We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Wedding Venue!”

Review of Skendleby Hall

Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Music room
Master ensuite
The Hall from the Garden
Victorian ensuite (disabled friendly)
Table football and air hockey
Full size billiards table
L shaped Main kitchen 2
Path through woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
14 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue-Paul...
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Venue!”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My daughter was married here this weekend and all I can say is Wow! The venue is perfect and allowed them to create an individualised wedding in such a beautiful setting. The interior is amazing, so full of period character and charm. All bedrooms have en suite or separate bathroom facilities and all rooms are spacious and well furnished. Many people commented on how comfortable the beds were. The living areas are plentiful and well sized for a party of 50 . The snooker room, spa/Jacuzzi and TV room were used the day prior to and following the wedding and the BBQ and grounds were wonderful for entertaining guests on Sunday with wonderful open views to admire from the comfort of a sun lounger!The owners Ruth, David and daughter Gillian are so lovely and were really helpful both prior to and on the day. They were able to recommend caterers, disco, flowers etc from companies they regularly use and their experience is invaluable in helping you to adapt the facilities to your needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue and would again like to thank you for helping make my daughters wedding so wonderful. My only small suggestion would be to improve the signage from the road as several guests missed the entrance initially!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the wedding at Skendleby Hall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannahand...
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Venue!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just got back from our weekend wedding at Skendleby Hall and we could not fault a thing. The house is stunning and guests frequently commented on the breathtaking views and beautiful building. Ruth, David and Gillian were fantastic, very welcoming, and helped us with any question or query we had. The house is maintained to an extremely high standard and is equipped with everything you could need. The extra facilities, such as the snooker room, spa and outside BBQ area, proved very popular and kept everyone entertained for the whole weekend. Beds are very comfortable and each room had its own bathroom facilities. Perfect, considering the number of guests this house can accommodate. Catering, through Skendleby Catering, was recommended to us by the owners and was also faultless. All in all, a perfect weekend, we could not have asked for anything more and would recommend anyone to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you Hannah and Matt for your review, it so lovely to hear such nice comments about the Hall. We are so pleased your wedding weekend went perfectly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at Skendleby Hall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darren L
1 review
“Set your expectations high!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the first sight of Skendleby Hall down the drive you know you've made a fantastic decision to stay.

The photos do not do the proportions or quality of the furnishings justice and every room is equally dressed.

Ruth and David are really welcoming hosts and offer help whenever you need it but leave the guests to their own privacy.

All in all every guest had a perfect weekend and we recommend everyone reading this to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased the Hall was above expectations and you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you at Skendleby again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of the Hall. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roamer66
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 Star experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at Skendleby Hall after celebrating my wife's surprise 50th Birthday party. What a stunning house!!! It exceeded all our expectations in a quite part of the Lincolnshire countryside. All 26 of our family and friends were overwhelmed by what the house had to offer. Stunning bedrooms, 2 kitchens, a multitude of reception rooms, snooker room and even a hot tub!! The newest addition is a Sonos sound system whereby you can control music via a free app on your smartphone. Ruth and her daughter Gillian were excellent hosts and ever so helpful. This house is without doubt one of the best places for a family/friend gathering and is perfect for a party. No one will forget our weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you at Skendleby Hall again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VC14rke
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend in a fabulous Hall”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Twenty six friends rented this accommodation for a long weekend. It is a beautiful building which is fascinating to find your way around. The beds were really comfortable and our room have lovely crisp white bed linen. It is well stocked in the kitchen for basics like dishwasher tabs, bin liners, etc (probably one of the best we have stayed in). The facilities has been added to since our initial booking, there is now an indoor hot tub in with the sauna and steam shower. Away from the house we had some great walks in the Lincolnshire Wolds, Bolingbroke Castle was worth a visit.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed the Hall and hope to see you in Skendleby again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing