We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Welcoming, Great Food... Lovely”

The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Edenbridge
Price range: US$13 - US$46
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech, an independent pub restaurant serving freshly-made, inspiring food, cooked in our own kitchen by chef David Fuller and his talented team. We use only the finest local ingredients and produce from our kitchen garden to create seasonal dishes we think you'll love. But don't just take our word for it – have a look at our menus. Situated on the edge of the High Weald in west Kent, The Wheatsheaf is a stone's throw from Bough Beech reservoir, and just five minutes drive from Hever Castle. Once a hunting lodge rumoured to have been a much-loved retreat for King Henry VIII, it's still a firm local favourite today – and with its welcoming atmosphere, it's not hard to see why. Now known for beautifully-prepared, locally-sourced food and a fine selection of wines and real ales, The Wheatsheaf is a cosy haven in the winter with roaring log fires and in the summer you can soak up the sun on our beautiful terrace. Cyclists, horse riders, walkers (and dogs, if you call in advance) are always welcome, and with plenty of parking available there's every reason to visit – so what are you waiting for?
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I'd heard good things about The Wheatsheaf for a while, and having recently moved into the area we thought it was finally time to try it out. We weren't disappointed. There were four of us in the party (three generations including a 7 year old) and everyone had a lovely time.

The staff were attentive and the food came at just the right intervals; we didn't feel rushed and neither were we waiting for ages for the next course. As for the food itself - wonderful! We would all normally have a good three courses, but only one of us managed a dessert this time as the portion sizes were generous.

Good value for money, lovely decor, great service, and nice and local. We'll be back soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisamarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatsheafboughbeech, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Lisamarie L, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Wheatsheaf, thank you for your reveiew of us. We very much hope that you will return again soon to sample more of the menu- leaving tummy space of course for the fab desserts. JoN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 466 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I have never had a bad meal here and appreciate that the chef went out of his way today to ensure my meal was not only gluten free but with the accompaniments I preferred instead of what was on the menu.

Thank Tosca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatsheafboughbeech, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Tosca K, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our chefs are all very well trained and willing to make customers a special meal if there is nothing on the menu to their liking. I am so pleased you were satisfied with what you were offered and we look forward to welcoming you back again. JoN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

I booked a table for 5 people for Sunday lunch through the pub website. I had driven to London from home in Kent to pick up my octogenarian parents to spend time with me and two of their grandchildren. When we arrived there were no tables available at our allotted booking time so we sat in the bar area. Not a particular problem but worse was to come. When a table became available the table allocated was upstairs and on inspection, quite a steep flight of stairs at that. There was no mention of this being a possibility on the website and therefore not a question I had raised on booking. There was certainly no way my mum could get up the flight of stairs to the table. On returning I was met at the foot of the stairs by a waitress. She said if we could not get upstairs we could not be accommodated at all. I was amazed. Apparently her manager told her to tell us this. A manager, who was nowhere to be seen and obviously too self important to communicate what I considered to be an unfeeling and somewhat rude decision personally. Surely there must have been an alternative and more elegant solution rather than effectively kicking us out. This was a significant issue on Easter Sunday afternoon as there was nowhere else available to eat at such late notice and no shops were open to buy and cook food at home! A great Easter treat for my parents; ruined.

Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatsheafboughbeech, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Dean H,
I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience with us recently. I have spoken to the Manager on duty that lunchtime and he profusely apologises that he was busy with another customer, in another area of the pub and unaware of the difficulty your group had with accessing the dining area upstairs. When he became free, you had unfortunately left. We will change our website and on line booking facility to ensure that customers are aware that they must inform us if the stairs are going to be a problem for a member of their party. We have not come across this issue before as our regular returning customers know to make us aware.

Unfortunately, the young lady who you was trying to resolve things, although relatively experienced, was so taken aback by the way you spoke to her that she panicked and blamed the Manager saying the first thing that came into her head.Naturally we have spoken to her about this and she knows not to do this again. We were very busy and a table downstairs would have become available for you without too much of a wait, had you been prepared to stay

Again many apologies for your "ruined Easter treat". I sincerely hope that the rest of the Easter weekend went well for you and your parents. Jo N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited here today after a long walk in the rain. We were met at the bar by really friendly member of staff who was welcoming and made sure that we got a seat in order to eat. After a short wait we were seated. The ordering of the food took quite a long time and it took ages to arrive. The restaurant wasn’t particularly busy at the time but the food took for ever. The starters were lovely and we had garlic hummus and I also had the chicken wings which were lovely. The main course took ages to arrive and had absolutely no taste. I had the chicken and mushroom tagliatelle and we also had the risotto. Both dishes were completely tasteless and went particularly warm considering the amount of time it took for them to arrive. We were both so hungry that we didn’t want to complain. The table next to this took ages to get their food as well they complained about cold food. We would’ve had a desert but we were too afraid to ask in case it took too long. The place has a really nice feel and a great atmosphere but unfortunately the food let it down and we were so excited to eat there because we heard good things about it. I would like to go again but fear the food would not be good

1  Thank Andybarnes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatsheafboughbeech, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Andybarnes12, I am sorry that your visit to us on Good Friday was less than perfect. My Manager remembers your visit and recalls that you actually came in after the unexpected rush we had had earlier on that lunchtime. The kitchen prepare all the dishes from fresh. We do not use a microwave. Much of the preparation can be done in advance but when there is a particularly busy period it is necessary to take some time to catch up with the essential work to ensure a full menu can be offered. As it happens you chose 2 of the most popular dishes. It would appear that, although the kitchen was chased for your orders, there was still insufficient communication between the Front and Back of House. This we will improve on fo the future. I apologise that you were not kept regularly informed of how long the food was going to take. The risotto is being taken off the menu as it appears to be a most difficult dish to keep in the best condition whilst others are being prepared.
I very much hope that you will join us again on another occasion- perhaps you could ring our Manager to make arrangements. JoN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Had shut kitchen by 2.30 pm and wouldn't serve sandwich despite others still having food brought out.

Thank Razorafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatsheafboughbeech, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Razorfac, I am sorry that we were unable to serve you when you visited recently. I see from your TripAdvisor postings that you had also been turned away from a pub in Edenbridge that same day, for the same reason. Our kitchen closes at 2.45pm so that the staff may have a break and begin preparing dishes for the evening. All our dishes are prepared from fresh and after having had such a busy service before your arrival at 3.15pm they were, on this occasion, unable to offer you anything. We very much hope that you will return to sample our excellent food. JoN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech also viewed

Chiddingstone, Sevenoaks District
Hever, Sevenoaks District
 
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
Edenbridge, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Bough Beech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing