We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & chips ever!”

St Michaels Fish and Chips
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Tenterden
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 9, 2018

After a long night of travel from the States, and touring all day on arrival, we were ready for dinner. Did not realize this was take-away only, but ordered anyway and made use of dining room at B&B. Excellent fish & chips -- best of our trip. Reasonable price, good portions. Still crisp on arrival at table. Maybe we hit a really good night, but it was outstanding!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ssdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2018

The fish was fresh and delicious, done in a wonderful and crisp batter. Best fish and chips in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AnndeChallex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

This place tried to charge my husband £71.50 for one meal of 12 piece scampi and small chips .They must think its the ritz for them prices. Argued it and they stuck to there guns so ended up having cod instead. Dissapointing as i used to like this place.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank urntmybra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Take it or leave it attitude from the staff, my strong advice would be to leave it! Greasy, soggy and just horrid.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank panhandler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E, Owner at St Michaels Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Hi sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal. Can you please let me know what day you came in so that we can address the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

We thought it would be nice to have a fish supper as a treat, we have take outs there before and they have been pretty good.

Therefore, we were shocked and disgusted with the food. The fish had clearly been put through the fryer twice, the batter was thick, hard and there was hardly any fish, like chewing an old boot. The chips were not good either, needless to say most of it went in the bin. All for £30! It was diabolical and I won’t be eating there again, I will be having a word with the owner though.

In summary, a dogs dinner rather than a fish supper, St. Michaels fish and chips you should be ashamed !

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E, Owner at St Michaels Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Hi sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal. We take the quality of our food very seriously and I can assure you that none of our food is ever re-fried, but is cooked fresh to order. I would be grateful if you could contact us letting us know the day you came in so that we can address the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Michaels Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to St Michaels Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing