We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$68
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
231
116
44
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
116
44
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsscallopsmolton brown toiletrieslounge areafantastic foodduckwine liston arrivalblack puddinggastro pubfish and chipsmain courseyorkshire breakfastattention to detailfirst classsunday lunchhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 423 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the General Tarleton three years ago with my brother and his wife and we were so pleased then that we have just been back again, although it is a long way from home. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday evening and had dinner there both days. The food was excellent, we mostly all had different dishes, starters and mains, and everything was perfect, not cheap but the best things seldom are, and not overpriced. The breakfast was excellent too. The staff were really helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, particularly the French restaurant manager who really knows his way around the wines, faultless. The rooms were immaculately clean and well presented, room service easy, I really wish we lived nearer. Thank you all at the GT!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

What a surprise to find such a great Inn with a very acceptable room, super menu and food offer with good service. Our room was a bit tired compared to a boutique style hotel or restaurant with rooms, but totally adequate. The tea tray with home packed coffee and home made biscuits was excellent. The public rooms are all very homely and comfortable with a well stocked bar. The food menu is exceptional, although the seared sword fish that I chose was on the old side and definitely past its best. The other courses we had were all good as was the service. There is an excellent wine list with good wines at reasonable prices.
I recommend a visit if passing, and if you like good food, a good destination (but check the fish before you order!).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

4 of us went for lunch on 10 Sept. 2017. We all chose to have two starter courses rather than a starter and main course. 2 of the 4 first courses (both a fish pancake) were poor: the ingredients were as advertised but had little taste, the pancake was heavy and the sauce very thin. The other two first courses (queenie scallops and black pudding) were over cooked to the extent that the sauce could not be praised from the shells in which the scallops were served and the black pudding was solid (and not eaten). We were not charged for the scallops and black pudding.

The second courses were very much better (2 moneybags and 2 crab lasagnes). The side order of three times cooked chips was particularly good.

The service was poor. We had to go to find some one to take our order. There was a long delay between ordering and getting the first course. When we complained about the food comprised in the first course, the waiter had to go to find some one who could speak English! The meal concluded with a waitress spilling sauce on one of our group when removing the plates.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

We were seated in the conservatory, which is a lovely place to sit. Then we had to choose from all the delicious sounding Sunday lunches we could choose. We went for two porks, one lamb, one sirloin, and one fish and chips!

The veg and gravy are served separately, so you can choose how much you want. The pork came out with a delicious home made black pudding, and the crackling was amazing. The roast potatoes were fluffy. The lamb and sirloin was melt in the mouth, and the chips were the best I think I have ever eaten!

The tiniest complaint - no mint sauce with the lamb! I'm not a huge fan of mint sauce, but if you are it might be worth asking.

The puds were great - the spiced pear crumble was fruity, the brulee was crispy and creamy, and the sticky toffee pudding was unctuous. All of it was lovely, and the service was spot on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Unlike some contributors to TA, we had nothing to complain about during our one night stay. We were in Room 5 which one contributor recommends avoiding because of a noise problem but, apart from some van delivery noises around 8 am when we were awake anyway, we experienced no problem. We ate off the £18.50 dinner menu and enjoyed delicious pate, belly pork and sticky toffee pudding all served professionally and pleasantly. The full English breakfast the next morning was also excellent. Our room was comfortable and well appointed as were all the public areas. We took advantage of a £130 dinner, bed and breakfast deal which was fair value these days but staying at the GT without the benefit of such a deal would be distinctly pricey.

Room Tip: Anyone highly sensitive to noise might be advised to avoid rooms near where deliveries occur.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews