We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best haddock & chips+mushy peas outside Yorkshire in a chippy desert”
Review of Castle chippy

Castle chippy
Ranked #26 of 151 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Well, the staff put up with my pathetic jokes, my stories about haddick [That is how they say it in BARNSLEY, S, Yorks!!!!] in Yorkshire where I taught etc. Then I took them home wrapped up in a tad of insulation - a Liverpool shirt- whilst I waited for the bus nearby. The bus stop was disgusting, outside the Pendle Club on Lowergate, and so typical of Clitheroe now-with excess traffic, at high speed.... so many important people pratting around... The meal was consumed with pleasure at home. Best I have eaten in Lancs., for many years. Only a chip shop in Peace Square, Bradford, comes close!!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StewKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

As visitors to Clitheroe we chose here because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor only to be very disappointed. My husband and I both had cod and chips with mushy peas. The chips were only just warm and the fish was grey and more batter than fish. Would not recommend ☹️

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

One of our friends said let’s get some chips for lunch so 6 if us went as it was a very busy time to attempt to sit in anywhere!
Can I just say staff were lovely the choice on the menu is unbelievable for a small chippy and to top it off it was home made Tartar sauce which was fantastic I was bowled over and will def be back thank you

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LancashireCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

As a Coeliac it is hard to find GF fish & chips. At Castle Chippy, Clitheroe there is an extensive GF menu. Never had some many decisions to make before. Food is tasty & staff very knowledgable & friendly.
Spam fritters are a guilty pleasure.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank BevSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

I visited in August with my colleague from overseas who had never had British fish and chips before. The staff were lovely and the food was fantastic!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank WelshTourist1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle chippy also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Waddington, Clitheroe
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Castle chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing