We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 6 Pier Maltings

Open-plan living on the second floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony Ground-floor bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony
Ground-floor bedroom
Kitchen and dining area
The Pier Maltings river front
Mezzanine
First-floor family bathroom
Master bedroom
Ground-floor bedroom and ensuite
View from the ground-floor bedroom
Living area
Mezzanine window
The arch leading to Pier Maltings
Pier Maltings
View from the second floor
Berwick Pier from Pier Maltings
View down the coast from Pier Maltings
Spittal Point and the view down the coast
Berwick and its old bridge
Berwick's Royal Tweed Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spiderpig...
NE England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just returned from a weekend away in Berwick staying at this fantastic townhouse. The house is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and contains everything you could need, and more. We were a party of six and found the accommodation comfortable and spacious. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as, although we thought we knew what to expect, the photographs really do not do the house justice.

The location is great with fantastic views. An excellent weekend was had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TParker_1...
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cant fault it!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have stayed in a lot of holiday cottages in our time but this is the most beautiful with spectacular views. The location is superb, quiet but central and on the door step of lots of walks. We also arrived to some lovely chocolate muffins. There is no question that we will be back at this lovely place (if we can get a booking that is!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Returned time and time again Just Perfect”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The accommodation is perfect with lemon drizzle cake left for arrival. The ever changing tidal scenes from the master bedroom and living room are breathtaking. However the overall atmosphere of space and clean lines are enough to let you relax and unwind in comfort. Shop at the local farm shops and delis for great food to cook in a lovely kitchen and eat in eligance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we do not own it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marely
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house. Lovely view”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved this house. The property was originally a Maltings which has been converted into townhouses. The house is full of light from the many skylights and every room has a sea view. The 2nd floor living / dining area is huge and beautifully furnished. (loved the window seats overlooking the harbour) Also loved the attention to detail throughout the house. There is also a glass walled mezzanine level in the roof space with a table and chairs and a laptop for guests use. The family bathroom is lovely and has a whirlpool spa bath. The house was in immaculate condition but still felt homely. The table was also laid for afternoon tea when we got there with a lovely cake and welcome card left by the owners Katharine and Michael Tiernan. I would have no hesitation recommending this to anyone looking for either a quiet break, or a base to explore further afield. We had a great time and were sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about this house.
Liked least: No negative comments whatsover.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs294no...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

What can we say except that we had a truely amazing holiday, this town house is absolutely awesome has definitely has the WOW factor. The house is beautiful, it is light, bright and airy, it is very tastfully decorated throughout. The house itself has everything you need and much more, it was exceptionally clean throughout, it was such a relaxing atmosphere, the furnishings were lovely, the whirlpool bath amazing, it exceeded all our expectations and more, the photo's, descriptions and what we had been told, did not do it justice.
The owners were lovely and nothing was a problem, from the day we booked until our return, one of our party had a minor back operation just before we went and we thank the owners for helping us with that. The flowers, teabags, milk and lemon drizzle cake on arrival added an extra special touch.
The ever-changing sea views were absolutely stunning as was the house, would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Got to say everything, truely amazing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsNeed...
Leeds
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a wonderful short break at pier maltings. Beautifully decorated yet comfortable an homely aswell. Very well equipped an a very tasty an thoughtful home made cake on arrival. Perfect setting for peace an stunning views and very convenient for shops, pubs and restaurants...wish we could have stayed the week!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuG32
1 review
“Couldn't be closer to a view to die for.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

2nd time we've stayed in winter - we're a family of four and this beautiful and house full of light ticks all the right boxes - really well done.
Berwick is out there on its own - can't think of anywhere in uk quite like it. The Lowry trail is a delight. Why hasn't Berwick spawned its own art community and style?
Stayed for a week, and day in Newcastle / Gateshead on the train was a big highlight - next year Edinburgh?
Recommend 'black bun' from bakers bear town hall - Scottish delicacy, £6.00 a loaf (staff will warn you of price as soon as you look at it!) but it's a treat to last the week.
All in all can't recommend it highly enough.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing