We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run on a shoestring or what???” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Run on a shoestring or what???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

A lovely couple of days away for hubby's birthday was spoilt by so many little things going wrong. Before we went I had telephoned twice (spoke to Wendy and David) to ask for a quiet room on the top floor. When we arrived the receptionist had no knowledge of this and we were booked in on the ground floor behind reception! Never mind, he said, will move you to upstairs. Room was small, had to ring for extra towels (only towels for one) but he did bring some decaff coffee when asked. Room became noisy as we found that we were over the restaurant/bar but clean. Went down for meal (no need to book), waited 15 minutes for waitress who said you are booked in for 8pm. O no we are not etc. etc. Eventually got a table. My starter was awful - one mushroom with supposedly brie and sun dried tomato stuffing - it was just mush. The beetroot confit (?) was in vinegar!! I had specifically asked that the nuts were left off the dish - yes, they came. My main was luke warm gnocchi. Hubby chose better event tho' there were only 4 choices and one was fish and chips. Pudding was lovely, lime & ginger cheesecake. Breakfast next morning was ok, served to the table. I asked for soft boiled eggs which were hard boiled. One apple and 5 manky pears in the fruit bowl. We went out for the day. We had to put the towels to be changed as there was nowhere to hang them. When we came back at 9pm I jumped in the shower, no soap in the dispenser. Not enough milk for coffee. Rang down to Reception for 15 minutes but no reply. This morning there was a bit more fruit and some grapefruit in juice but again, no pastries and just cheap bread and Lidl orange juice. All in all was very disappointed by the whole thing. At least it was only Groupon cost but all the same I was expecting so much more. The waitresses were doubling up as cleaners straight after breakfast poor things. When I spoke to people in Reception first evening and last morning just got shrug of shoulders - we don't care. Well I do which is why I have posted this. Do not go unless you are paying dirt cheap price. Saving grace was super shower and decent sized bath sheets. Oh, and the bed sheets did not fit properly so were all rucked up second night.

Room Tip: Try and get something round the back but I don't know any numbers!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very dissapointed you felt the need to complain about everything. We had got you booked in for a twin room, however when you arrived you specifically asked for a 1st floor room which we were able to accommodate, however you were not happy with this so then requested a Superior Room at no extra charge. We did inform you that this would be possible at an extra charge of £20, which you declined. All our rooms are of a good size with good quality facilities. I am sorry at your dissapointment with our restaurant, we have an excellent restaurant with a very high standard of food which as you will see from other reviews most people very much enjoy. We serve a good quality breakfast with Hovis bread and branded orange juice. We have never been to 'Lidl's' so not so sure about this comment. We serve a wide range of branded cereals, jams, fruits, yogurts along with an quality full English breakfast with the finest Pettits Lincolnshire sausages. We have one waitress that also works on housekeeping so again not sure about your comment. We very much care about all our customers but unfortunately you just ranted at everyone therefore was unable to communicate with you on a level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    67
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
71
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed on a Groupon deal on Sat night. Very helpful man on reception who seemed to do everything, bar, restaurant, reception. Room adequate but a little small. We had a 3 course meal included and made our way to the restaurant, we asked for a menu to which the wiatress replied "Groupon?", we didnt get the leather bound menu's but a laminated sheet. However there was a nice choice and the food was good. The restarant service was also good.
Breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection, every part of the full english was excellent, best part of the stay. All in all a good stay, hotel a little tired i nplaces but the staff are friendly and food is good but would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My partner and i stayed here on a one nights "groupon" stay which included a 3 course evening meal and breakfast the next day.
Driving to the hotel i was slightly put off when we had to drive through an industrial estate and was very close to Immingham power station, but all my doubt where put to rest when we arrived, the hotel is in a very beautiful surroundings. The area around is highly maintained and on 1st impressions i was happy.
Our room was basic but very clean, with a lovely view of fields(and Sheep!!).
Our evening meal was gorgeous, i had the mushroom, seared Steak, and toffee pud and i couldn't fault it, the waitress was very polite and made us feel welcome. Our breakfast however was disappointing, and NOT what i'd call a full English(1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, half a tomatoe and a spoon full of mushrooms)maybe i'm a big eater but felt abit cheated.
Don't let that put you off though, all in all we had a very pleasant stay and if another "Groupon" came available we would definately buy it.

Room Tip: I'd guess any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndseyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful setting. We are sorry your breakfast wasn't up to expectations however but you did enjoy your meal in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a lovely country location. Room was nice and great view over open countryside. The staff were very attentive and the food simply excellent. We stayed on a Groupon deal which made our stay fantastic value but would definitely stay again in the future. If you want a relaxing break with good food and drink give Stallingborough Grange a try.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garthcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The overall stay over four nights was superb. Great, friendly staff welcomed us into a warm hotel. Room overlooked the pond and simply put, stunning. Food was well presented with swift service. Dave the house manager enjoyed the company and entertained our every need. Required a late check out and this was authorised at no extra cost due to the nature of our business. Would I recommend? I certainly do and would gladly stay again at this wonderful facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwk10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us and hope that if you are visiting this area again you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and i stayed here with two friends through groupon (for my friends birthday). I had asked that my friends when they arrived were not told it was a groupon and that we would be joining later as a suprise. This was all upheld wonderfully,we dutifully arrived later and suprised our friends all enjoying an amazing 3 course eve meal with reasonably priced wine.
The rooms were warm and clean with tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast the next morning was chaotic with things sparce and not many staff, we werent shown to a table and when someone did come to take our order we were asked what did we want, having not seen a breakfast menu at all it was limiting and not that good when it arrived.
If the breakfast could be given the same quality and attention as the eve meal i would happily stay again paying full price!
The meal (sea bass, lamb ragu, steak and delicous home made desserts) the night before stay in my memory, so thank you for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Just had a lovely stay here. Booked on a Groupon and was not at all dissapointed. The food was mouthwatering, generous portions, in pleasant relaxed surroundings. Room clean and comfortable, staff friendly and courteous, plenty of parking, what a shame it was too cold to sit out in the lovely grounds. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We are very pleased you had a lovely stay with us. Hopefully you will come back and stay again when the sun is shining to enjoy our gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
2.6 km away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
6.0 km away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
8.0 km away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.5 km away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallingborough Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Property: Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Address: Riby Road | North East Lincolnshire, Grimsby DN41 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stallingborough Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, Stallingborough Grange Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. This former 18th century country house has been extensively modernised, yet retains its old world charm and features. With all the amenities the discerning traveller requires including free Wifi throughout the hotel. Ideally located for the businesses of Grimsby and Immingham, and the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. The historical cities of Hull and Lincoln are also only a short drive away. Enjoy a delicious meal in our Thatchers Restaurant or light bites in our lounge bar. A superb selection of wines and real ales are also available. Enjoy a drink in our beer garden set amongst our beautiful gardens. Conference and banqueting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Stallingborough Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing