We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish rental in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ventings

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sal04
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Stylish rental in a great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Three nights in Whitstable with a toddler and nine week old baby. The Ventings was a lovely place to stay. Almost everything in the property has been painted white which makes it very bright and airy. Fortunately it also has a real lived in feel to it so we did not have to worry too much about our lively toddler tearing around the place. The stairs are indeed very steep but our two and a half year old coped with them fine. The bedrooms are lovely and the beds super comfortable.

The property is located just off Harbour Street so the shops, restaurants and beach are all really close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: Bathroom was downstairs off the kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya S
London
1 review
“Great location and lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage is minutes away from the main shopping street and the seafront. It was spacious and comfortable. The stairs were steep, particularly to the top floor - and our 2 year old son wanted to go up and down a lot (would recommend bringing a staircase for families with toddlers) - but we had a lovely mini-break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the shops and seafront
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABBG_1
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in Whitstable”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We've rented this property twice already, because we really like it. It is in the centre of Whistable and it has everything you can think of. Greats kitchen and utilities, very cosy living room and great bedrooms. Will definately go there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place and house - fantastic stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The "Ventings" was perfect, large, wonderfully decorated and perfecty located for a stay in Whitstable. I would strongly recommend Whitsable and the Ventings to anyone whether a couple or a family to stay. Whitstable was lovely, great food, good beaches and excellent pubs.

The house was modern, bright and airy, great kitchen, modern bathroom and very comfy beds, it was clean and stocked with everything you could need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S
Carshalton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellently furnished house in a great location.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The Ventings is a very well equiped house, comfy beds, open fire (very welcome as it snowed on our weekend) but homely. The Owner was very accommodatiing with our arrival and departure times. The property was exatly as described on the website and very well situated, it was a very short stroll to the shops and the beach. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: no spatular in the kitchen!! That's all I can come up with!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMBLUEEY...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside cottage in perfect location.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stated at The Ventings for 2 nights in Feb. The cottage is wonderful - quirky, comfortable, brilliantly located for the centre of Whitstable. The roaring fire - all set for us just to light a match, the well stocked cupboards, the abundance of full length mirrors (a luxury - we have none at home!!), all made our stay very special. We will be back, without a doubt.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplandbo...
London
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a great trip”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The Ventings was a perfect stay for us. Great house that sleeps six and we were a family group of 2 boys aged 10 and 12 ( who loved the attic room) and two adult couples. The house is really well equipped and suited us just fine. We wanted somewhere to use as a base to the Whitstable explore area from. Everything was really close by so we ate in Wheelers and Samphire and had a five minute walk back, the harbour is five minutes in the other direction. The beds are very comfortable and the art on the walls is great. Real log fire as the temperatures suddenly dropped and all mod cons made this a great stay. I lloked at other options and because we would have needed three rooms wherever we went this represented better value than a hotel and was far far better. Steep stairs didnt bother us but there is only one toilet/bathroom on the ground floor so it was quite a trek to the toilet in the night for the kids. Other than that, all very good and would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, kitchen and beds
Liked least: only one toilet for six and long way away from beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing