We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed for the night on a dinner bed and breakfast package - was a little worried after reading reviews on here that it was "stuffy" but this couldn't be further from the truth - our welcome was superb, pleasant check in and then the wonderful porter took our bags and showed us the hotel and our room. Room was lovely and comfortable. The dinner experience was outstanding we were shown to the bar and Matthew the bar man sorted us out with some champagne, he was very friendly and knowledgeable on his drinks! The restaurant staff were equally as friendly and helpful and the quality of the food was excellent - being on a dinner package the menu choice was not restrictive as I have found it to be elsewhere. Only disappointment was breakfast where the service was a let down - greeted eventually and ordered to a table, there was a wedding party in and they seemed to be centre of attention for the girl serving, took a full 10 minutes to be offered coffee, members of the wedding party who came down after us were served before us and when my wife complained about this to the girl she was less than apologetic and tried to laugh it off - however despite this it could not spoil what was a lovely stay, but did lose them a star in my rating!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idr1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Hotel- I pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and have noted your comments regarding breakfast and will discuss this with the team- again thank you for taking the time to mention this.

I have passed on your kind comments to Matthew and all of the team who looked after you throughout your stay- I hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    156
    62
    25
    20
See reviews for
161
410
6
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel as part of a wedding party and generally enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and professional but there was an air of tiredness about the hotel.

Public areas were very nice and the wedding meal and party all went very well.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and there is no lift beyond the 1st so there was a long climb, not too easy with luggage although the doorman did offer to take ours.

The ladies WC is on the 1st floor so once again a bit of a climb and walk from the far end of the hotel.

The room was very hot indeed even though the radiator was turned off and only one window would open. The view, however, was lovely.

The bathroom was large but there was no walk in shower and the climb into the bath to use the overhead shower was quite high and the vanity unit was too small to store anything around the sink leaving wash bags full and left on the floor.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the rear offer lovely views but unless you are fit and able to climb stairs do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your visit to the Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and really do appreciate the feedback you have given as I can then share this with the team and look to improve upon areas needed.

If you are planning a future visit to the Hotel please do let me know so I can oversee your booking and so allocate a room closer to the lift for you with a walk in shower. If you had brought to the attention of our Reception team your issues with the stairs/ shower I am sure they would have endeavoured to move you to a more appropriate room.

Again many thanks for your review and I do hope to see you at the Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. It has star quality first class service and an excellent restaurant. Visited this hotel recently to celebrate my birthday. Room was beautifull with our own personal balcony. Dinner bed and breakfast rate is an excellent deal as the food is original, first class and of extreme quality.
All staff work hard too make this a beautifull hotel to relax and enjoy. It is set in beautifull grounds and is close to yarm for a lovely town visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Hall, I am so glad you had a lovely stay and hope you had an enjoyable Birthday too. I have passed on your compliments to all of the team and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We visited Crathorne Hall for a Surprise Birthday meal for my Mum, we went for Sunday Lunch in April 2012. The staff were extremely helpful and the service was excellent. They joined in with the surprise and made the day perfect for Mum. With four generations there -the youngest one being 2 weeks old- we had quite diverse requirements all of which were met perfectly. The room was beautifully set out and the food was excellent.
The setting is very picturesque with plenty of outside space to enjoy the early spring sunshine. We were able to take full advantage of this by sitting on the patio and the children were able to stretch their legs on the lawn. All in all everything was superb, I'm sure we will be going to Crathorne Hall again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for writing your review following your private Lunch at the Hotel a short while ago, I am so pleased your Mum had an lovely Birthday and each of your family an enjoyable Lunch. The lawns are a great area for children (and adults alike) to stretch their legs-and what lovely weather you had too!

I hope to see you all back at the Hotel for future celebrations in years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arranged a family celebration lunch at Crathorne Hall as a surprise, for my mother's birthday. 23 guests attended, including several children and babies.

From the first greeting on the door, everyone was welcoming, knew about the event and did everything they could to make it a lovely surprise celebration for my mum.

We had our own room, with a dedicated member of staff - Jim - who looked after us, exceptionally well, for the entire event. He made suggestions to improve the day, looked after the needs of individual guests - especially parents with a 2 week old baby.

The room setting was beautiful and the individual name cards with menu choices worked brilliantly - even though we totally reorganised where people sat, Jim took it all calmly in his stride.

The food was lovely, good portions, presentation and taste.

The President's Lounge was a lovely setting - on the first floor, with a Juliet balcony and lovely views - ideal for a small party.

We will return!

The Wright Family


  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroWrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Mr Wright,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write both into the Hotel directly and post your kind words onto trip advisor. I have passed on your compliments to all of the team, in particular to Jim & Chef, they were delighted to hear them.

I am so pleased your Mum had a lovely day- and hope she enjoyed the surprise Lunch. The Presidents Lounge does lend itself beautifully to private family get togethers- I hope the balcony doors were open to make the most of the beautiful weather we had!

I hope to see you back at the Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wembley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Took my mother for a overnight stay @ Crathorne, what a lovely hotel and the staff there were so accmodating they went over and beyond in making our stay so perfect even ordering a taxi to collect us from Yarm station, thanks to Lucy.
The food and the way it is presented was beautiful not only how it looked but also tasted, the ambiance of this gorgeous hotel and natually happy , welcoming staff is not to be missed if you are travelling to North Yorks. Thanks goes out to all the staff especially, Natalia,Libby, Michael et al. You have done it again Handpicked Group. B.E

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with your Mum, I have passed on your kind comments to all of the team.

I hope to see you again at the Hall in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Visited Crathorne again March 2012 and really enjoyed our stay.

The staff are a credit to the management - they could not be more pleasant or helpful.

Our favourite handpicked hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenfield31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review- its lovely to hear from returning guests to the Hall- and great news that we are your favourite!

I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
3.1 km away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
19.5 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
17.5 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
9.2 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
37.0 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing