We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay and very reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay and very reasonably priced”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My family recently stayed at the King Charles Hotel whilst taking my son for an interview at the nearby university. The price of two double rooms was only £60 and this included breakfast for all of us also. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable and were more than adequate for a short stay. There was a wide choice on the breakfast menu, although the size of the plate for the full English was not much more than a side plate, which is okay if you only want a small portion, but not so good if you want a hearty breakfast. There were ample parking spaces and all of the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    248
    103
    53
    50
See reviews for
153
202
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights over last weekend and were disappointed. The rooms were fairly clean and comfortable with tea and coffee facilities. In the shower I had to crouch to wash my hair as the shower head was too low even at the highest setting. Breakfast was poor with overcooked sausage and greasy bacon-even though it was cooked to order. one waiter bought our toast order and grunted at us to move things around on the table-he then said this is the attitude he takes as most of the guests are foreigners! we had an evening meal and this was very basic.overall this is a very cheap hotel and this is reflected in the service and quality.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_dee22, Marketing Executive at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. As a small family run hotel we aim to offer a warm and friendly stay and your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated to aid our improvements in quality and service.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We offer value for money and while we understand that this can sometimes compromise quality, we aim to find the right balance between the two. I have passed your comments onto the management team and there will be an investigation into the service you were given at breakfast.
Once again, please accept my apologies on behalf of the team at the King Charles Hotel. Kindest Regards, Laura Degiorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gillingham hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed 1 night as went to see a football match. We arrived early & did not expect to book in but did ask if ok to use the facilities ,grab a coffee & park the car. The lady on reception was so helpful and when I asked for the phone no. of a local taxi firm to take us to the ground said she would call one for us. In the end we decided to walk so we were supplied with a map and given very accurate directions!!! All the staff here were friendly and went out of their way to help in my opinion, the breakfast waiter even found us some money off vouchers for the dockyard museum. Room was clean, but a little warm- we opened the window so no big deal & there were mugs for tea and coffee!!! Yes it could do with a bit of a face lift but for £50 including breakfast I was not expecting the Ritz.. To me what made this place was the staff- All of them the management should be very proud. Oh and to make the stay even more perfect we won- sorry Gillingham!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_dee22, Marketing Executive at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the King Charles Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a family run hotel, we pride ourselves on offering a warm and friendly stay. We are currently updating areas of the hotel and hope to have this finished by the summer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Laura Degiorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiyley bay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Not good, dated and grubby. I would give it 2 out of 10 compared to a standard travelodge I would give 5 out of 10. Lots of contractors. One good point is the staff are good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_dee22, Marketing Executive at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the King Charles Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering a warm and friendly stay in Kent. Your review does not state any particular issues that you had with the hotel: if you would like to continue your complaint, please contact a member of the management team through our website and someone will happily contact you to resolve the issues. Kind Regards, Laura Degiorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

What do you expect for £50 per room per night including breakfast? This is a good value hotel where the staff are very obliging. We stayed there for 2 nights in January 2012, where because the weather was mild, the heating was too effective overnight, thermostat would not turn heat off; slept with the window open which was no problem as being at the back of the hotel we were overlooking an athletics ground, so no noise from traffic.
I adore full English breakfast which was promptly provided cooked freshly when you arrive, no lukewarm food cooked a long time before as happens in many 5 star hotels.
Bar open when we returned at 5pm, and ate their each evening as good value bar meals from 6pm; many at £6 or £7. Restaurant opens at 7pm. Drinks prices average for this area, but less than you might expect at a hotel.
Parts of the hotel could use a splash of paint, but the hotel is kept clean by the staff, our chambermaid was English which surprised us!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_dee22, Marketing Executive at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the King Charles Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments, these have been passed onto the management team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Laura Degiorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

On arrival the staff was friendly and welcoming. We were impressed by the size of room, which was clean and light; bed was just the right hardness and shower room spacious. Restaurant was on restricted hours and menu, due to being New Year’s Day, but we had a nice meal there in the evening, restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again and recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_dee22, Marketing Executive at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the King Charles Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Laura Degiorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernadets dessus, france
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Tired and weary we arrived at the hotel but once there we, and our dog, were treated like royalty.
The room on the ground floor was convenient and comfortable. The staff were attentive to our every query.
The breakfast room staff were cheerful, organised and well led. The porrige - I am Scottish - was excellent and all other options were available.
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_dee22, Marketing Executive at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the King Charles Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Laura Degiorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
0.9 km away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.7 km away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
318 reviews
5.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
1.3 km away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
356 reviews
2.1 km away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Property: The King Charles Hotel
Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing