We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly, exceptional food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Warm, friendly, exceptional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Lovely cosy and quiet hotel, fab showers, immaculately clean, staff are friendly, efficient and the food is outstanding, a really good choice of seasonal dishes with a little something special with each one.
I came for business but would recommend this for a romantic break, family break, anything really. It's so close to the town, so lots to do. Lovely

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thanks Sarah for your review. I think you put a review on our restaurant page too. So will just say hope to see you in the future if your up on business again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    87
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
184
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Friendly and helpfull staff,excellent food and very comfortable room.Would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thanks Mark for your review & hope to see you in the future if your up this way on business again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were travelling home from south during the storms and couldn't face another 4 hrs on the road so drove through Berwick and found this hotel. Very welcoming hosts, nice room and nice food. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thanks Adam for your positive review & hope to see you if you decide in the future to stop off & break your journey heading either north or south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is the second time we have eaten here but I didn't want to leave a review until I had tried it twice for comparison.

The first time we ate here we were rather briskly shown to a table by the waitress who on first glance could have been described as very abrupt but who in reality is just very efficient. We had been followed in by a drunk who had been thrown out of a pub we had previously been in. We informed the staff who informed the police and had him removed very well handled.
Ordered. From the main menu which was relatively comprehensive. Food was very good overall especially my pudding which was excellent even thought the chef left before bringing mine out which was a bit of a slip. Staff and service overall was great.

Visited again in Dec 2011 and sampled the Christmas menu. The haggis starter was supurb but the main turkey was quite mediocre bordering on poor which was a shame. Very ordinary and not what we expected from the reputation the Queens has. Didn't bother with a pudding I think because we were a bit disappointed. Shame but would still visit again as its been good previously and sure it would be again. Shame if it's a bit of a hit and miss place as let's face it, competition in Berwick isn't great so its not going to be hard to excel.

One point is that the Christmas menu is quite limited so if you wanted to visit again in the space of a week or so over Christmas then it's a case of take it or leave it. Just hope it's better next time we visit. Five stars for my first visit and three for my second so four stars overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thanks for your constructive review. Will take the positives as well as negatives on board. We would like to think we have efficient staff as we do not have a high turnover of employees this helping us the owners as the cliche says' you are only as good as your staff '. Also nice to know by the sounds you come from time to time. My apologies that you were slightly disappointed with your turkey dinner. We hand carve our turkey & there is a limited way how you can offer a turkey dinner with the trimmings. The christmas dinner menu is limited to six starters & seven main courses, this being because of large christmas parties which you have to take into consideration. I hope this does not stop you both visiting the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a lovely stay.

The staff were friendly, the service and food were excellent, the room had jelly beans and fruit (as well as being clean, comfortable etc) - what more more do you need.

We had planned to try various places to eat but ended up eating dinner, breakfast and lunch there - all of which were fantastic.

We would definitely recommend The Queens Head for food and accommodation - we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyeo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Great review & I dont think you could be more complimentry than both of you deciding to have breakfast, lunch & dinner with us. Hope to see you in the future & to offer the same services to you both. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Found ourselves up this part of the world, late in the day and decided to find somewhere to stay. Checked on Tripadvisor and found The Queens Head. The outside could do with a lick of paint and the decor isn't in a modern style (though that's about personal taste) BUT really really great food, very comfy bed, lovely and warm, cosy and a very friendly place. We were so happy to have found this hotel. If you can't stay over, do eat here, the food really truly was brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thanks for your positive comments & your compliments with regards to your meal. We are addressing the front facade of the building next spring as we were unable to paint in autumn with all of our window boxes on the window sills & our painter fell of a set of ladders two weeks before we were due to take the window boxes down. With regards to the interior we are also doing a small refurbishmnet in the new year too. Hope to see you both in the future if you are back up this way & to see the improvements you have commented on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have stayed here twice and I absolutely love it. I come to Berwick every year but I only discovered the Queens Head two years ago...thank goodness I did! It is a charming, comfortable hotel with a nice atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. I have stayed in both a double and a twin room and both rooms had flat screen TVs with a DVD player, very nice! The bathrooms are nice with excellent showers. I also thought the jelly beans, shortbread and bottled water in the rooms were nice touches.

The highlight of this hotel though is its restaurant...the food is to die for! Absolutely wonderful. Very reasonably priced too. The breakfasts are fantastic as well. I would recommend the Queens Head to anyone. I'll be back next year and I can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coralie_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thanks for your great review & we are please you enjoyed the food too, sounds like you did! See you next year all being well, may change the jelly beans though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.3 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
34.1 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
38.0 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#21 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 km away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing