We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
45
33
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
33
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstayed heremushroom pot piewinston churchillselection of beers and winestwo coursesfriday and saturdaysteakbreakfast was excellentgood nights sleepenjoyable staysalmongreat foodwhittlefrankdiscosir
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 89 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed on a Saturday. The weather was bad but that didn't put a dampener on our stay. We checked in around 2.30pm the staff were all more than helpful and polite. We had our tea in the pub which was amazing. Compliments to the chef I had the chicken and creamy sauce and my partner had the sizzling steak and we could not fault it at all. Last orders isn't until 1am so good if you like a late night. Will definitely be going back

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Keeley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2015

This lovely old traditional pub on the high street offers a two course pensioners special meal for £6.75. The menu is fairly limited but great value. The home made carrot and coriander soup was piping hot and delicious, with warm roll. The roast of the day main course was excellent with fresh vegetables. Portions were good and the service was prompt and friendly. We will certainly be returning here!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jancrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2015

Once again me and my wife stayed at The Swan and Royal on our visit to Clitheeoe.We have stayed here before and as before we were not disappointed.On arriving and we early but to our joy our room was ready.As on our previous visit we was given the Frank Whittle room complete with four poster bed.The room was lovely and warm rhe bed so warm and comfy.In the evening we went down for a meal and drinks.Again the lady behind the bar was so pleasant and helpful and me and my wife had the best food we have had in ages.The breakfast was wonderful and again served by a very friendly helpful lady.We will definately be back in the new year.Thank you all!!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2015

in september of last year when i was staying from monday to friday with my friend to see his relations. on the tuesday i slipped and the owners wife came to the place were i had slipped with her car to take me back to the hotel when we arrived back at the hotel one the female staff was waiting with a chair for me to sit on and take me to my room./ as a policeman and woman were in the street and saw me they called an ambulance to take me to hospital. when i got back from hospital i was carried up stairs to my room all my meals and drinks were taken to my room and mid morning and mid after noon a hot drink was maid for me at no extra cost so i stayed 2 more days and as my leg was in a splint i was taken home bay the owners whife at no extra cost. this is not the first time we have stayed there it is just like home although as a man form the white rose county it is great and i stay there at least four times a year or more. george vokes

Room Tip: thay are all very good
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank georgevokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2015

Stayed here 29thAug with my family for a family 'do' at the catholic club nearby.had rooms 2and3 family rooms good clean and spacious.was checked in by young friendly man swiftly even though the bar was very busy with meals and drinkers,shown to our rooms.had dinks in the bar before going out.very busy but no problem getting served by very friendless efficient staff. Breakfast was excellent and again served by cheerful staff.Cant fault this place would stay again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 overlooking main street
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews