We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sutherland House
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Made our stay!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Well, what can we say? I loved this place. The room and ensuite were spotless and tastefully furnished. You could have eaten your dinner off the floor. The owner Gerry is very nice and welcoming. We had no problems locking our door and the bathroom smelt heavenly. Just wondering if Charlie1954 stayed in the same place as us because we found no problems at all with this place. We heard no noise whatsoever and the bed was extremely comfortable. Claire the lady who served us breakfast was friendly, jolly and served us with a lovely smile. We will definitely be going down to Kent again and staying in this lovely house. And the best bit is we found out that they accept dogs so will be bringing Harry down with us next time. Thank you very much indeed for your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anamcara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed for one night on a golfing trip and unfortunately the owner Gerry was in hospital but the hotel had been left in very capable hands, excellent service and rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast served in morning by very friendly young lady was super, lots of choice and plenty of it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTOWN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Noisy Hotel - both from traffic outside & other guests who were talking in the lounge underneath us at 3a.m in the morning.

Bathroom smelt of urine

We couldn't lock our room from the outside when we left the hotel & could find no member of staff to help us so had to go out leaving the door unlocked & then had to 'phone the hotel leaving a message on the answerphone.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
SUTHERLAND HOUSE has been GRADED CONSISTENTLY as FIVE STAR OR DIAMONDS FOR 19 YEARS BY QUALIFIED INDEPENDENT ASSESSORS.
THERE IS NO WAY THAT THE BATHROOM SMELT OF URINE.
NOISE from other guests is sadly largely out of our control but a SIMPLE TELEPHONE CALL would have alerted THE RESIDENT OWNER who would have dealt with the sithation.I might add he sleeps on the ground floor and heard nothing.
The building is FULLY DOUBLE GLAZED.External noise has NEVER been a problem for other guests
These guests wanted EARLY CHECK IN, we were happy to let the room 4 HOURS early for them to attend a wedding. . The owner was away therefore when the guests arrived. A maid stayed at the hotel on OVERTIME just for this reason. The bedroom doors merely require ONE press of a button to secure them.We have always thought they were IDIOT PROOF.
When we responded to the answerphone request it was noted rather surprisingly that the bedroom had been left as aN ABSOLUTE TIP.
When asked at check out if everything was fine the guests replied YES.
Problems if and when they occour should be NOTIFIED AT ONCE so they can be sorted speedily and NOT AIRED RETOSPECTIVELY on furums such as this.
It is very distressing to be badly judged especially vwhen we worked hard to accommodate these guests especially on EARLY CHECK IN but luckily tousands of other guests have been more than HAPPY with their stays at SUTHERLAND HOUSE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Went to The Sutherland House Hotel the weekend of Aug 6th for 2 nights. Just choose here really as the only place we could get into at such short notice, and were we pleased...YES! Is a really lovely, clean and friendly hotel. Gerry who owns it we spoke to briefly, and the lady serving breakfast was very nice and chatty. The room was small but very cosy. Had everything in there and in the bathroom that you could want, main thing for me it was spotless. Cant fault this hotel at all....but if anything, it is a good 20 minute walk out of Deal town centre. First night we walked in and out of town, but then after doing a 10 hour day of sight seeing on the saturday, we just could,nt face the walk so we called a taxi, was £3.50 into town! and £6 at 2oc in the morning!
We walked all round the town, went into a few of the pubs reccommended..The Bohemian is very hip, was packed on both nights, was nice in there but there toilets were disgusting! Also went into The Kings Head, v nice and quaint, The Hole In The Roof is were we stayed most of saturday night, music was 70,s 80,s and 90,s very good in there and lively!
Deal itself is very quaint, very pretty, the cafe at the end of the pier is well worth a visit!! The beach is ALL pebbles. And only has 1 amusement arcade! While there we visited Folkstone, was nice, Battle of Britain Memorial, tried to go to the Battle Of Britain museum, but NO photos allowed in there, so we didnt go in. Dover Castle, very interesting, Wilmar Castle and Gardens and went to the town of Sandwich.
All in all a lovely weekend..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Excellent bed and breakfast. The people who own it are lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Everywhere is very clean, the bedrooms are nicely decorated and have a big bathroom (I was staying in a double room). Good shower, very comfortable bed and a huge breakfast in the morning if you want it (cereal, toast, cooked breakfast). I'd definitely stay here again as it was good value for money too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
1.4 km away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
67 reviews
1.3 km away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
1.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
290 reviews
11.1 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
118 reviews
1.3 km away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House

Property: Sutherland House
Address: 186 London Road, Deal CT14 9PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Deal, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing