We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
45
33
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
33
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstayed heremushroom pot piewinston churchillselection of beers and winestwo coursesfriday and saturdaysteakbreakfast was excellentgood nights sleepenjoyable staysalmongreat foodwhittlefrankdiscosir
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 89 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Booked the hotel via laterooms, they phoned the hotel while I waited. We got confirmation from the hotel and Laterooms for the booking. Got a phone call the day after from the hotel stating that they may have some regulars who want the room that weekend so they were cancelling our booking. The booking was made for 12 months in advance. Fuming

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank PeteMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joytez, Owner at Swan & Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Well this is the first time we have received a review from someone who has not stayed here or eaten here etc. I'm surprised that Trip Advisor actually published it but it just goes to show they will publish anything. Anyway getting back to your "review", if you are going to write a review please do not distort the facts, that said I will now try and address the issues in your "review".
First and foremost we never got a phone call from Late Rooms at the time of booking, you actually booked through the call centre on Sunday evening at 23.32pm. I'm sure if you ask Late rooms they will confirm we never got any telephone call at that point.
Secondly you never got a confirmation of the Swan & Royal Hotel.
Thirdly I actually picked the booking up Monday morning and telephoned you immediately and informed you we could not accept the booking as we have a group of people that come year after year for that weekend, I never said we may have some regulars that may want the rooms that week end and I then went on to suggest other venues .
As I stated at the time, we are sorry we could not accommodate you on this occasion and considering its a full year away there is ample time to book alternative accommodation I fail to see why you are "Fuming"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend and it is in the heart of Clitheroe, this has it good and bad points, good in that it is handy for all the amenities, Clitheroe castle is only a few hundred yards away, however also bad as the parking for the hotel is very limited.
The hotel has a small number of rooms each named after a person from history who has stayed there, the rooms were spacious and well kept, a good wholesome breakfast was included. Over the weekend the pub does have a disco till 1am which didn't cause us any problems sleeping itself, although the disturbances in the street during the early hours of the morning was to keep us awake, mind you this was mainly due to us watching the local constabulary in action.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Reborn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Swan and Royal is in the centre of Clitheroe with the bonus of guest car parking. Staff are pleasant and welcoming. Room was rather dated and the tiny bathroom/toilet needed refurbishment but the room rate was reasonable value for money. Apparently Winston Churchill visited the hotel in World War II when inspecting the newly developed jet engine. He and the jet engine's developer Frank Whittle have rooms named after them as have several other notables.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomwO6177GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Ate here at the weekend and had a couple of Pheasant Pluckers from the nearby Bowland Brewery. Good pub grub and fine beers, highly recommended in the centre of Whalley. Outside seating for when the sun is shining

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

I deleted my last review because it read "beware" instead of "be aware" This is a simple (in a nice way) friendly town centre pub with lovely staff, very reasonable prices and a varied age group of customers. There is a disco every Friday and Saturday with a legend of a DJ whose collection of music is vast. The rooms are clean, comfy and have everything you need. Due to it being listed the windows are single pain sash so you may have the odd late night conversation to eavesdrop on but this can be very amusing.
Even though usually feeling a bit delicate, breakfast is to die for and served by the two luvverlies in proper Northern style hospitality, "Owt yer want, gee ue a shout" Brilliant!
All said, this is a proper pub with a comfy place to lay your head followed by a reet gud brekky. We love it!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews