We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Living/dining area. Light and airy. Wood burner for extra cosy evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dining area. Light and airy. Wood burner for extra cosy evenings
The holiday cottage with its own private garden and parking area Living area with woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Living/dining area. Light and airy. Wood burner for extra cosy evenings
The holiday cottage with its own private garden and parking area
Living area with woodburning stove
Single beds or super king bed. You choose!
Stunning bathroom with roll top bath
King size bed with 3000 sprung pocket mattress
Walk in shower room with large shower tray and luxury toiletries
private outside patio area for the cottage
Our hens ready to lay fresh eggs for breakfast!
Walks straight from the cottage. View from the end of our track
welcome to the Vale of Belvoir
the village pub
Lovely Langar village
Roll-top claw-foot bath
Vintage laundry artwork
The cottage looking lovely in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kiran G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I met up with my uni friends here as it's a good middle point from all of us, and needless to say we've now dubbed this as our meet-up place from now on! It's beautifully decorated with a contemporary feel and just feels like 'home'. Ruth was a fabulous host and she'd thought of every little detail a group of girls could possibly need for a relaxing weekend away! It's a lovely little hideaway from our uni town of Nottingham where we can visit for nostalgic reasons, but then retreat back to the lovliness this cottage offers - we can't wait to book it again and the photos don't do this place any justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamk65
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top quality rental experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Langar Near The Hall has all the facilities you'll need for a very comfortable stay, including extra touches you'd expect to find in 4* and 5* hotels. It serves as a good base for touring Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire and Lincolnshire by car. We were a party of 2 adults and had more than enough room and think 4 adults would be equally comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, wet room and cake on arrival
Liked least: Slow wi-fi - unfortunately a generic problem with UK rural broadband
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drurob
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL GET AWAY COTTAGE”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This lovely cottage has so much to offer. A nice quiet spot that was still close to a town (approx. 5 miles to Bingham). We drove to Nottingham each day to visit a family member in the hospital, it was an easy drive from this location. The cottage is well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine and all the pots, pans and dished needed. The owners have thought of everything to make you feel comfortable and at home.

The beds are very comfortable, the baths are lovely and modern. There is central heating as well as a lovely wood burning stove that we used each day. The owner also included ample firewood.

I can honestly say that had we not had plans to turn the Southern Cornwall area, we would have been tempted to stay an extra week.
The lovely hospitality basket included milk, coffee, fresh eggs from their farm as well as other goodies. To top it off, the owner even baked us a delicious homemade cake that we enjoyed so much, in fact I may write her for the recipe.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely place for a weekend, a week or a month. It will always be a wonderful memory of our trip to England from the States.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent condition of the property and the fact that it was all on one level.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Wow, we are so touched by your comments and really delighted that your time at the cottage worked well for you and provided the easy journey to and from the hospital that you hadn't originally intended to have to fit in. If you are back in this part of the UK again we'd love to welcome you here again. Many thanks too for the compliments on the Sicilian orange cake :-). Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The accomadation was excellent as were the facilities of the house. The children loved the place as did we. We had a very relaxing stay and would highly recommend it. The log burner was lovely in the evening and was very easy to get going. Our to young girls didn't want to leave!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback and review here on Trip Advisor; we really do appreciate it. So pleased you found the accommodation standards to be excellent and that the children enjoyed their time too. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet2912
1 review
“Perfect Break Away”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We've just had a perfect little break in this gorgeous cottage following a busy 6 months with a new baby. We decided a few days away as a new family would be nice before I return to work after maternity leave. We wanted a self catering cottage as we thought it would be easier with a 6 month old. This cottage goes way and beyond any other self catering accommodation we have stayed in before - tons of personal, thoughtful touches making it very homely & the perfect place for us as a family. A welcolme hamper with fresh eggs from the family hens, jams, cereal, tea, coffee, juice, butter, nibbles. . . lovely.
The kitchen is well equipped to cook. The beds are comfy. The decoration is beautiful. The local pub serves great good - along with take out pizzas! The location is great to get out and about, either for a nice walk or a drive to smaller villages or even Nottingham & Liecester like we did to see friends.
It was my husbands birthday whilst there & Ruth helped me organise some balloons which she kindly displayed in the cottage, along with some home made goodies & birthday wishes. . . Thoughtful & a perfect welcolme.
Couldn't recommend this cottage enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becca hai...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas getaway”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The cottage is a beautifully maintained and perfect retreat which suited our needs perfectly. A family Christmas away from home required enough room for 4 adults to comfortably exist, and this was perfect.

Ruth is an excellent host, and the little touches make the cottage a real home away from home. It's location is ideal, with excellent placing between villages and road links, and the pub across the road provides excellent food at a reasonable price.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, as it is beautiful, and reasonably priced- with nothing being too much trouble for Ruth.

Thoroughly delightful.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Many thanks for such high praise and useful feedback. It's good to know Langar was a good base for you especially as we are rather 'in the sticks'! Glad you enjoyed the Christmas tree and were able to get together over christmas. I appreciate your having taken time to review and would be happy to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
865sun
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in the cottage between Christmas and New Year to visit family in the area and it was such a treat. The cottage is a real delight - décor is gorgeous, beds are very, very comfortable and it has everything you need particularly if you are staying for more than two or three nights (very well equipped kitchen plus a washing machine if you should need it.) We arrived on a cold afternoon and the log burner was on complete with a real Christmas tree and carols on the radio. It was perfect. The snow even fell on boxing night and watching it out of the large windows onto the garden made it even more festive! There was a gorgeous selection of nibbles and chilled bottle of wine in the fridge. Ruth had kindly left some toys and books for our children. We visited the local pub a few times to eat there which was good and had morning coffee in Langar Hall. We couldn't fault it one bit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your praise and for taking time to give helpful feedback. I am glad you were able to have a break and catch up with family while in the area too. We think the beds are really comfy too! It was lovely to meet you all and we would love to welcome you back if you are back in the area again. With best wishes for 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing