We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas 2011” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartforth Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hollingworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas 2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have had a lovely Christmas with my husband at Hartforth Hall. We were made to feel that we were 'one of the family' and our stay there was more like a family 'get together' rather than the bland stay that you would get with the more modern national hotel chains. Its not for people who are expecting the 'Holiday Inn experience', but if you wish to stay in a classical Georgian country house and enjoy the standards and courtesy that go with such a house, then this is the hotel for you. We had a lovely room and David and Ann made us feel like old friends rather than paying guests. All in all a fantastic Christmas. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for one when you book. Ann and David will give you an honest reply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaP124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    59
    15
    11
    28
See reviews for
26
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Don't pay any heed to the fine dining menu as it is only for show. White(grey) glove performance was farcical.We were offered only their "value " menu and the meal was abysmal.Tourist board should take note.Room was poky and the bathroom was so last century!The place needs a lot of money spent on it . It was horribly overpriced.The owner gave us a box of chocolates as' a memento'. Quite frankly we would have preferred a refund as we would rather forget about our stay at this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have just spent a lovely weekend with David and Ann at Hartforth Hall. At check-in Ann was efficient and straightforward, showed us round the public rooms told us a little of the history of the House and then took us to our beautiful room, number 2, Byron's Room. It was huge and had all the comforts you need, well heated, lovely views, comfy bed and a good sized bathroom with piping hot water at all times.

Food was fine, we ate there the first night and although it wasn't top end it was certainly perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was first rate especially on Sunday morning, the bacon was delish and so was the combed honey - a lovely touch.The Wedgewood room where meals are served is charming and has lovely views..

The views generally were magnificent and the setting idyllic, quiet and peaceful yet just a few minutes from the A66. Well placed for Richmond, Barnard Castle and Reeth, all delightful places, it really was an ideal venue for a relaxing weekend.

I am ashamed to say this was our very first trip to Yorkshire but we will certainly return, it was dry, sunny and bitterly cold. I know the Weather is something that should never colour your opinions or impressions (and is totally irrelevant to a review) but living in the very wet and miserable west of Scotland rather encourages it!!

If I had any criticism (and I'd rather call them sensible ideas) I'd suggest larger, fluffier towels in the bathroom, and quality toiletries. OH thought how nice it would be if the coal fire could be lit in the bedroom, but I think that is going too far.

Having read earlier reviews I didn't know what to expect of David and Ann but we found them totally charming and very warm. When we were leaving on Monday OH raved about the honey and Ann insisted on giving us a jar, as a gift. That was such a nice touch we thought, very kind.

I'd like to think we shall return in the Spring when the horses are back from the farm.......

Room Tip: Ask for Byron's Room, it is at the front with lovely views of the Orangrie and the Arch. Not a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susannahm843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Having read some of the previous reviews we were unsure what to expect and were not disappointed. The beautiful old house is steeped in history and character as too were the family who own and run the hotel who are charming and informative. Both David and son Christopher have a very dry sense of humour which from previous reviews i suspect some have mistaken for arrogance. We were given a guided tour on arrival which gave us the confidence to explore later at our leisure. We particularly enjoyed dinner with an 'agatha cristy ' experience of meeting in the cosy bar with open fire and chatting to other guests before being taken through to the dinning room. We will definitely be back, hopefully to one of the 'murder mystery ' meals for which this setting is ideal. A charming hotel run by characterful people, what more could you wish - far better than a soulless travel lodge any day!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besure01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heckmondwike
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

On arrival we were made to pay upfront which we thought was strange. We were asked for £110 but we had gone through booking.com and got a discount as it was last minute for £90 the receptionist did not seem happy with this and instantly changed our room, we were then guided to a out house!! obviously we were not good enough to stay in the actual hotel. When we walked up the stairs the smell was awful foisty and damp the room was full of cobwebs when i used the sink the water came out of the shower plug hole??. We went to reception and politely said we were not happy with the room and we were rudely treated not even offered another room just gave us a refund, discusting service the lady was quite elderly and you would expect someone of that age to be courteous and friendly but no she obviously has no idea of how to run a business or treat customers. I felt like she wanted to get rid of us because we were a young couple, well in our early thirties. So glad we then went to a travel lodge near by and stayed in a nice clean room at half the price. I would never recommend or go back to this hotel until maybe it is under new management!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were delighted with our stay. Lovely view from our room. Very friendly and approachable owners. A great place to stay for seeing the area. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I arrived late and the chef was about to go. He still gave me an excellent three course meal. The hotel is set in lovely grounds. The hotel has had some mixed reviews but the staff were excellent with me.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
5.4 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.2 km away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.6 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#4 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
13.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartforth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartforth Hall Hotel

Property: Hartforth Hall Hotel
Address: Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 5JU, Richmond DL10 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartforth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartforth Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing