We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Very Relaxing Weekend in Whitstable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fisherman's Cot

View to the Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the Garden
Sun Deck Shower Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
View to the Garden
Sun Deck
Shower Room
Bed
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living area
Living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jjfaulkne...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Very Relaxing Weekend in Whitstable”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely time staying in the Fisherman's Cot. Frank was very welcoming and the place was extremely comfortable. It was nice to be a few minutes out of town, a short walk away from the seafront. The weather was quite chilly, but we were very warm in the Cot thanks to the woodburning stove. A highly recommended stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind words!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyC19...
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a couple of nights this week for a last minute get away with our dog. What a wonderful find! The cot is set back from the town slightly down a private lane, and is secluded from the main house of owners Frank and Jo who could not have been more accommodating. Beers, wine, fresh juice and flowers greeted us when we arrived which is a lovely touch. This holiday let has all home comforts in a really cosy small space, great shower, fully fitted kitchen and the log burner was a real treat. The bed was also really comfortable! A perfect little base for exploring the local area. We would love to come back to the cot sometime soon and will definitely be recommending it to friends. Thanks so much!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
It was great having you stay, thanks for all your kind workds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieRose...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special!”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I visited Fisherman's Cot over a weekend with our two dogs. Frank and Jo were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do more to ensure we enjoyed our stay - from local recommendations to ensuring the cot was lovely and warm on our arrival. We were provided with fruit, wine and beers (alcohol free for me as I'm pregnant, which was really thoughtful!) The cot was comfortable and clean and the location great for walks and the town. I would definitely recommend it and we would love to return in the summer! Huge thanks for making our last weekend away as just the two of us so enjoyable!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thank You!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURA T
1 review
“Cute Log Cabin in Wonderful Whitstable”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a 2 night stay here in October half term and had such a good time. Hadn't been to Whistable before but will definitely be going back and would definitely rent the cabin again. The owners are so friendly and hospitable and gave us really good tips on things to see and do and where to eat around Whitstable. The cabin is clean, well equipped and cosy, good value and our kids thought it was extremely cool. Would like to go in the summer and take advantage of the bbq and large garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting property only 10 minute walk to town & beach.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraLizKe...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place and lovely people”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My partner and I stayed for a long weekend at the beginning of October and were very impressed with the Cot. Frank and Jo, were both lovely, picking us up from the train station and giving us a short tour of Whitstable as it was the first time we visited. Followed Franks advice on resturants/pubs and would really recommend Wheelers, the Crab & Winkle and the Black Dog for a pint of cider.
The cot itself was well furnished, with good kitchen supplies and bathroom. Set in a secluded part of the garden and with easy access to the beach and the town itself.

Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Thanks you so much for your kind words, it was great having you!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcyboy2...
Shorne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a great cottage! Immaculate, beautifully furnished and everything one could wish for, flowers, fruit and wine on arrival. Frank and Jo were very helpful and it was nice to know they were on hand if we needed anything. Our Irish Setter loved the garden too and it was a real pleasure to be able to let him off without worrying where he had got to. We ate out most evenings and can highly recommend the restaurants Birdies and the Crab and Winkle in the town. We now have a list of "next time to visit".

We will be back!. This was our first time renting a cottage anywhere and it has been wonderful.

Thank you, Frank and Jo, once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior of the cottage
Liked least: We liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, It was great to meet you!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairekd7
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hideaway!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our two sons for two nights. Jo met us and was very friendly and welcoming. Showing us the accomodation and short cuts to the beach and shops.
The Fishermans Cot is very well equipped with a double bed and two single fold out chair beds. Bedding was very comfy too. The kitchen had everything you needed and there was also a BBQ.
Jo provided a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, sugar, fruit and even a bottle of wine and some local ales.A very nice touch. The outside space is secure and brilliant for children. There was loungers on the veranda and after a long day on the beach and exploring this pretty little place it was perfect to sit outside with a bottle of wine by candle light. We will definately visit again. Worth every penny.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, Regards From Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;