We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
374
271
114
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
271
114
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelriver viewno liftshepherd neamepay and displayflask of fresh milkreception arealimited parkingfamily roomtea and coffeewine listvisiting sandwichfamily weddingfull englishlovely roomlovely weekendsmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 822 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018

A place of history. However, no lift there so hard work carrying luggage upstairs. Our room was ok. Food was not the greatest but just enjoy sitting in the bar or outside.It needs a little upgrading in the access department.
The lounge is very nice with a big open fire place.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

A great place to sit and watch the world go by, view of the quay and river beyond on the sunny terrace. Drinks quite pricey but worth it. Staff were very friendly. Enjoyed the food in the brasserie although the service was a little slow, surprising as it wasn’t particularly busy.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

The room is small and badly decorated. The paint is chipping away and someone has wiped their nose and put it on one of the beds. The walls have a load of feet marks on it and brown little stains on it. The bar and food is good tho.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2018

Stayed for one night at this hotel. Our spacious room (24) had a great view overlooking the river. The full-Engish breakfast that we had was perfectly acceptable, although that was the only meal that we had there as we'd planned to eat out for the remainder of the meals that we had during our visit to Sandwich. All the staff members that we met were friendly, although the sing-song voice of the young woman who worked on recetion as we checked-out did grate somewhat. I assume that the she has been a tad over-trained in customer service. Overall it was a really good hotel that I'd be happy to stay at again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

We had planned our visit here to use our Shepherd Neame birthday club voucher. They don’t start serving food until 6 p.m. so we joined the queue of people waiting to order. They had no idea how to put the voucher through the till but said they would find out. Our main meals arrived but the starter had been completely forgotten which was very disappointing. My steak had a lump of melting blue cheese/butter on top which was not mentioned on the menu. As I have a severe dairy allergy this was very poor. The couple on the table next to us had to send a fish pie back as it was cold in the middle. Sadly not a great visit so we paid and left.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews