We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent food & wine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent food & wine”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

First time stay at Simonstone via a Groupon voucher and have to say that even if we'd paid full price we wouldn't have felt remotely short changed!
Room was lovely and immaculately clean, the staff were all very welcoming and the food from the Table d'haut menu was as good as any restaurant I've eaten in - we had scallop gratin followed by fillet steak.
There's also a fantastic wine cellar with some excellent wines on offer at what are surprisingly low prices for a hotel.
There are some beautiful walks nearby and the town of Hawes is a 20 minute walk or 3 minute drive away.
Not only would we like to return, but we most definitely will be!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    127
    47
    35
    12
See reviews for
76
299
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at Simonstone Hall as part of a Groupon deal, which offered an exceptionally low rate on the accommodation, breakfast and afternoon tea. As such I can't really speculate on the value for money in general but for us, it was a real bargain.

The reception was a trifle odd, in that there wasn't one as such, just a door marked "Staff Only" with a sign above stating "Reception". You basically have to hope that the door is open so that you can peer round the door to the messy looking staff room, or otherwise go to the bar to get someone's attention. Not ideal, but not the end of the world. The staff did at least take the time to show us to our room.

The room we stayed in was small but very nicely done, with fittings and decor befitting of the age of the building. The room was cold when we went it but after turning the radiator on, we were blasted with instant heat and it was toasty within about 15 minutes (and I would add that I do feel the cold more than most, so the room was probably a normal temperature).

Extra bonuses were the Molton Brown toiletries (my only complaint here would be that there were not replenished on the second day), a cafetiere and ground coffee and a teapot and Yorkshire tea (rather than the bog standard gravy granule coffee and cheap teas that you usually see in your average hotel). Something I always favour too was that there were 2 nice big fluffy towels, not the type that only just go around you, plus 2 extra towels plus a bath mat for the floor.

The bed was nice and big with lovely comfy bedding and nice fluffy pillows, and a bedside table to either side, complete with lamps. There was also a small television with a large selection of channels.

The in-room brochure/guide wasn't terribly useful, failing to mention things like breakfast serving time and the strange policy about handing in the keys if you elect to stay out late and so on, but again, not a massive inconvenience.

There was also an ironing board and iron an hair dryer. The latter I would expect, the former an added extra which was good to see.

The hotel is set in a beautiful location overlooking Wensleydale from both sides. The hotel itself is a magnificent old building with only a few more contemporary extensions which have been done sympathetically. We were lucky enough to have an elevated view across the valley. It's an easy drive to the hotel from Hawes and would probably be a reasonable route walking directly up from Hawes (though a lovely walking route can be done via Hardraw Force) but I would recommend walking in daylight as the footpaths are invariably just routes through the middle of farmed fields and are often not signposted.

The real let down at the hotel was the food. I have seen good reviews of the food but it really was terrible whilst we were there. The bread arrived at the same time as the starters. My partner had the Caprese salad (tomato, basil and mozzarella) which was lathered in balsamic vinegar and spoiled the normally simple balance of the basil with the other ingredients. My pate was straight from a packet and was bitter and not dissimilar to baby food. The main courses were worse yet, and arrived only moments after we had finished the starters. The home-made fishcakes I had did appear home-made, however the content was a strong smelling purée whose only evidence of fish was the smell; the texture was terrible and they had been deep fried to the point where all I was left with was a fishy much coated in oily batter. The chips (you wouldn't think you could get chips wrong) were over fried and oozing with oil too. The tartar sauce which accompanied all of this was really runny too. My partner had the mushroom stroganoff which appeared to be a can of cream of mushroom soup with gherkins floating in it. This was accompanies but some rice and garlic bread which had been made from part-baked bread which was still only part-baked. We left most of the main course, you really would have to have been famished to eat it.

This, with a bottle of wine and the automatic tip came to £63. I will say that the service was excellent but this unfortunately did not compensate for the frankly terrible food.

On the second evening we went into Hawes to a pub called The Crown, which served lovely food at half of the price and three times the quality. We did order a taxi at the bar, which the staff seemed to find hilarious (it seems that there is one taxi firm which runs occasionally, though run by a very nice lady) and what was a little odd was that the staff said that if we planned on staying out late, we should leave our keys with them, or let us know when we get back so that they knew if they had to man the bar. A little odd but not a problem for us as we were not staying out late.

All in all I would say that the hotel is worth a stay, but just don't eat in the Brasserie. I would imagine the same would be true for the Four Fells Restaurant whose menu is almost identical to that of the Brasserie.

If you choose to stay, it's worth a trip to Hardraw Force and the Wensleydale Creamery.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Toe_Span
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We came to stay at Simonstone Hall after it was recommended to us by friends who got married there.
Their photographs of the views and the hotel itself looked outstanding. We had to see it for ourselves.
We stayed for one night in February.
We had booked a standard room but when we got there the friendly and welcoming staff had upgraded us to a Deluxe room free of charge!!
We stayed in room 9 which was absolutely beautiful and had amazing views!!
The room was hugely spacious, warm and very clean.
The room had an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and Molton Brown bath and shower minatures!
We ate in the Brasserie and the food was amazing!! As was breakfast the following morning.
We loved it there!
So much so we are due to get married there at the end of the year!
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoNeSy_123_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was our 4th short stay at the Simonstone Hall, and once again, enjoyed the stay immensley.
The views over the Hawes valley from our 4 poster bedroom, are superb.The bed was seriously comfortable and the rooms at an ideal temperature.
Breakfast was excellent with quite a variety of foods to choose from. (we didn't have an evening meal).
There is a cosy, well stocked bar with a couple of real ales that welcomes walkers too.
The location and historic nature of the hall will always sell the hotel, but the prices are relatively high particularly as no Gym or other leisure facitlities (other than a holistic therapist) are provided.
We hope the staff can find a replacement for Simon the Teddy Bear, who previously inhabited every room and added to the charm of the place, but who is, we understand curently unavailable.
We look forward to returning for a longer stay.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDog_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A Groupon deal gave us a two night stay at this Dales hotel . Our room was effectively a small suite - better than the superior room we had expected - characterful and cosy .

The food is a little " hit and miss ". Afternoon tea provided sandwiches of excellent quality ham but in rather fluffy white bread ; nice scones but with squirty type cream ; and a couple of biscuits . ( Included in our deal and so I dont know the normal cost ) . Dinner was OK to good but at £35 per head I would expect slightly better . Starters were good but we both had the canon of lamb which had more than a hint of taste of liver - somewhat strange but not unpleasant . Breakfast was fairly basic but eggs were nicely cooked to order .

The staff ( mainly foreign , but find me a hotel nowadays that doesn't rely on such a source for good quality personnel ) were all cheerful and helpful .

Would have rated the hotel "good" but tripadviser only gives the choice of "average" or "very good" , and this fell nearer the former category .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great countryside location. Close to the small, but interesting town of Hawes.
Comfortable, clean room.
Efficient and friendly service, in both the bar and restaurant.
Breakfast and dinner excellent.
Friendly welcome from management and staff.
A truly enjoyable weekend break.
Will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked a weekend at Simonestone Hall for our first trip away with our dog. As recent dog owners we were quite anxious about staying in a 'doggie friendly' hotel but we had a fabulous time. If I was going without a dog I wouldn't be at all concerned about them being there - the hotel is great - it is a lovely country house hotel, well managed, lovingly cared for and the staff team are all extremely professional. The food was very good - we can recommend most things on the menu as we ate there for three nights. The resturant is well laid out - wide gaps between tables so you do not feel you are listening in on conversations. Franco the manager is obviously very experienced and runs a first class hotel - I doubt much is left to chance. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff team - the service is excellent - amongst the best we have experienced. We stayed in room 15 - it has good views and was a good size. We found some lovely walks our favourite was along the river and we returned to a nice warm hotel and a good glass of wine.

We have only positive things to say about Simonstone Hall. Wonderful location, top class service, friendly and professional staff and a great bar - what more could anyone ask.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Hawes have fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lCumbrialor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
1.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
34.6 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
13.8 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
38.8 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
25.8 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing