We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
362
97
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
97
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conservatory room coach house cheese board four poster lovely hotel bike barn treacle bread course option games room main building dog owners public rooms two courses country hotel other guests visited this hotel food is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 480 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and received a warm welcome from the staff. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the Dales and wider area, and the breakfasts and evening meals were exceptional. The staff were very pleasant and friendly.
I was aware that some of the bedrooms were located in detached buildings close to the hotel but I was not told upon booking that ours would be so. We had room number 20 in the Coach House and immediately upon entry into the building it was obvious this was a ‘dog friendly’ establishment due to the odour. Room 20 is small with very low slanting ceilings and a support pillar only two feet to the side of a small double bed. It is a room suited to the vertically challenged!
Our friends stayed in Room 27 adjoining the main building and had no such problems.
For the avoidance of doubt this was a lovely hotel and I understand it’s dog friendly description given it’s location, but I would not have stayed here had I known my room was previously occupied by guests with a dog.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Looeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for your excellent review and awarding us 4 stars. We were happy to read your positive comments about the location, food & service. Apologies regarding the issue you encountered with the room. Whilst we do allow dogs in a limited number of bedrooms, our housekeeping team do work very hard to ensure that high levels of cleanliness are maintained in all rooms. Room 20 is one of our smaller bedrooms and our reception team should have made this clear at the time of booking. Hopefully you can return and we can offer you one of our larger bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

I spent the weekend in this lovely hotel. I traveled to Yorkshire for a weekend of cycling with some friends. The hotel is really well equipped for cyclists, with a "Bike Barn", complete with bike stand, tools & cleaning equipment.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. A request for a late check-out on Sunday was no problem (which allowed us to sneak in an extra ride before heading home!).
The food was very good too and easily met my dietary restrictions.
I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Superb review - many thanks Mat. Yes, our Bike Barn is perfect for cyclists and i'm pleased you were able to take advantage of a late checkout to maximise your ride time! We look forward to your next visit to Wensleydale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

This hotel is located just outside Hawes, ideally located for cyclists, with great views across the valley. We stayed for two nights for some cycling and ate there both nights. Throughout the stay we were impressed with the high service standards. No request was met with anything other than a pleasant "of course" or better. The four course meals in the evening are excellent value and the menu changes daily. The cheese board is excellent and worth saving space for. There is a lock-up for bikes with tools and cleaning materials. Rooms are small but adequate and we didnt spend much time in them other than asleep. Would highly recommend this place and stay again when we are back cycling.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cambridgetraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Stone House. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the Dales and i am pleased that you have found us. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Stayed in one of the lovely conservatory rooms ideal with our dog. We have stayed in several dog friendly hotels this was the best one, although the room was small the conservatory was a great space and it was great having access directly to our room without going through the hotel. Staff were very helpful, breakfast was excellent. Very relaxing weekend. Fabulous hotel will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _linda_hicks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thanks for your 5 star review Linda. Yes the conservatory rooms are perfect for guests with dogs as they offer direct access to the grounds. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

Booked this last minute on the day- What a fab place! Area was stunning and the building was just wow! Booked dinner service which was amazing and the pudding was fantastic also. Very jealous of the cheese board we saw other people got- Would defiantly get next time! Our room was beautiful- the bathroom had glass door thought which was abit odd! Beautifully kitted out with lovely fabrics and a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairburnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post your superb 5 star review. Yes, the Stone House cheese board is definitely worth saving room for as its fully loaded with the local Wensleydale cheeses! We look forward to offering you some on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews