We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, what is wrong?”

The Lemon Tree Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 14th Century heavily timbered wealden hall house restaurant in the centre on Tenterden offering great British food. Open for breakfast, morning coffee, lunch and afternoon teas. All home-made dishes, desserts and cakes, freindly efficient staff.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We have enjoyed good food and good service without exception at the Lemon Tree several times each year for the last decade, but Saturday the service was pathetic, offensive and rude. Are all the staff under threat of redundancy and trying to take revenge? We do not plan to go the Lemon Tree ever again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael_Studham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It's difficult to respond to this without some more detail.
I can't understand any of the staff being offensive and rude, and they certainly aren't under any threat of redundancy, as the business is doing very well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 559 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

A quick stop at The Lemon Tree for lunch whilst visiting Tenterden. It's a lovely place to have some lunch and good variety of dishes to choose from. It was busy which is always a good sign. Priced well, friendly staff and good service. Would return here in future.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 120samh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for the great review, I'm glad you enjoyed it and hope you come back soon

Best wishes

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2018

Stopped here for late lunch and place was packed. We had to wait a few minutes for a table - not a problem. We were soon seated and staff were friendly and efficient. We had a roast and quiche - both lovely. Best bit was the dessert - Strawberry Pavlova which was delicious! Would go back again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Many thanks for the great review. We're delighted you enjoyed it and hope you come back soon

Best wishes
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Not our first time visit and certainly not the last. If you want real food served in decent portions at a fair price by real people, then look no further! Good honest home cooking, we had the Sunday lunch, and despite it being November on a Sunday it was almost full to the brim, but then i should not be surprised. The puddings are always my favourite, thistle it was apple crumble and custard for me, it was hot with plenty of custard and enough to leave me wanting no more. Looking forward to our next visit, although that probably wont be until next year mores the pity!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Baldyman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Many thanks for the great review. Steve and I are delighted you enjoy it and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

This is a popular restaurant with a lovely old facade. We called for lunch and were extremely pleased with the choice on the menu. The service was excellent, the timing right in delivering the drinks and food, not too short and not too long, polite and efficient. We both had the local sausages, eggs and chips and the meal was very tasty. The eggs were done about right too. We enjoyed it all a lot. Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 09SueP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Many thanks for the great review, I'm delighted you enjoyed and hope you come back soon

Best wishes
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lemon Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Lemon Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing