We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Richmond
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Middleton Lodge(Richmond)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
60
59
15
11
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
59
15
11
28
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Don't pay any heed to the fine dining menu as it is only for show. White(grey) glove performance was farcical.We were offered only their "value " menu and the meal was abysmal.Tourist board should take note.Room was poky and the bathroom was so last century!The place needs a lot of money spent on it . It was horribly overpriced.The owner gave us a box of chocolates as' a memento'. Quite frankly we would have preferred a refund as we would rather forget about our stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have just spent a lovely weekend with David and Ann at Hartforth Hall. At check-in Ann was efficient and straightforward, showed us round the public rooms told us a little of the history of the House and then took us to our beautiful room, number 2, Byron's Room. It was huge and had all the comforts you need, well heated, lovely views, comfy bed and a good sized bathroom with piping hot water at all times.

Food was fine, we ate there the first night and although it wasn't top end it was certainly perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was first rate especially on Sunday morning, the bacon was delish and so was the combed honey - a lovely touch.The Wedgewood room where meals are served is charming and has lovely views..

The views generally were magnificent and the setting idyllic, quiet and peaceful yet just a few minutes from the A66. Well placed for Richmond, Barnard Castle and Reeth, all delightful places, it really was an ideal venue for a relaxing weekend.

I am ashamed to say this was our very first trip to Yorkshire but we will certainly return, it was dry, sunny and bitterly cold. I know the Weather is something that should never colour your opinions or impressions (and is totally irrelevant to a review) but living in the very wet and miserable west of Scotland rather encourages it!!

If I had any criticism (and I'd rather call them sensible ideas) I'd suggest larger, fluffier towels in the bathroom, and quality toiletries. OH thought how nice it would be if the coal fire could be lit in the bedroom, but I think that is going too far.

Having read earlier reviews I didn't know what to expect of David and Ann but we found them totally charming and very warm. When we were leaving on Monday OH raved about the honey and Ann insisted on giving us a jar, as a gift. That was such a nice touch we thought, very kind.

I'd like to think we shall return in the Spring when the horses are back from the farm.......

Room Tip: Ask for Byron's Room, it is at the front with lovely views of the Orangrie and the Arch. Not a four poster bed, but that would be too claustrophobic for me anyway!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannahm843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Having read some of the previous reviews we were unsure what to expect and were not disappointed. The beautiful old house is steeped in history and character as too were the family who own and run the hotel who are charming and informative. Both David and son Christopher have a very dry sense of humour which from previous reviews i suspect some have mistaken for arrogance. We were given a guided tour on arrival which gave us the confidence to explore later at our leisure. We particularly enjoyed dinner with an 'agatha cristy ' experience of meeting in the cosy bar with open fire and chatting to other guests before being taken through to the dinning room. We will definitely be back, hopefully to one of the 'murder mystery ' meals for which this setting is ideal. A charming hotel run by characterful people, what more could you wish - far better than a soulless travel lodge any day!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besure01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

On arrival we were made to pay upfront which we thought was strange. We were asked for £110 but we had gone through booking.com and got a discount as it was last minute for £90 the receptionist did not seem happy with this and instantly changed our room, we were then guided to a out house!! obviously we were not good enough to stay in the actual hotel. When we walked up the stairs the smell was awful foisty and damp the room was full of cobwebs when i used the sink the water came out of the shower plug hole??. We went to reception and politely said we were not happy with the room and we were rudely treated not even offered another room just gave us a refund, discusting service the lady was quite elderly and you would expect someone of that age to be courteous and friendly but no she obviously has no idea of how to run a business or treat customers. I felt like she wanted to get rid of us because we were a young couple, well in our early thirties. So glad we then went to a travel lodge near by and stayed in a nice clean room at half the price. I would never recommend or go back to this hotel until maybe it is under new management!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were delighted with our stay. Lovely view from our room. Very friendly and approachable owners. A great place to stay for seeing the area. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews