We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Breakfast, oh the Breakfast! It's worth a stay at this place for the Breakfast alone! Homemade jams, cooked plums and summer fruits, rhubarb and homemade granola were some of the lovely treats on offer when we were there (I guess the season affects some of these foods). The cooked breakfast that followed was brilliant and there's a choice too from other options like kippers and also porridge with whisky soaked currents, all served by the wonderfully smiley and helpful Jackie. A lovely B&B, central with pleasant rooms and very clean with comfy beds. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunGingerRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonhouse, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm really pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts. We do go to a lot of effort to make sure all our food is the best it could possibly be. We source locally - and make a lot ourselves. And yes, you are absolutely correct, we do believe in seasonality - apples from our Newton Wonder apple tree, conference pears and rhubarb (when the early rhubarb from the 'rhubarb triangle' has finished) from Jackie's garden, victoria plums from Freya's auntie's garden, gooseberries from my mother's etc. Do hope you'll visit us again. Denise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    67
    12
    5
    12
See reviews for
83
228
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our third visit to Newton House and as usual we were not disappointed. The rooms were spotlessly clean and cosy. The service was friendly and efficient, with a wide variety on offer for breakfast, including fruit, yoghurt, baked pears and hot dishes cooked to order. The homemade jams were delicious!! Denise was on hand to offer advice on anything from train times to places to eat in the evening, and the atmosphere was very welcoming. We will definitely visit again. We particularly appreciated that Newton House has dog friendly rooms and if we had been unable to get our dog into kennels, she could have come with us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonhouse, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Newton House, and thank you for your nice review. We have just two dog-friendly rooms - these are our 'stable' rooms which have direct access from the car park, so dogs do not come into the main building. Will look forward to seeing you again - and dog?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A group of us went to Knaresborough for a long weekend, Newton House was the perfect base for exploring the town and surrounding area.

Newton house is a lovely building, with all the quirks that come from being added to over the years.
The bedrooms were well furnished and comfortable. Each room had a mini bar as well as the complimentary tea, coffee & biscuits. The rooms felt like they offered an little more than the average B&B; a radio as well as the TV, flannels as well as towels, decent soaps & shampoo, little touches but noticeable.
There is a guest's lounge which absolutely ideal if you're travelling in a group like ours. It acted as a meeting point before we set out and a place to sit and chat on our return.

The breakfasts were excellent, my only regret is that we didn't stay longer so I could try more of the options! The baked fruit was particularly tasty, more interesting than the usual cereals before the "full English".

We felt really looked after during our stay. We were given good advice on things to see & do, as well as places to eat.

There is a reasonable amount of on site parking, but I would imagine this might run out if all the rooms are taken. The parking is in the courtyard through the arch, manoeuvring can get tricky when there are more cars in.

I would recommend Newton House to anyone wanting to stay in Knaresborough.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quite a climb, be aware if you find stairs awkward. Rooms at the back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grommet_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonhouse, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Newton House, and nice to know you used the sitting room. We consider we are very lucky to have private parking in the centre of town - if our car park is full there is a car park just along the road in York Place, or on-street parking outside the school round the back. You'll have to come for longer next time so you can enjoy more of our breakfast choices. Denise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The hotel was situated in a great location close to the main square.

Service was very helpful and friendly.

The breakfasts were very very good.

Rooms were full of character and spacious.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We only stopped one night at Newton House - it was in a very convenient position for our day course at Betty's cookery school in Harrogate. A lovely, old Georgian building, it had parking available in the courtyard. Denise advised us of places for our evening meal and gave us a useful map. Not a lot of choice but we found The Mitre, opposite the railway station had good, basic pub food at a reasonable price and with friendly staff. Our room ( No 5) was very spacious, large, comfy bed, all very clean and all necessary toileteries provided. Mini bar in the internal corridor, along with tea tray and useful space for coats and bags. Facing a busy road but with secondary double glazing, noise wasn't a problem. Breakfast had plenty of choice, including porridge, cereals and fruits etc and hot dishes cooked to order. Tea and toast also nice and hot and refills of both offered. Lovely homemade marmalade. Good guest lounge, with honesty bar also available.
Only one negative comment - the carpet in our room had seen better days and did look a little grubby. Also, as it didn't co-ordinate with the newer bedding, curtains etc, so could be due for replacement?

Room Tip: If you are at all worried about traffic noise, ask for a room at the back but it wasn't a proble...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a thoroughly lovely weekend visiting our children and grandchildren, the hotel topped it all.The room was clean, comfortable and very pleasantly decorated.The fridge, kettle etc; were really nice and there were books ,magazines and even quirky games for us to try.We will definately visit Denise again.

Room Tip: we had a front facing room with shutters , it was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We arrived at Newton House a little earlier than we had arranged, so no one was available to let us in, which was fine, we went a little walk around Knaresborough whilst we waited. To be honest, seeing the town I was a little concerned about how the hotel might be - the town is very tired, run-down looking, with no real " old market town" feel to it at all....but I needn't have worried, the hotel was lovely! I can't say I'm keen on the entrance hall/fernery/conservatory - it smells of wet earth, which was a little off-putting, but once inside I was very happy with the accommodation. Denise showed us to our room, ( room 1, very nice indeed ) suggested some places to eat ( Carriages - great, Bella Sicilia - not! ) then left us to our own devices. We slept well except for the noise of the fridge, not having one in our own bedroom at home! It ticks and rattles a little. Breakfast on both mornings was very nice, really nice waitress, and excellent jam - thanks, Denise! I'm not sure I'd take children here, apart from the fact that the town lacks pretty much every amenity, I think Newton House is better for adult stays. All in all, we were made very welcome, and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the front of the property, facing the road but don't worry the double glazing works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.7 km away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
4.2 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,494 reviews
5.4 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 km away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.2 km away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing