We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Shifting Sands

This is at least a twice yearly walk for me and it is amazing how the sand changes. Well towards... read more

Reviewed October 11, 2018
Alan S
Love in the Sand Dunes

It’s a little difficult to find the access road to Ross Farm and the parking is very limited. Park... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2018
brad_holbrook
,
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
via mobile
Read all 194 reviews
  
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
174
16
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
16
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach sand dunes holy island naturist beach small parking area windy days head north golden sands well worth the effort farne islands stretches for miles dog walkers dogs are allowed wonderful walk budle bay walk along the beach the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

This is at least a twice yearly walk for me and it is amazing how the sand changes. Well towards the north end of the beach there are two wooden shipwrecks standing at times almost a metre proud of the sand. Yesterday only the stump of a bow or stern post was to be seen, perhaps the reason why those two wooden stumps remain after perhaps over 100 years. Nearer the dune line a gully has been scooped out revealing never to be seen pieces of wrought iron frames and wire rope belonging to an unknown vessel. Also other parts of wooden boats nearby, wonderful place.

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Yes, there is a walk from the parking to the beach (cows were docile when we passed them).

But the this walk is more than justified by the fantastic beach, with great views of two castles.

There are no facilities - part of the attraction to many who come here I expect.

Delighted to say we saw no litter at all today: just sand, waves, sunshine, cormorants and a few other people.

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

It’s a little difficult to find the access road to Ross Farm and the parking is very limited.
Park where you can and walk about a mile to Ross Beach.
It’s the most beautiful beach and the sand dunes are amazing.
This could be a great Golf Course !
Head North to Holy Island or South to Bamburgh Castle. The views are fabulous.
One word of Warning , the tide comes in very fast !

Thank brad_holbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

This wonderful beach stretches for miles and us clean and safe. You can walk both ways . There is a small car park. Beachside views of Bamburgh Castle

Thank lynnesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Shhhh dont tell everyone - this is such a beautiful beach - accessed after about a mile and a bit walk from the farm buildings . Beautiful , unspoiled, untouched - breaking taking in its tranquility - Holy Island to the left - Bamburgh to the right - a hidden gem is Ross Sands !

Thank dpr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

A mile walk required to access this stunning 4 mile stretch of stunning golden sands with hardly a soul with you. After complaints from teenage boys, they utterly loved it.

Thank toecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Nope not a thing, move along.

Quite possibly my favourite beach in all the world.

Luckily it's remote, bit of a hike to get there and zero facilities...

Bliss :)

My biggest fear is that this beach gets more popular and full of people.

Do be aware, that because it's so remote, you do get naturists, I've seen things man!!!

But don't worry too much, they keep themselves to themselves, spending a lot of the time out of view in the dunes.

Maldives nah I'm fine here thanks

Thank Mak3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

It is over a mile walk from the parking area. Over fields and sand dunes. But once you get there wow!
Very few people go and when we went in early May the tide was out we counted 8 people as far as we could see. Beautiful sand great for shell picking and vast beach at low tide. Please note it is not for the infirm

1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

I only gave this beach a 4 instead of a 5 because of the hike over the sand dunes on what might have been one of the hottest days of the year and it was pretty hard work! So clean, so beautiful, clear skies, no litter.

1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Checked this beach out on our visit to the castle, this coastline has to be the finest in the UK, helps that the weather was fine and i guess the reason they are so unspoilt is precisely because of the weather.

1  Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews