We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
22
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely walk night stay toilets site tent facilities field bay sea dogs
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 38 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay here, really enjoyed it.
Pros
* absolutely beautiful views, amazing to wake up to
* good rates, we turned up on the day and it was £20 for a night for the two of us and the car
* facilities were really clean, always had toilet roll etc, hot showers, microwave, kettle and fridges so plenty of options.
* walking distance (10 mins) to Robin Hoods Bay
* 10 minute drive to Whitby and 30 mins to Scarborough
* friendly family business

Cons
* there were only 3 showers so we had to queue for a while to get one
* the whole site is on a fairly steep slope so it's a little awkward for things rolling around in the tent.
* there's no camp shop so nearest is a post office 10 mins walk/2 minute drive
* we were a couple so no problems with the entertainment but you'll have to be creative if you've got kids because there was no activities/play area

All in all a good stay for a couple of days and if we ever fancy a visit to Whitby again we'll be staying there!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016

I think that this is a good campsite because the reception people are friendly. They show you wear the showers, kitchen, toilets, and the washrooms are after you have pitched up your tent but you can not chose were you want to pitch your tent they save a place for you if you book. On the other hand if you make too much noise or have fun you get complained about and if they is about 2 complains you get chucked out without no warning.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

We always stay here on our trips to robin hoods bay/ whitby. We tried others in the area but this is by far our favorite.
The views are simply stunning !
Many pitches slope but that hasn't caused us a problem unless we use our awning. There are a few that are more level but it's a popular site so they get snapped up quickly.
The owners are wonderful and always help us to pitch our caravan and level it for us. They are so good at this !!
Lovely walk from site to robin hoods bay where there's some lovely pubs shops and cafes. Great beach too.
Showers on site are free clean and warm.
Can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lobraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Stayed here for two nights camping. The camping ground itself is very good, very spacious and didn't feel crammed in so was great for the price. Toilet and shower blocks a little cramped but can't really complain about that. Had a good weekend here and it is only a short walk down to Robin Hoods bay where there are a couple of pubs.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

The owners couldn't do enough to make us feel at home as soon as we arrived. We were shown the shower blocks, toilets and waste areas before given a choice of where to pitch up. As the campsite was on a bit of a slope, she had little ramps that she help us lay in position to ensure the van was straight so we had a great nights sleep. The view from our van was out of this world. We sat outside, happy to endure the cold to watch the sky change colour until the sun set. We weren't told to leave by a certain time on departure day, so we had the luxury of sauntering into the village below (only a 5-10 min walk) and walking along the beach. We ended the holiday by indulging in an afternoon tea at The Victoria Hotel which I would also recommend.

The whole place is very enchanting and I would definitely recommend this as a breathtaking place to stay if you're visiting the area.

Thank you Hook House Farm

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews