We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Meal”

The Italian Cottage
Ranked #18 of 224 Restaurants in Chorley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This can be found and reviewed on sugar-vine
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

Myself & a friend decided last minute to meet up and have a Wednesday night catch up and tea out. We were able to park on the nearby car park located to the back of the restaurant & got seated downstairs against the wall, near the window behind the door straight away. The garlic bread with cheese was so tasty and we both had carbonara, that was delicious. The food, service was very good and couldn’t fault the price either. We’d sat at that table once before in the past and back then found that once a family / group sit at the table next to you, you’re literally hemmed in, can’t move to get out without knocking them or asking them to interrupt their meal to move their chairs in so we could pass. I also felt they could hear our conversation we were that close & even though I tried hard not too, I certainly could hear theirs. I appreciate it’s a small restaurant but myself and my friend wanted a nice meal, which we got with a catch up together not for the table next to us to be so close! I’ve visited on numerous occasions, never faulted the food, service, price or location.. just felt a bit hemmed in to corner when I get put on that table & unfortunately that was the only 2 seater tables available.

Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hi, thank you for your review it's good to hear you enjoyed your meal & the service you received. It is fair to say the tables are quite close but like you said we are a small restaurant so have to try to make the best of the limited space we have.
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 394 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

I absolutely love this restaurant. Consistently good quality food dishes. Great menu to choose from and a lovely ambience too. Cannot recommend this enough. If you haven't visited you are missing out.

2  Thank 62Felicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Hi, we would all like to say a very big thank you for your wonderful review, reviews like yours make us very proud indeed.
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Booked for a Thursday evening. Greeted and shown to our table immediately. Pleasantly surprised there was a 3 course special ( Thursday/Sunday only) £13.95. Excellent value for money and plenty of choice. Food was delicious and service was polite and friendly. Would definitely go back, although the wine list was a little limited and slightly overpriced.

1  Thank jwefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Hi, thank you for the kind review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. I'm sorry our wine list was a little limited for you but we do have a lovely house white, red & rose wine which is priced at £16.95 for a litre bottle please, just ask next time your in for a taste.
Many thanks
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Went here with family and got a last minute table with was nice of them to fit us in. The food was great but it's so cramped in there you can't move around without bumping into anyone or disturbing people. It's disappointing because the foods so nice and the staff a great just maybe needs less tables to make more room

Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Sorry you found the restaurant cramped, we are a small cosy restaurant so try to use the space as best as we can to keep our offers & prices competitive as we only have 8 tables on each the lower & upper floor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food & service you received.
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Four of us came, 2 couples, the atmosphere was good, we were seated to a table upstairs, which was busy, quite a few others had arrived at the same time so we were a bit concerned that we might have to wait a while for food, but the service was excellent ! The choice of food was quite extensive there was also a specials board, non of us was disappointed the starters and mains were all hot and tasty. It was reasonably priced. Will definitely return and highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank almip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Hi, we are really happy to hear you all enjoyed your visit with us & thank you for very kind words.
Hope to see you again soon.
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Cottage also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
 

Been to The Italian Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing