We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wincheste...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent house”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cosy Nook is one of the very few holiday rentals which has been left with its original character in furnishing and arrangements. The furniture is attractive, comfortable and of an appropriate character for the age of the house, and the kitchen is lavishly provided with equipment, even down to high quality champagne flutes and different glasses for red and white wine. The rooms are of very generous size, and the main bedroom is tastefully furnished and decorated in matching styles.
The only thing missing in the kitchen is bizarrely that there are no casseroles for the microwave.
The house is about ten minutes maximum from the centre of the lovely little town of Alnwick.
We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elli M
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and unwelcoming”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The house is quite spacious and quirky but the place lacks care. Good things were the location and the bedding was clean and one of the showers was quite decent, but apart from that: No information to welcome us or tell us where to put rubbish or work facilities. The heating system is EXTREMELY noisy and needs attention. Tried to contact the owner on the phone numbers but she never returned the calls. Badly needs repair and better utensils and the couple at the top of the road where we pulled up to offload have us a mouthful for parking outside their house ( the only space available on a very narrow street) will not be staying again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GmB84
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Adequate rooms but very poor kitchen facilities”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We chose Cosy nook for its room size and convenient access to Alnwick. The house was clean and the bedrooms were spacious as well as having 2 bathrooms and 1 downstairs toilet. However the top floor shower room was very cramped. The main problem we had was with the kitchen. It was a house for 7 people but the cooking for that number in the kitchen was difficult and at times unsafe. The handle on the oven was missing (since 2011 according to guest book) and the hob area vanished under a hearth so dark and cramped. The fridge had a door shelf missing and a broken freezer compartment. There was no plug for the sink and the area around was not enough to drain or stack washing up. There were no instructions on arrival. The boiler was off and so it was some time before we could get hot water. The boiler also made awful noises in the night and the radiators came on at 1a.m. There was rubbish from previos residents and none was collected while we were there. We did not find it a relaxing self catering base.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Reviewed September 26, 2010 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Sussex
Reviewed December 22, 2009 for a stay in October 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Yorkshire
Reviewed December 2, 2009 for a stay in October 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The location within reach of, but not in the town
Liked least: Parking on a very narrow road leaves car at risk
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing