We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Accomodation”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Crathorne for a friends wedding, the room was lovely, staff were very friendly and helpful and the service throughout the day was exceptional. We have been for several meals before and have always loved the fantastic food. Hoping to come again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed both your stay and the wedding celebrations.



I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    157
    63
    26
    20
See reviews for
161
414
6
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay celebrating our son,s wedding, where do I start ,staff were friendly and attentive nothing was too much trouble from the minute we arrived we felt like royalty.The wedding ceremony and reception was perfect ,food and service was exceptional thanks to the organisation led by Libby she was a star .In summarising ,it is all very good having a magnificent building ,with amazing views from wonderful rooms , perfect food but none of these are worth anything without quality staff which is what this hotel has.Comments from our friends who joined us for the wedding have all been complementary too.
A big thankyou from us all .

Room Tip: Go for a room on 3rd floor looking out over the valley well worth the climb.Glaisdale is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Firstly thank you so much for writing your review, I am so pleased that everyone enjoyed the wedding celebrations and please pass on my congratulations to your son and new daughter in law!

I have passed on your compliments to all of the team- in particular to Libby who was delighted to hear them.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel for lots of future celebrations to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay with our closest friends celebrating a 50th birthday. This was the first time for my husband and I . Our friends had stayed before and love Crathorne and now i realise why. It was the most comfortable and pleasant stay in luxurious surroundings. The staff from arrival to our departure were all very helpful and obviously enjoy what they do as all had a smile for everyone. We loved the little extra touches like a welcome card personally hand written, canopes with our drinks before dinner and the chocolates with our coffees. The chef must be amazing as the food was stunning and sooo tasty. After a peaceful nights sleep we enjoyed the choice for breakfast and could not fault the food and service again. The grounds are very pretty and the views of the countryside lovely. Thankyou to all your staff and thanks to our friends for taking us and introducing us to Crathorne.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ormesby and it was lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathybWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
I am so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your first visit to Crathorne Hall- especially that we lived up to the reputation explained by your friends, thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed the personal touches that we offered throughout your stay.
I hope your first visit will not be your last! and will look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Well, where to start? You and your team have just provided a most memorable and enjoyable celebration weekend for my 50th birthday for both myself and my guests. I already knew about the high standards of attentive friendly service from previous visits, but somehow you managed to surpass and raise the bar once more!

It is one thing for a hotel to have an impressive buildings, lovely rooms, fine wines and good food, many do. But it is a special, stand apart quality to have all your staff treat all the guests week in and week out with such openness and warmth

Please could you pass on my thanks once again to all the team (particullarly Matthew who looked after us all afternoon) – I’m sure we will see you all soon

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Firstly belated wishes on your 50th Birthday! Thank you for your lovely review of your stay- I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your Birthday celebrations!

I have shared your review with the team and in particular Matthew who was delighted to read your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed overnight mid-week arriving late after a busy day and long journey. The welcome at reception was fantastic. We grabbed a sandwich in the bar as it was late and we were well-looked after by Ian, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Great nights sleep in large, well designed room followed by a good breakfast and again great personal service. Overall I was really impresed that the staff genuinely wanted to look after us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay at the Hotel, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and Ian ensured you were well looked after- the team do work hard to provide a discreet yet attentive service I have passed on your kind comments to all of the team who were delighted to hear them.

I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is our second visit and we were not disappointed. All the staff were marvellous natural and clearly love being there. We were pleasantly surprised to be rembered from our previous visit. Dinner the first night was excellent.Breakfast very good and we treated ourselves to a champagne afternoon tea- absolutely gorgeous.
Room well appointed with comfortable beds and pillows.
If you want relaxion in a stunning country house then Crathorne is a must.
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
It is lovely to receive such positive reviews from returning guests, I really appreciate you taking the time to write your lovely review to recommend us to future guests prospectively looking to stay at the Hotel.

I hope to welcome you back for many future stays to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed for the night on a dinner bed and breakfast package - was a little worried after reading reviews on here that it was "stuffy" but this couldn't be further from the truth - our welcome was superb, pleasant check in and then the wonderful porter took our bags and showed us the hotel and our room. Room was lovely and comfortable. The dinner experience was outstanding we were shown to the bar and Matthew the bar man sorted us out with some champagne, he was very friendly and knowledgeable on his drinks! The restaurant staff were equally as friendly and helpful and the quality of the food was excellent - being on a dinner package the menu choice was not restrictive as I have found it to be elsewhere. Only disappointment was breakfast where the service was a let down - greeted eventually and ordered to a table, there was a wedding party in and they seemed to be centre of attention for the girl serving, took a full 10 minutes to be offered coffee, members of the wedding party who came down after us were served before us and when my wife complained about this to the girl she was less than apologetic and tried to laugh it off - however despite this it could not spoil what was a lovely stay, but did lose them a star in my rating!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idr1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Hotel- I pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and have noted your comments regarding breakfast and will discuss this with the team- again thank you for taking the time to mention this.

I have passed on your kind comments to Matthew and all of the team who looked after you throughout your stay- I hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
3.1 km away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
547 reviews
19.5 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,443 reviews
17.5 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,446 reviews
9.2 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
383 reviews
25.3 km away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing