We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apres skiing”
Review of The Rock Lodge

The Rock Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rock Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 143 Restaurants in Whitstable
Description: If you fancy experiencing an après ski bar at its best then look no further than The Rock Lodge, Kent's newest destination bar, restaurant & cafe. Think old-school, alpine glamour with a contemporary twist, stylish cocktails, craft beers, premium spirits and a deliciously cosy fine dining experience. Serving Brunch, Lunch & Dinner, The Rock Lodge has been thoughtfully designed and proves to be a feast for the senses, with its authentic apline decor & a bespoke dining and cocktail menu all set alongside an eclectic mix of live music provided by some of the best bands around. The inspiration is taken from the slopes of the French Alps and from a time when good live music was an essential part of a great night out. The Rock lodge is perfectly located in the heart of Whitstable and brings an air of alpine authenticity to the town proving to be one of the best places to start and see out a perfect night out!
Restaurant details
Description: If you fancy experiencing an après ski bar at its best then look no further than The Rock Lodge, Kent's newest destination bar, restaurant & cafe. Think old-school, alpine glamour with a contemporary twist, stylish cocktails, craft beers, premium spirits and a deliciously cosy fine dining experience. Serving Brunch, Lunch & Dinner, The Rock Lodge has been thoughtfully designed and proves to be a feast for the senses, with its authentic apline decor & a bespoke dining and cocktail menu all set alongside an eclectic mix of live music provided by some of the best bands around. The inspiration is taken from the slopes of the French Alps and from a time when good live music was an essential part of a great night out. The Rock lodge is perfectly located in the heart of Whitstable and brings an air of alpine authenticity to the town proving to be one of the best places to start and see out a perfect night out!
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Spent the evening watching the football and enjoying the IPA on draft. Good experience to watch the football with good screens. Only downside was that last orders were called at 10 so we had to move on. Strange choice of alpine decor it was certainly different and generated much discussion around our table once the football finished.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank ianf911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Glad to hear the alpine decor was a talking point amongst your group :-) we love our home town of whitstable and spend a lot of time in France on the slopes so why not merge the 2 and bring apres ski to Whitstable eh :-) We look forwards to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Just want to say how fab the rock Lodge is, had only briefly visited once before, had my 50th birthday coming up popped in and organised with staff food beforehand and reserved a table for 12 they phoned me few days before event to confirm all, on the evening had Brill table and a small area behind they also reserved for my guests, food was served on time, very hot and tasty, very large selection of drinks available, the bands that play there are a wide selection across the board we had stray cats, nice area to have a dance near stage, staff friendly. Don't get out much but am planning another night with some London friends when they come and stay, definitely will be my first choice every time I go out, and added bonus they are open to late into the night, interior is warm and welcoming, thanks rock Lodge Whitstable definitely needs this type of venue.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

It was a pleasure to have you guys here and great to meet you! S great to hear how much you enjoyed your birthday and we very much look forwards to seeing you again on your next night out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We went on the 2 for 1 Burger evening and it was excellent value for money. The food was good and fresh. Staff are very friendly.
Nice vibe all round.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thanks David! Great t hear you enjoyed your visit and thanks for leaving this lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We visited as we were out with a group of friends and saw from the internet they had live music. We have been before and had a good time.
The lager that three of us ordered was totally flat but we persevered and on the second ordered another brand. This was not only the same condition but I would say the same product? When we asked for them to be changed we were met with attitude from the staff and as in typical Whitstable style given the impression we were lucky in be in there.

The eight of us left and spent our money elsewhere.

Date of visit: April 2018
5  Thank kram2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's a shame to hear you were unhappy with your visit, as im sure you can see from the standard of our other reviews we are quite surprised to hear that you were not happy with the level of service you received as we regularly get such great feedback about our staff and the welcoming atmosphere. We can assure you that we have the corresponding beverages flowing from all taps at the bar and that if you were unhappy with the standard of any of your drinks any member of staff would happily investigate and rectify the situation for you on the spot. We hope you went on to enjoy the rest of your evening in our wonderful town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Visited the recently opened The Rock Lodge in Whitstable formly Deco 5 on 16th March 2018 with my bestie. The staff were friendly and professional in greeting us. The new layout of the bar is really good. The meal choices are good and reasonable too. They had a live band on too as it was a Friday night..good band too. Recommend to couples and groups

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank joecool1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thanks for the lovely review and also for taking the time to upload some pics of your visit, they look great! We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rock Lodge also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to The Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing