We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black pudding tower was delightful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Black pudding tower was delightful”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were staying with friends in this delightful village. Our friends have a house next to the beech at the bottom of the hill. By the time you walk up to the restaurant you have built up a good appetite and you will need it.
There were was some great starters but I could only order the black pudding tower. The fish dishes were delightful and were accompanied by lots of begs and potatoes. Nice desserts and the Irish coffee rounded off a great meal.
The staff were good and the couple who run the restaurant are a nice Yorkshire couple. The chef demonstrated a nice touch.
Only criticism is that you get too much food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    31
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
230
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My partner and I first stayed in July 2011 and we just could not resist returning to the wonderful hospitality of Chris and Lucy. The rooms are spacious such a comfy bed, huge tv, lounge area and fab shower and very clean. Breakfast fills you up for the day, wonderful fresh local produce, served with a smile, a good choice on the breakfast menu and complimentary papers to read over tea and toast. Dinner is just superb, again superb staff and a great menu choice with a good selection of fresh fish on the specials board, attention to detail is second to none. I would highly recommend this wonderful guest house and bistro to anyone, we are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou7579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

One night stay beginning of march blessed with great weather but also blessed with staying at a beautiful place, accommodation excellent in every way, host and hostess welcoming and could not do enough for you. Evening meal in there bistro absolutely fabulous, breakfast in the morning great everything you could possibly think of available even smoked salmon.... I will definitely recommend the wayfarer to all friends and family...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paiges2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a great guesthouse and bistro and our favourite in the bay. Food is fantastic, along with the staff and the ambience in the bistro. Always a fantastic selection on the menu and specials board and we've never been disappointed yet with any of our choices. The breakfast selection is plentiful...with alot of different things to choose from as well as the full english breakfast! The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable with all the mod cons. A great find and we keep going back year after year. Well done Chris, Lucy and your staff. See you again soon. Kirsty x

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We returned to the Wayfarer on 18th February. The welcome was as warm as the first time, the food amazing and the room lovely.
Chris and Lucy the owners went out of their way to help and ensure our stay was perfect. We stayed in room 4 this time which is on the second floor and had wonderful views of the bay. The room has a living area which was nice and a bathroom with large walk in shower. We eat in the bistro both nights as we were so impressed with the food last time. Both nights the food was excellent and I even managed to try the Baileys Creme Brulee which was gorgeous. We will certainly be returning this is now our favourite place in Robin Hood's Bay. Many thanks Chris and Lucy.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 3 and 4 both have sea views and both are lovely. Room 3 is the larger of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherWeekendAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

R.h.b is one of our favourite places to visit. I would certainly recomend to walkers, couples and families.. lots to see and do. Very quaint with lots of history, also good location to explore the area, whitby/ staithes/ n.y.m r or lovely sandsend etc. Not for the faint hearted as r.h.b is very steep in places, Nice inns to visit most do food. My personal opinion of the wayfarer is that I thought it was nice and modern, spotlessly clean. Very Friendly welcome and we were helped to the parking spot and our bag carried to our room. There is no reception the rooms are accessed through a side door. Our room was no2 which i feel to be honest was a tad small but The bed was large soft and comfy, we pulled the bedding out because my hubbie knocked his
leg on the corner of the bed! But the owner had warned us to be careful.. We had a well stocked hospitality tray and the owners had kindly left a basket of extra tea, sugar and milk on the landing .Lovely roomy bathroom .fantastic shower. Hairdryer provided in our room. We had a Flat screen t.v on the wall. We didnt eat in the bistro as it was fully booked however the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice on the menu. The guesthouse does not have a lounge therefore we went out in the evenings. It was quite dark on the path leading up to the door which is at the side of the guesthouse. All in all a lovely place to stay, would definately Not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have stayed here on quite a few occasions and I cannot fault the place. The rooms are lovely and the food is fantastic whether it is Breakfast or Tea. If they cannot accommodate you they have no problem directing you to another B&B in the area of similar quality. Love the place. Hoping the boss sends me back this way really soon!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, in the summer they are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlittlepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.0 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
807 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
11 reviews
10.4 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,201 reviews
0.1 km away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
529 reviews
0.1 km away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse

Property: The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Address: The Wayfarer Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the 'Top Shop' in Robin Hood's Bay, the Wayfarer has been lovingly restored as a bistro to a very high standard. Owners Chris and Lucy Hutchinson have created the perfect atmosphere in their Bistro with original wood floors and antique pine tables mixed with a contemporary decor. The menu changes every month and the specials board is changed daily. The Wayfarer also provides cozy accommodation. Newly completed, it offers en-suite bedrooms, with a high standard of service, delicious meals and exceptional value for money in a relaxed candle lit setting, it's perfect for a romantic get away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
The Wayfarer Bistro And Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing