We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,341)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveller rating
814
360
107
39
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
360
107
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely town lovely hotel coaching inn historic building steeped in history short break enjoyable stay comfortable rooms mary queen of scots car park a lovely stay lovely room breakfast was excellent night stay full english afternoon tea evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

My sister had her wedding so here. The venue itself is beautiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was great. Will be back for dinner again soon and would definitely book it out for any occasion of my own.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot H, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Thank you for your great review. We are very please that you enjoyed the wedding, it was a great day and I enjoyed working at it very much! We look forward to seeing you back for dinner soon!
Kind regards
Neil Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Very nice quiet hotel set in a lovely town hotel steeped in history which made the stay even more pleasant over all staff were polite and friendly, loved the 4 poster bed and room facilities, would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B4156EKandrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot H, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Thank you very much for your review, and for your future recommendations. We're delighted that you enjoyed the four poster bed, it's a lovely feature!
Kind regards and many thanks
Neil Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

everything like clockwork and had friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent. Breakfast was a little slow in coming but not sufficient as to complain. I would use the Talbot for future functions without hesitation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot H, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Thank you so much for your great review, we hope to see you back with us soon!
Kind regards
Neil Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Stayed 1 night to undertake the river nene walk. Room was clean and very comfortable however no aircon and was really hot, turning off the heating and opening the windows didn't make a huge difference. There was a wedding reception on and I thought it was going to be a bad night however the curfew was at 11, no double glazing so was very noisy till then. Breakfast was great and a touch above what I've had elsewhere as its all cooked to order. Sadly it was over a 30 min wait from order, coffee and tea took 15 mins and no one asked if we wanted a refill or took any used crockery away until we left. Despite all this I'd stay again and recommend for others

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot H, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. I would like to apologise for the service you received during breakfast and thank you for recommending us despite that. We hope that you come back to visit us soon.
Kind regards
Neil Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I made a return visit to Oundle after many years away. It's a lovely place. I wished to stay centrally and required accommodation where I could also bring my dog. I knew the Talbot from years ago...the 1970s and 80s. It's a super place to stay. I was made to feel most welcome...even with my dog. We stayed in a "pet friendly" ground floor room which was very comfortable and contained a few dog treats and water/food bowl. In short, the room was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, excellent bathroom, iron with board(which I used). The cooked breakfasts (part of my B&B deal) were very good. All meals were enjoyable and excellent staff all round. Slightly pricey compared with other options, however, I do not regret staying as it was a thoroughly restful and welcoming 3 night stay. Also, close and good car parking. Will definitely stay there again...and with my dog!
BTW, very close to all amenities and welcoming reception staff at all hours.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank utsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot H, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you, and your dog, were so comfortable! We hope that you both come back and stay with us very soon.
Kind regards
Neil Williams
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews