We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
11
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classical music overlooking the garden breakfast was delicious comfortable bed barbara hosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We came for a couple of nights as we were visiting friends nearby, and also to look at the garden. Our room was traditional yet comfortable and the house large yet cosy with family heirlooms and photos dotted about. Good breakfasts each morning and soothing classical music choices (not radio) to welcome us down, a nice touch. The garden is a wonderful and eclectic mix of trees, flowers, borders, palms, ferns, running water, hidden bowers and little surprises, and is well worth exploring. Barbara and John are gracious and hospitable hosts, and took care of us very well.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Merv_is_Write
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B, Owner at The Ridges, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us..
Sorry we haven't responded earlier but haven't been checking reviews on the web. We have been very busy watering the garden, and trying to keep the beds moist. Had hardly any rain since you were here, & many of the ferns have suffered & the Rhododendrons are still drooping over .We are keeping our fingers crossed & hoping that we have a good down pour soon.
Barbara & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We came for a walking weekend on the West Pennine Moors. The Ridges is lovely and Barbara and John very welcoming and helpful. They helped us plan our trips with accurate weather updates and John a keen walker had lot of interesting tips and helpful routes to do. Breakfast was delicious, always the right amount and cooked beautifully. The room was lovely and spacious with a very comfortable bed after the long walks on the moors. Barbara even helped book us a table for dinner at a local pub when we arrived which was much appreciated after a long drive. The gardens were gorgeous and we can't thank them enough for a very special stay!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank miller7582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B, Owner at The Ridges, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your very kind review. Good job you didn't choose to come here at the moment because, where you walked then is now out of bounds due to the moorland fires!!! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Ridges again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Just spent a a night in the most charming room and a wonderful morning in the most fantastic secret garden at The Ridges b&b ☺ The hosts Barbara and John so warm and wecoming - and made us a delicious breakfast ☺

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Metkje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B, Owner at The Ridges, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you to our home again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

What a relief after a long day of travelling to arrive at The Ridges. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a big bedroom overlooking the garden. Arriving near tea time, John kindly made us a booking for dinner within walking distance. Breakfast was delicious and served in their lovely dining room. On our final morning, we enjoyed walking around their extensive gardens that people travel from far and wide to see. A very enjoyable stay

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B, Owner at The Ridges, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Thank you Deb for your kind review, hope you both enjoyed the rest of your UK visit and had a safe return to Oz.
Kind regards
Barbara & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and could have easily stayed more as there is heaps to do in the area. Apart from Manchester and Liverpool there are castles, country homes, gardens and natural beauty spots to visit. On top of that the B&B is wonderful. Large room with nice ensuite overlooking the garden. John and Barbara were lovely hosts and the breakfasts were terrific. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews