We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“it was very nice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 3 Oyster Way

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was very nice”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday was one of the best we have stayed at every thing was they it was like home but better clean and tidy

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eil4648
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“would stay at the centre again”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Bay was kept lovely and clean apart from the bird pou on our window sill which was really bad and made me feel sick.

The location of the Bay was great if you had a car, travelling to Bridlington, Scarborough, Filey, York and Whitby the roads were great.

The apartment was lovely, well equipped and clean, great juliette window and lots of hot water. There was a swimming pool, jac not warm enough, good gymn and tennis available, free to property owners or those who rented properties.

The only downside would be that the internet connection is virtually non existent unless outside the apartment and even then is intermittent. Some properties have wifi, but ours didnot, this was a downside, you could get wifi in the pub and restaurant though.

Very pet friendly, if you don;t like doggies don't book.

Great apartment, excellent location, lovely people, would recommend to anyone, but a car is needed to take advantage of this great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly people, cleanliness and location
Liked least: wifi or even lack of effective internet connect, dog poo on our window sioll
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheeky_mi...
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay dog friendly”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a fantastic place to stay the bay itself is an amazing complex right by the sea. It has a good cafe and pub. The wild flower meadow is great for the dogs an the deck by the lake is a great place to relax. The location is very close to lots of attractions. The apartment is clean and has a beautiful view on the balcony. It has all you need for a week holiday. We shall definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Bay complex is lovely”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The bay complex is a quite site, with lovely well maintained grounds and gardens. It offers lovely walks, and the beach at the bottom of the hill, a short walk of ten minutes is a real bonus. There is a great small Italian restaurant/cafe on site, which serve great pizza and cakes! The pub on site, although a little pricey was a welcome retreat and dog friendly.
The accommodation at Oyster Way would benefit from some TLC and some general maintenance.
The main bedroom was spacious and light. The bed however was so hard and very uncomfortable, which did not aid a restful nights sleep. The draws under the bed were broken, and despite several attempts to push them back in, they still popped back out causing you to bash your legs on them.
The carpet in the bedroom was dirty and had several marks on, I attempted to hoover these on our arrival to no avail.
The living area was small, providing a kitchen area, a dinning area and 2 seater sofa/bed. In our personal opinion this accommodation would be more suitable for no more than 3 people, 4 would certainly be a tight squeeze!
The front door lock, directly into the apartment caused some great anxieties. Trying to get the key out once the door was locked or opened came with great patience and time. This does need to be addressed as a matter of urgency as safety is paramount.
Our overall stay at Oyster Way was a pleasant one, and we would certainly return if these small matters were dealt with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The complex
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Hi
thank you for your comments. The drawers under the bed are not broken it is the type of drawers. The carpets are not dirty. The living room is the same size as all the one bedroom apartments at The Bay and we have many guests who are very happy with the accommodation for more than 2 people for the price they have paid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ismail T
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average...could be much better!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Although the apartment says it sleeps 4, I would not recommend to take any children as the apartment overall is very small.

The double bedroom is spacious enough, however the lounge/diner is very small and especially considering the children had to sleep on the sofa bed. The apartment is ideal for a couple but I think the owners want to maximise bookings and advertise for 4 people when it quite clearly isn't.

Linen, bedding and towels were provided, but these were not fresh at all and the towels had lost their fluffiness a long time ago. The floor wasn't thoroughly clean when we checked in as marks were on the flooring in the lounge. There were also cobwebs hanging down from the loft door, which I had to clean myself before the children were happy to sleep on the sofa bed under the loft door.The owners left some dishwasher tablets, 3 toilet rolls and washing up liquid but no soap in either the bathroom or kitchen...so we thought we would leave behind the Carex we brought for the following guests. The tea towel and cotton oven gloves had not been washed and the smell left a lot to be desired. The mattress for the double bed was so springy that we had consecutive days of back pain. The wooden bed is dangerous, the drawers of the bed were not fitted properly and due to this we had knocked ourselves against all the sharp points. The carpet in the room was quite filthy and could do with a clean. Also too much light comes in the apartment via the curtains so blackout blinds are needed.

Also the mobile phone signal is diabolical in the apartment, had to leave our phones by window sills to be lucky enough to get one bar. Due to this I would recommend the owners to invest in Wifi for the apartment as this was badly missed especially with kids (we did know beforehand wifi wasn't available).

To make matters worse we have been accused of lying as they cannot locate the leisure centre pass. I can 100% guarantee I left the leisure centre pass on the dining table as advised on point of exit and have been threatened with a £15 charge. This is preposterous in my eyes and has left a sour taste in my mouth! Bev really needs to work on her customer service skills as she was very rude and got me very irate!

The surrounding areas were lovely and the complex overall is fantastic and this was the high point of the stay. However, It's a huge shame as this apartment has great potential but the little things that matter haven't been given much thought to and this has been reflected in the price.

I would advise anyone thinking of booking this apartment to think again. Personally I would pay more and book an apartment that has been looked after better and where the little things that matter have been taken care of.

(We didn't contact the owners during our stay as we feel the above couldn't have been changed whilst we were there)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complex
Liked least: Lack of space in the apartment
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Hi
First of all I cannot understand why you have state that you did not contact me. I have your call logged on my phone. You were allowed access at your request from 2 o'clock. 9 o'clock in the evening you telephoned me to see if a larger apartment was available which I did not. You did not mention any other problems even though you had been in the apartment for 7 hours. I dispute your comments. Also I did not call you a liar only that the leisure was not there. I had to purchase a new one. Also you left dirty dishes and we had to wash the cushion as it was left so dirty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The site is well maintained and clean. Being dog friendly was a bonus. The accommodation was well equipped and in a lovely spot by the many walk areas. I would recommend to anyone and would be happy to revisit again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddy8863
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everything you need.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found the apartment to contain everything that we needed for a 3 night stay. Fully appointed and comfortable at an excellent price. So good that we have just booked our parents in for another visit.

The 4.30pm check in was a little limiting and we sent the agent an email asking if we could arrive earlier but got no response. The keys were sent to us in the post and we took our chances arriving an hour early. The cleaners had just finished so we moved in an hour early.

As reported in the previous review there were a couple of niggles: a set of downlights in the kitchen didn't work, the plug mechanism in the bath didn't work, there was not bath mat, and the lock on the complex door was broken. Oh and the hand drawn map giving directions was dreadful! All minor issues, but the cleaners need to be briefed to check and report faults properly.

We concluded that a first floor flat was probably better than one on the ground floor. Although you can't sit outside as easily, you get more privacy from people walking past. We expected a lot of noise from neighbours due to the wooden flooring but, despite a mother with several young children moving in opposite it was remarkably quiet. There is a small football pitch nearby and we did get woken up one morning by the kids playing there. The matress was 'firm'.

Despite our best intentions we didn't use the leisure facilities although they looked pretty good. They told us that the archery was due to start 'soon'. The coffee shop was closed but the chemist on site sells milk. We ate in the pub one night and the food was pretty reasonable although there were lots of children around even later in the evening.

There is quite a lot of building work going on but the walk to the beach isn't too bad and is very pleasant once you get past the 'building site'. A walk along the beach to Filey Brigg is highly recommended but come back the same way (or get a bus) - don't try to cut through Primrose Valley on the way back.

Yes, we'd go again but probably not at the height of summer when I suspect it gets very busy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing