We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Richborough Roman Fort and Amphitheatre
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Even the drive to Richborough Roman Fort is fantastic.. we love it here (as does the dog).. plenty... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TawseTerrier
via mobile
Worth a visit.

Plenty of information in the museum and an audio guide makes this a very interesting place to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
deafgeoff26
,
Exeter, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 217 reviews
  
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
100
95
17
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
95
17
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage audio guide information boards small museum watling street triumphal arch saxon shore well worth a visit car park by accident impressive ruins takes about an hour century ad coffee machine huge site off the beaten track piece of history
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 217 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Well having been brought up in the area until 1967 I was never aware of this site until my husband started mentioning it So when he kept on about it during our recent visit my aunt took us there and fairly early in the walk it grabbed my attention. We were encouraged to buy an Overseas Visitor Pass for 9 days and that proved valuable. The staff member was very friendly and we were given a head set and were talked through how to proceed around the site. It was so interesting as we could see where the coast was and knew where is it now and how the whole area functioned was so interesting. The scale of the remains don't look that impressive until you are stood beside them......Wow ! How it must have looked in it's prime. We took a lot longer to go around that I imagined and was pleased we did go. Another little piece of history learnt.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful stroll through the site, and quite good audio guide provided. Would recommend to Roman history lovers, ad there is really not all that much to see at the site itself, and having a decent understanding of Roman history is essential.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank albet3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016

If everyone had to declare a favourite castle on their passport this would be mine! On the face of it there's not a lot to see but if you take the option of the free headphones/guide you will get a lot of interesting information that brings it all to life. Again, I cannot recommend annual membership enough - over the course of the year you will make your money back. There's a small museum attached to the castle and there's a variety of things to interest adults and children alike. There's no decent refreshments here, there's a coffee machine and I tried the tea with whitener - YUK! As you walk around the site do read the information boards in tandem with the audio guide, they are helpful if not slightly tatty and weather beaten.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank IE_and_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016

This is the location of the Roman invasion engineered by Emperor Claudius. The framework of the fort, and some of the original fortifications, have been excavated, and walking through the ruins is like a walk back in time. The information boards are very helpful, and there is a small but interesting museum at the entrance. I had a chance to speak with the English Heritage representative on site, and he was extremely helpful-it was clear that he very much enjoyed working at Richborough. It's a great site to visit, to just imagine what the Romans saw and did when they landed 2000 years ago.

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank hrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We wandered around this ruined English Heritage site in the sunshine. Most of the external walls and the defensive ditches still stand along with the foundations of some of the buildings. There are boards with good descriptions what it must have been like living or working there nearly 2000 years ago but the site is really for Roman history enthusiasts only.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank jon0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews