We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveller rating
499
457
291
171
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
499
457
291
171
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa break spa facilities steam room lovely grounds main building relaxation room lovely hotel executive room afternoon tea small pool evening meal wedding breakfast enjoyable stay full english bar area wedding venue stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Where do I begin ? Booked a 2 night spa break with some friends. Requested twin rooms. When we arrived we found we all had doubles. We were told they could be split into twins even though one definitely could not. We went into bar for lunch. No one serving so we had to go and look for staff. The food came after a wait of 90 minutes. It was very nice but no apology for slow service. We then had our spa treatments. Beds had still not been split. The spa was very good though the pool area is dark and stuffy, not very tempting, but treatments were lovely. Back to our rooms and beds still not sorted so I had to go and find staff to do it. Two receptionists did them in the end and two friends had to change rooms. Dinner was a nightmare. Very long wait between courses and then the fire alarm went off and we all had to vacate. Staff were running around like headless chickens. The fire brigade were eventually called but found no fire . We went back in and had another huge wait for our meal. When we did eventually get to bed the alarm kept going off throughout the night keeping us all awake. Staff made no apologies for this next day. Breakfast was staffed by older staff and was very good with excellent service. We had booked afternoon tea and again had to go and find staff to serve us. We didn't bother with dinner after our bad experiences . Other guests said they were going to the local pub to eat. We had a meeting with the duty manager and put our complaints to her. The calibration of the younger staff at the hotel is extremely poor. They just don't care about customers. I wouldn't return to this hotel and would advise people to give it a wide berth. Such a shame as the grounds are lovely and the spa is very good value.

Room Tip: " The rooms appear to be very similar. Hotel was fairly quiet when we went mid week.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank cagsrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Dear cagsrooney

Thank you for your review

As discussed with your friend I am deeply sorry for your experience at the hotel and I do look forward to being able to demonstrate to you that this was an isolated incident

Kind Regards

Kirsti Playdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

Lovely grounds. Rooms clean and comfortable. Went on a spa break with my sister, spa receptionist most unhelpful no towels for us until third time of asking as none dry. Treatments lovely. Restaurant staff gave us menus we choosed our lunch only to be told later didn't do tapas anymore. Evening meal they lost our order but the waitress couldn't have been more apologetic. Restaurant was cold.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank 99pk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Dear 99pk2017,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at the Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel in March. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your spa treatments.

Your feedback is invaluable and it is only through the comments and observations from our guests that we are able to monitor and improve our level of customer care. Please be assured that we have already reviewed your feedback and discussed this with the relevant departments in the hotel to ensure that our future guests are not similarly disappointed.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti | General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018

My husband and I married at Kilhey Court in March and we cannot express how fantastic the day was. We like to thank Laura who was great at planning everything before the Big Day and dealt with any last minute requests. We would like thank Angus and the rest of the night staff who saw us dancing into the early hours of the morning. We would like to say a special big thank you to Ash our wedding co-ordinator on the day. He had a very relaxed manner and was great at calming my pre-wedding nerves and was very attentive throughout the whole day. He looked after the guests and had everything planned so we didn’t have to worry about anything (If you could pass these comments onto them). The guests really liked the venue. The only issue there was, was those guests staying overnight were unable to check into their rooms until the early afternoon. Some guests would have like to have had their room earlier in the morning to get ready and freshen up. Although they found the rooms comfortable and clean with a breakfast the next day and the of the use of the spa.

As a wedding venue Kilhey Court is a beautiful traditional building and gardens. We had stayed there previously for an overnight stay and really liked the standard of the rooms and the building in general which was why we considered it when looking at venues. Compared to other venues we looked at, the package we chose at Kilhey Court was very good value for money especially as we were on a tight budget. There was a lot of flexibility with our package e.g. the choice of having canapes, table decorations etc. so we had a lot of options to choose from to tailer it to what we wanted. We would highly recommend Kilhey Court as a wedding venue- you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank s_fran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear s_fran1,

Thank you for posting a review following your wedding at the hotel. I was thrilled to read comments and am delighted that we exceeded your expectations for the biggest day of your life.

I will pass on your praise to Laura, Ash and Angus who I am sure will be thrilled that you have mentioned them in particular in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Kilhey Court hotel for your first wedding anniversary, if not before.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti | General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Stayed at the hotel for my son’s wedding. Check in was chaos personified. The reception staff seemed totally unconcerned by the fact that as we were parents of the groom we expected to be able to check in, freshen up and enjoy our own son’s wedding, rather than becoming increasingly stressed as increasing numbers of guests waited and waited to check in, with eventually rooms being allocated irrespective of time of arrival with one family being delayed so late that they missed the start of the wedding.

As the venue trade on its location as a wedding venue, one would never imagine that they had hosted weddings before. The building, grounds and indeed wedding hall are lovely but forget any opportunity to enjoy the lovely grounds as you will spend all your time waiting in a queue to gain access to your room, and although the wedding itself was lovely, the following morning the abysmal service referred to by other visitors was very much in evidence. There was more chance of Godot turning up than the cheese omelette I ordered. Staff without a shred of embarrassment said there was a 35 minute wait, they were out by 10 or so minutes, or more accurately the rubber disc masquerading as an omelette turned up the cheese, well its probably still on its way. Never have I encountered such a wait for breakfast. It completely ruined our morning and any chance of exploring the beautiful grounds completely evaporated.

The most disappointing aspect of this venue is that only one member of staff seemed to recognise that to run a hotel in this way is just not acceptable. He was really apologetic and suggested we write in to the Manager. The other staff were unconcerned by the chaos and unacceptable waiting involved. Indeed at breakfast one member of staff felt no embarrassment at telling another guest that they had run out of pastries and weren’t cooking any more. There was no appreciation it seemed on the part of the management that where guests had booked rooms (including breakfast) there would be this number of people a) arriving to check into their rooms and b) turning up to eat breakfast. Quite bizarre and beyond comprehension that from the other reviews I have seen this seems to be the normal operating pattern of this hotel. Don’t get fooled by the lovely grounds, you won’t have time to enjoy them!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Hotelstay2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Hotelstay2018,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at the Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel.

Your feedback is invaluable and it is only through the comments and observations from our guests that we are able to monitor and improve our level of customer care. Please be assured I will review your feedback and discuss with the relevant departments in the hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti | General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night to attend a wedding. We had stayed at another Macdonald hotel previously with awful results, so were not hopeful , and our concerns transpired to be well founded.

The venue itself is pretty and a good location for a wedding, but the service and management of the hotel was hopeless. Check in was a nightmare with total chaos regarding allocation of rooms. Some guests missed the start of the festivities and there was an attempt to evict an octogenarian getting changed because of a room mix up. The individual attempting the eviction claimed he had been sent by reception and was just doing his job, but the following morning was manning reception.

Breakfast was a complete disaster. Produce on the buffet frequently ran out, and cooked breakfasts took up to an hour to arrive, and in one case hot water and tea took over 40 minutes to appear. The over cooked eggs took so long to be served that it was surprising they did not arrive as chickens.

It is difficult to know whether the problems are due to understaffing, poor resource planning, training , or a combination of all of the above.

This has the potential to be much better, but whilst the wedding was lovely, if you want to enjoy your event, do not stay at this hotel , or indeed from our experiences any Macdonald hotel

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank MrandMrsCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear MrandMrsCLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at the Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel.

Your feedback is invaluable and it is only through the comments and observations from our guests that we are able to monitor and improve our level of customer care. Please be assured I will review your feedback and discuss with the relevant departments in the hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti | General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews