs, tea and sugar. Hot tub a bonus would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, spacious and comfortable.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Friendly welcome with a basket of goodies (including chocolate bunnies for the kids), quality cot & high chair provided, ample room for our family of 5, king sized bed a plus. The boys loved the bunk beds & hot tub and the washing machine & airer were well used. Yarmouth a lovely town with some super places to eat, we found the Bugle did a great Sunday roast. The dual ticket for Blackgang Chine & Robin Hill was fantastic, with a 7 day pass for one price and only a 30 min drive to each place too. We explored the local coast & found some lovely (uncommercialised) beaches. IOW is becoming an annual visit for us and we would definitely look to stay at the Dairy again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I love Wight”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at 1 The Dairy for a week from the 1st March 2014.

We were looking for an early break and chose the Dairy mainly because of the log burner and hot tub, knowing that at this time of the year the weather could be very cold and wet and so the property would always be a good, warm bolt-hole. It also looked cosy and modern from the photos.

The photos actually don’t do it justice. The whole property is very cosy, modern and attractive. The water was always hot and the heating excellent, even without the log burner. The main living / kitchen area are bright and well equipped. If we were picky, the only thing missing is a dishwasher.

The log burner is in the middle of the room and the TV is cleverly fixed to a beam on a bracket so it can swivel between the living area and kitchen. The master bedroom is accessed up a short flight of stairs by the kitchen, so it’s in the eaves which is nice and unexpected in a one-storey building. The mattress was really comfortable. The room has a dressing table, a wardrobe with drawers, and a quite big ensuite bathroom with a shower over bath. The children’s room has bunk beds and an ensuite toilet and sink, accessed off the living area end.

We used the hot tub once, you just have to lift off the lid and put it to one side (fairly easy to do) and turn on the jets. It was set to 38 degrees and has various very comfortable moulded seating areas. I think we would have used it more if the nights were lighter as the outside lighting is limited.

As to location, it’s in a lovely rural location. Easy to find on the first day. We really got into the local produce and being in a farm area helped, with eggs sold at farmhouse gates. There were road diversions all over the island due to resurfacing, especially after the recent bad storms, but we still got around easily.

Internet access and mobile phone signal are a bit behind the mainland at the moment. We didn’t have a signal at the cottage on 3G, and Kristina and Nick had to reset their WiFi router several times a day as broadband is limited, but they are working on getting a better internet connection as soon as it’s available. We appreciate you come on holiday to get away from the rat race but I thought it worth mentioning in case it’s an essential, like we found.

Also, the closest pubs are at least half an hour’s walking distance and so we drove on the nights we ate out. Again, if we’d been there later in the year when the nights are lighter, we probably would have walked into Yarmouth.

Overall we had a fantastic week which just proves that the IOW is a good bet even at this time of year, and staying at the Dairy was a big part of that. We were able to switch off and get into island life, which was the whole point. We would definitely recommend the Dairy as a great base to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: Intermittent wifi (not quite as advertised)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing