We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
320
72
42
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
72
42
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea coach house mount grace sandwiches scallops steak a la carte menu sunday lunch first class lovely lunch lovely room food and wine fantastic food staff were attentive log fire fresh milk public rooms
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 463 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Arrived on Sat about 3 pm to book in , had a warm welcome from the reception was told room wasn't quite ready . No problem we had our suitcases put in a secure room and went for a drink in the bar , Rod Stewart playing fantastic good glass of wine and good bitter for hubby
Receptionist came and told us the room was ready we stayed in the coach house , clean and bright room.
Had table booked for 7-15 had pre dinner drinks was brought the menu to choose from great choice .
I chose lobster and prawn ravioli in a lobster bisque WOW it was fantastic , was followed by three ways pork again wonderful .
Could hardly move after such lovely food .
Went to room and slept soundly hardly any noise from the road even though it's a very busy A19
The only thing that let it down was the breakfast, sausage was great , bacon great , tomato great , but asked for soft poached eggs they came like bullets and still tasted of vinegar , and the mushroom over cooked and didn't like the black pudding only three bad points for the whole wonderful experience not bad in my book well done keep up the good work

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikki e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015

Thank you for leaving your kind review. I am so pleased you had a great stay with us and enjoyed both the food and our lovely Coach House room. I will pass on your comments to the team and I hope we will see you again at the Tontine some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2015

The afternoon tea was lovely a very nice assortment of sandwiches,cakes and scones. the room in which we were served was comfortable and the customer service excellent.
We were made to fell very welcome, overall very nice and I will be back.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea. I hope that you will come back again soon now that you know about us, we have lots of great events and offers coming up so keep an eye on our website for more information

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2015

Had eaten here many years ago and wanted to stay over for quite a while, well worth the wait. The staff are wonderful very welcoming and friendly. Stayed in the Tontine Room no 3, bed was extremely comfy , large free standing bath and separate shower with Molton Brown toiletries. Had a couple of drinks in the lounge in the afternoon lovely gin fizz and elderflower cocktail bit pricey but nice for a treat. Evening meal was delicious. Plenty of bread if required, my starter of prawn and lobster ravioli with lobster bisque was delicious and would happily hav6s had a bowl of the bisque as a stand alone dish if available. Mains was pork 3 ways which was lovely. The service was perfect for ourselves as we like plenty of time between courses to digest our food and the staff were attentive without being intrusive. After a nightcap in the lounge where we struggled to keep awake we retired to our room to its comfy chairs and a cuppa (fresh milk no hard to open little pots). Breakfast next morning was lovely but portion a little too large for me, neither myself nor my husband enjoyed the black pudding which had a strange taste. They have their own home made passion fruit curd which was unbelievably good, I was too full to spread it on toast but ate it with a spoon so moreish. Overall a fabulous stay very relaxing with fab staff, comfortable rooms and deliciou food. Can't waitbto return.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2015

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tontine and were comfortable in our Tontine room. I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2015

My girlfriend and I visited The Cleveland Tontine last Tuesday evening for dinner. We hadn't been here since it was taken over a couple of years ago but decided we would try it.
It was awful.
No atmosphere.
Cold.
Presumptious menu.
Toilet smells.

There was no atmosphere at all in the place, either upstairs where we were served a bit of poorly baked cold pastry with heaven knows what on it, or downstairs which used to heave with people enjoying themselves and enjoying their food.
The menu was so over the top for all the courses that it very difficut to choose.
May I add that the items on the menu just didn't go together.
We both decided on sea bass which came with a Lindisfarne Oyster, which neither of us wanted, so it changed to scallops for me. My friend did not want any but it came with those anyway.
Vegetables, what a laugh!!
A small container, the size of a teacup with 10 mangnetout and 2 carrots in for the pair of us. Absolutely appalling.
To finish it all off a beautiful smell from the toilet area of the sewer.
We couldn't wait to get out.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, all feedback helps us to raise our standards. I am really disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable evening with us and I sincerely apologise that we were below your expectations on this occasion. I will pass on your observations to the kitchen, particularly in relation to portion size and it may be necessary for us to review this following your comments. In terms of the menu, we are really proud of the food we serve in the restaurant but accept of course that it cannot be to everyone's taste. I hope you will not let this poor experience put you off coming back to the Tontine in the future to enjoy our usual high standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2015

It's been a few years since we last ate at the tontine, mainly as we hardly ever get time. I read the reviews and noted people's comments on dress code, personally, whilst it seems the correct thing to do, we did not feel out of place in our smart casual attire, my attitude is you are paying for a wonderful meal not to spend time wondering what others may think. It was a Saturday night by the way. We were shown to the lounge and given a menu with the food choice and wine menu. It would have been nice to have a drinks and cocktail menu also on the table. We were shown to our table which was next to the fire, wish I had asked to be moved as it was too warm, but as the other tables were set up I thought someone had reservations. Back in the older days if the table was not reserved they used to turn over one of the wine glasses, I only ever see this now in hotels and restaurants in London. My starter of prawn cocktail was good, butter not provided and waitress wasn't there to ask for some. Hubby had the celeriac soup which he said tasted very good and creamy but was Luke warm, he complained to the server when she came to collect the plate, that's the first time I have ever heard him say anything in a restaurant so i prayed his steak would be great and it was, I too had steak, cooked to perfection. Salad was spoilt with the blue cheese, but next time I would just ask for a plain salad also chips in my opinion were not 3 times cooked but did taste nice and the pepper sauce was very tasty. For desert I had the sweets, £5, not very nice. Hubby had ice cream and sorbet which he enjoyed. My bottle of rose was very good but I would like to see more choices and bring back the dry, medium etc. coding, same as what you see in the supermarket, it goes a long way to help people like my husband choose a wine they think they will like. He's not a big wine fan, so he stuck to his lager which he enjoys. The positives are the staff were absolutely out of this world, the nicest and happiest staff we have come across for a long time. The chef knows how to cook a steak and present the food well, the kitchen staff also wrapped the rest of the steak I couldn't eat into a silver bag for me to bring home for my dog. Pricing was acceptable. Restaurant was immaculate, wine good. We will be back to try food during the week and see what else is on the menu and in December to try the afternoon tea with my family.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JacqBMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen team, it is so important to get customer feedback so we can tweak our menus in line with what our guests enjoy. I am delighted to hear that you intend to visit us again and we look forward to seeing you then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews