We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Wetherspoons”

The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon
Ranked #2 of 7 Quick Bites in Whitstable
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

I have visited many Spoons up and down the country but this is my favourite one. The old cinema lends itself to the pub in a generous way, everything else is as you would expect in a Wetherspoons.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ianf911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

What lovely comments. Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 624 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

You pretty much know what to expect food-wise at a Wetherspoons, and this was pretty standard cheap and cheerful fare, but the building and the decor are really lovely.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kendrafortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thank you for your review. Glad you love our art deco designed interior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

This building is amazing. They do basic food but really good deals. The surroundings make the dining experience so much better.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Mrs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018

Sir Peter Cushing may be known for his roles in horror films but this venue in the old cinema is more Great Gatsby than Frankenstein ...like walking into an Art Deco ballroom. Add great food and cheap prices and it`s Oscar-worthy all day long!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank archeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

I have eaten here for years. The quality of the food has always been ok but recently this has changed. I normally have steak here but it is now as tough as old boots so I tried chicken curry. However, the chicken was hard and dry. It must have been kept warm under the lights for most of the day and it was fit to be dumped. I couldn't eat it and I told the waitress who said 'she would let the kitchen know'. That was it! No offer of an alternative meal. How could they take money for food which was inedible?
Complacency has set in and the 'cooks' need to be reminded that the food they send out needs to be edible. The staff need to take on board that they need to do more than 'tell the kitchen' when paid for inedible food it given back to them!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Hi Tony, thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a poor meal on your recent visit.
Please be assured that all meals are cooked to order and not kept under light. You don't state what day you visited, so its difficult for me to pinpoint exactly what went wrong with both your food and the service you received . We, as a company have recently taken on a new steak supplier following quality issues so I would recommend you try them on your next visit.
Please call me on 01227 284100 if you wish to discuss matters further

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 

Been to The Peter Cushing - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing