We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
139
72
30
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
72
30
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station car park air con heated mirror usb sockets sofa bed scrambled egg and beans new style spacious bathroom the breakfast area breakfast was included blackout curtains town centre top floor per day two nights budget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 252 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights as a family with our dog.

The staff couldn’t have been more helpful if they had tried. They’re a real credit to this lovely and clean hotel.

My only moan is having to pay £7 per night for a car park on a back street!? That’s daylight robbery!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank lea_lee1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hi lea_lee1982,

Thank you for taking the time to review us it really is fantastic to read such positive feedback especially that you found the staff to be very helpful.
We hope to see you stay again with us on your next visit to Grimsby.

Kind Regards
Kyle Danby
Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

The hotel was very clean and fresh. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean and had everything you could want for a couple of nights.We took our granddaughter so made use of the sofa bed. It was extremely comfortable but took a lot of room up in the room though this wasn't much of a problem.
Breakfast was top notch and well presented.
Thank you HIE for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alib3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Hi Alib3365,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we are pleased to read your positive feedback & we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,
Dylan Robson,
Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We stayed here for one night following a wedding. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and fresh, the breakfast was plentiful and overall it was great value for money. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jackiehollywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Hi Jackiehollywell,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback from your stay, we are pleased to see that you found the hotel to be great value for money.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,
Dylan Robson,
Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room, but charging to park when hotel is in the back streets is not acceptable. We arrived on time to find dirty tables and no breakfast. When we asked we were told it would take 20 minutes to cook some, which we declined. Receptionist when told implied it was our fault for turning up at 9.45 for breakfast which ends at 10. I felt the standard of customer care was poor.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi Susan W,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We charge for our parking due to us having 24/7 CCTV monitoring the area. On the night you stayed it was extremely busy which meant the breakfast the next morning was very busy However this should not stop us from giving you the customer service you should have received and the breakfast offering which is included in your room rate. I do hope you choose to stay with us again next time your in Grimsby, so we can show you that it was a one off and we offer you a more enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Please beware of booking a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The children are expected to share an uncomfortable sofa bed not much bigger than a single. I have been told by reception that this is Holiday Inn policy for children up to 12. I find this hard to accept as you could not expect two 12 year olds to share a single bed. I think the cleaning staff must agree as it was only made up with 3 towels between 4!

The hotel itself is smart, clean and the double bed very comfortable. I haven't tried the breakfast yet but we had no trouble parking (although it does cost £7). I would stay at holiday Inn as a couple again but never again as a family.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank annaP9365XJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi annaP9356XJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry to hear you did not think the sofa bed was suitable for your children. The sofa beds are an IHG brand standard size and are suitable for 2 children aged 12 years or younger. We are pleased to hear you found the hotel to be clean and smart. We hope when your next visiting Grimsby you choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards
Kyle Danby
Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews