We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
86
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in shower the pub duty manager old police station double sinks high street night manager excellent room staff were very friendly helpful executive room biscuits lovely hotel beer garden hotel experience thoroughly enjoyed our stay an asset tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 100 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

Just stayed for one night at the Golden Hope and was really impressed. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, always had a smile on their faces and if they couldn't help with something, they would find out instantly. The room was clean, modern and the bathroom had a fabulous shower. Had a great sleep, wasn't disturbed by any noise and would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHopeManager, Manager at The Golden Hope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Hi Kay,

Thankyou so much for the lovely review, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we'll be welcoming you back again soon! :)

Kind Regards,
The Golden Hope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

We stayed overnight on way to Ashford. What a little gem. The room was spotlessly clean. The bar was lovely and the food good quality. Definately recommended .. Excellent value too. Thank you to all the friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 25Susan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHopeManager, Manager at The Golden Hope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hi Susan,

Thankyou for your lovely review, we're always excited to welcome first-time guests to our hotel, because there's nothing quite like exceeding expectations and getting such wonderful feedback!

If you find yourself travelling to Ashford again, stop by and see us, you can check our availability in advance on the website as usual, but as of 2 weeks ago, we're also now on Booking.com!

Many Thanks,
The Golden Hope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

The family and I stayed here for one night before departing for France for a quick half term break. I can only add my thanks and recommendation to those listed below; everything was absolutely spot on during the stay and special thanks go to Matt the duty manager.
Matt's knowledge of the history of the building, the area and his welcoming persona made him the perfect host.

This was a great stay, thanks mainly to all the staff at The Golden Hope.

Try it, you won't regret it!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AndyChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHopeManager, Manager at The Golden Hope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hi Andy,

There's not much I can say about this review, other than it's exactly what we strive for! An interesting introduction to the property, happy and helpful staff, and a 'spot on' visit - we certainly hit our stride that day, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed yours too :)

Come and see us again soon (maybe next half term if you're fortunate enough to be doing some more travelling!)

Many Thanks,
The Golden Hope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Surprised to find rooms at a Wetherspoons, but very pleasantly surprised. Excellent room and value, pleasant staff and good breakfast. We went for the executive room for an extra £10 and it was well worth it. Recommend

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 76glynisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHopeManager, Manager at The Golden Hope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hi Glynis,

Thankyou for taking a chance on the unknown and coming to stay with us, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The Captain Vallance suite has had nothing but positive reviews since we opened, and yours continues that wonderful tradition!

We hope that you'll come back and see us again soon, and remember - all our rooms are only £39 on Sunday nights - if you can get them!

Many Thanks,
The Golden Hope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here just for the night with my husband and really glad we did! Room was immaculate & had everything we needed even the little touches that matter i.e bottled water, hairdryer, kettle, mirrors.
Massive comfy bed, large shower and staff were very very polite and couldn't have been more helpful especially Jenny.
Have stayed in lots of London hotels at double the price but this room was nicer!!
Great beer garden, drinks & food are so cheap!
Really busy friendly place will definitely revisit soon!

Thank Janemboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHopeManager, Manager at The Golden Hope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Hi Janemboyce,

Our housekeepers were happy to hear that you found your room to be immaculate, we're currently training a new member of staff, so it was a massive confidence boost to know we're on the right track! ... You mentioned enjoying our beer garden, but since you posted your review, you'll probably be happy to hear that we've moved everything around and now have ten new low-seated tables in the rear garden that are perfect for dining outside in the nicer weather, so make sure you come and stay with us again soon to take advantage!

Thankyou for your lovely review, we'll be happy to welcome you back anytime :)

Many Thanks,
The Golden Hope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews