We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage in an Idyllic Location”

Review of Moughton Cottage

Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk
dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
dishwasher, microwave and more than enough quality tableware
ensuite bedroom - twin or kingsize - with amazing views of Moughton Fell
light, spacious bedrooms and comfortable beds
the single bedroom with crisp white linen offering a deep sleep in the peace of the cottage
ensuite bathroom with shower
king sized bed with views of the village green
house bathroom with bath and shower
enjoy dining al fresco in the sunny walled garden
south facing back garden with a space for the car
view of The Green from Moughton's bedroom window
view of Austwick village from Oxenber.  One of the many walks from the doorstep of the cottage.
Beautiful Austwick Beck running through the village.  Ideal for fishing net activity!
entering the village approaching the humpback bridge over Austwick Beck
the road into Austwick offering tantalizing views of the incredible scenery you are now in
Moughton Scar is the view from the cottage.  A tempting walk on a clear day.
Austwick's children's playground in idyllic limestone landscape
Pen-y-ghent from the top of Moughton.  One of The Three Peaks.
the limestone pavements of Moughton formed during the last ice age by glaciers.  Clints and grikes -
Austwick Beck as it runs through Crummackdale high above Austwick
early morning view of Austwick from a five bar gate in the nearby hamlet of Wharfe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Austwick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin M
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage in an Idyllic Location”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was absolutely perfect! The owners have restored it beautifully to maintain its original character while providing modern amenities and charming details. They have truly thought of everything: crisp linens, logs for the fire, and a selection of board games for rainy days!

The large living room and kitchen areas were perfect for "family time", and the upstairs bedroom with ensuite bathroom and walk-in shower was very convenient for my 87-year-old grandmother who has some accessibility issues. There was also a lovely back garden with several seating areas and room to park the car.

The location in the village of Austwick was wonderful. The front door of the cottage is only steps away from "The Game Cock", a Cask Marque pub with real ales and a fantastic menu. The Yorkshire Dales walking paths are also easily accessible (with maps and guide books provided in the cottage).

If you're looking for other activities, the market town of Settle is only minutes away by car, and the rest of Yorkshire is also accessible for day trips. We were also able to drive to Manchester and Liverpool (about 90 minutes by car).

We spent a very relaxing week here, and would not hesitate to return in future. I would give it 6 stars if I could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy and charming
Liked least: N/A - there is nothing I would change!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasher589
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at Moughton Cottage. The cottage is full of charm, well equipped, and finished to a high standard. It offered a comfortable and relaxing stay for our family, including two children (aged 6 and 5).

The cottage is tucked away in the centre of Austwick - a real gem for exploring Yorkshire, with walks from the front door and fab pubs on the doorstep. We especially enjoyed the local river strolls, where the children spent hours throwing stones and Pooh sticks. Bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire...
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Everything you could ever want”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from 5 days at Moughton Cottage and it was nowhere near long enough!

As soon as you enter Austwick you know you are in for a great holiday, it's a fabulous base for a break and the weather was absolutely glorious for the 5 days we were there.
As you drive up to the cottage it exceeds expectations. As we opened the wooden gates to park our car we were stunned into silence by the beautiful hidden garden behind which is a real suntrap.
We wandered around the house in awe at the tasteful furnishings. Modern but yet in keeping with the traditional cottage theme. How wonderful of Kate the owner to have pictures of her family dotted around who have loved in the cottage with information for you on who they are and where the pictures where taken, definitely makes it more homely.
Theres a wood burner for those cool nights(not needed for us) and the cottage never got warm at all so was lovely and cool at the end of a very sunny day.
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a downstairs loo really spoilt us!
The area around Austwick is simply breathtaking, we went on a walk to Clapham across the fields and up to the Norber Erratics which was tiresome but so breathtaking. Also just down the road is a playground and a little further along an idyllic beck for you to paddle in or take a picnic.
I can't think of a more perfect base.
Kate was a great help, she answered my emails more or less immediately even though she was on holiday abroad herself at the time!
We will definitely be coming back.
Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevestea...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Little Cottage in the Heart of a Beautiful Village”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I can't recommend this place high enough. The cottage is beautiful and the owners have provided everything you could need, and more, for a comfortable stay. We stayed here for a week with 3 children aged 6-10 and they had a lovely time. Everywhere in the Dales is easily reachable and the sun even shone for us.

Highly Recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFamily10
Birmingham
2 reviews
“A perfect cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved everything about this cottage. Every room has a glorious view. The garden catches the sun and is a great place to eat. Pub and shop on the doorstep. Super walks from the door. We plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second visit and still not long enough”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Kate is very efficient and quick to respond to any queries. The cottage and garden welcome you in with open arms and have the comfort /style/facilities that make the stay really memorable. We were chiefly walking and visiting friends and although we did picnic.... the local Pubs also saw a lot of us too. The best walks in our view are 2-3 hours in the morning.....pit stop.....1-2 hours in the afternoon. In that category the choice is endless and we were so lucky with the weather which also prompted a couple of goodly Pimms sessions under the parasol in the garden after a strenuous day.
Top tip would be the use of Austwick Taxi service. One man band ,Nick, drove us to Simonestone Hall [near Hawes] for a special birthday celebration. The whole day could not have been bettered. The drive is stunning and the food excellent. The view from the terrace not bad either!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
120jenny
uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What's not to like about Moughton Cottage! It's perfect for a short or long stay in the dales or lakes. The cottage is in a small village, the GameCock pub is two minutes walk away perfect.
The cottage it's self is decorated modern and tastefully done too. The log burner is so easy to use, every night we light the fire. The kitchen is equipped with everything needed. Plenty of cutlery, cups, plates etc so no need to have the dishwasher on too often.
The bedrooms are beautiful, the super king bed was enormous, pillows just right.
Bathrooms all good and the downstairs loo was handy.
The garden is lovely and there was plenty of room of room for parking four motorbikes within the secure gates.
We all loved the cottage and will be back no question!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing