We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
315
146
59
43
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
146
59
43
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room jeremy clarkson wine cellar sunday lunch four poster bed stunning views antique furniture evening meal yorkshire dales lovely hotel night break lamb pudding relaxing stay both nights lovely atmosphere lovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 576 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Charming country house, very comfortable large bed in a cosy room. Superb full breakfast with lots of choice, a highlight, especially in the atmospheric dining room.
We had dinner, I had steak which was good, but no sauces offered. My wife choose from the a` la carte menu and she said her pheasant dish was lacking in flavour. However the Bordeaux wine was excellent.
Must say that the staff we saw were all pleasant, helpful and chatty.
We will stay again as we love the Hawes area and this hotel is full of character..

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

On first appearance from the roadside entrance it looks a bit shabby, but the interior has lots of character. The bar and Restaurant area are nicely renovated but some areas look like a work in progress. Our bedroom was nicely decorated and a beautiful view of the moors. The bathroom is just a basic white suite , clean but nothing special. Not much pressure from the shower it probably would have been better with an electric shower. Food good three courses for £22 per person on the early bird evening menu before 630 pm. Its more like pub food than fine dining. Overall a lovely stay friendly Staff. You can walk down over the fields to the pub at hardraw if you want a change of scenery. Hawes is a lovely picturesque village with individual shops and lots of nice walks. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We have been coming for years & arrived at 12.50 hoping to get our usual excellent lunch after a long walk. We made our choice from a very limited menu only to be told that the chef had 'not quite arrived' and we could either wait until he turned up or they could make us a sandwich. We opted for the latter as they really had no idea when the chef would arrive. The sandwich was OK but not what we ad looked forward to all morning. We will not be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Helen4277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

It's been 20+ years since I was last here for my uncle's wedding and I had left it too long.
Upon driving up it was disappointing that the hall didn't have a grand entrance however we were greeted by a young lady with a great smile and lead to our room which was a superior and though it was one still to be updated it was still good. Once done up I can only assume it would be outstanding.
I like old rooms with their little nuances rather than the modern rooms were everything is the same. We decided to stay for dinner rather than go into the village and we pleased with the fayre on offer. My wife passed on a starter whilst I had smoked duck which was nice, for main we both had steaks which were excellent.
A few more drinks and we retired.
The morning brought breakfast which was also very good and a walk to take in Hardraw falls and a wee tipple in the Green Dragon.
Overall an excellent stay that can only get better as it is being done up. Be nice if they could have done something about the rain....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jamfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

There is a lot to like about the place and much to be excited about future plans......
However for our stay the public spaces were to a very good standard but our room was a bit tired - the fittings and bathroom needed a refresh. Breakfast was very good and the bar service the previous day was also good. Disappointing was the offer of the 'New Daytime Menu' between 12 and 5pm, Monday to Saturday yet no food was available at 2pm on a Tuesday...... reminded of the message of 'never over commit and under deliver'. Friendly staff, exciting future plans but on bedrooms alone this place ranks a 3, the rest pull it up.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews