We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food as always”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Have been back recently to a redecorated and refurbished Queens Head, the decor is lovely, but the food as always superb. Excellent service too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

very friendly staff excellent service (gary & jo) who see to your needs are A1 known to our selves for at lease 20 years have always given a first class service whether it be accomadation or meals and this month the countryfile magazine have also recommended the queens head in berwick will certainly return again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thanks Kevin for your complimentry review, slightly puzzled as on your review you have known us for twenty years, unfortunately cannot put a name to the face. I was also unaware with regards to countryfile recommending us, will go and purchase a copy asap. Thanks again & please if we see you in the not too distant future please introduce yourself then I can put a name to the face.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Queens head weekend of 24th March. The hotel itself was really good. The room was cosy and comfortable and we had 3 excellent nights sleep. The service was fantastic, Gary could not do enough to help us have a great stay. The star of the show however, was the food. Breakfast was high quality and filing with a good choice of hot alternatives. Evening meals were excellent, particlarly the curried fish starter we had on the last night.
We booked on a 3 nights for the price of 2 so great value for money
A lovely small hotel with great service and fantastic food

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thanks for your compliments with regards to you stay with us. W do offer three nights for the price of two in winter season & I am pleased you thought this was good value. Guessing you particually enjoyed the food & I will pass on the compliments to the chefs. Very true saying in our industry ' you are only as good as your staff'. Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We arrived after cycling 85miles from Edinburgh & were a bit cold. They had bike storage in the cellar which was a little difficult to access, but good enough. Room was very nice, but the best thing was the food. We were starving and despite initially being told we'd have to wait a while for dinner because they were so busy, the owner (?) got us seated pretty quickly and we had a really great meal well before were in danger from passing out - that was VERY MUCH APPRECIATED.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill_russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Many Thanks for your great review Jill. I can imagine cycling 85 miles you are going to work up an apetite. Thanks Again & hope to see you both in the future if you are cycling back up in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We arrived quite early to the Queens Head and we were told our room wasn't ready but storing our bag wasn't a problem and we were given a map and a lovely scenic route to follow. When we returned to check in, the member of staff was cheerful and we were shown to our room.

The room was small but nicely decorated and I was pleasantly surprised there was a bath in the en-suite. Yes, the toilet is noisy and takes a bit of a knack but (as a notice in the bathroom explains) this is down to the plumbing in the period building. It's not a major issue, especially for the reasonable price of this hotel.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and the meal was excellent. We ate pheasant for starters and followed this up with a beautifully cooked venison wellington. Absolutely delicious and an excellent find. I would highly recommend booking a table here. Great food and great service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thanks for you great review Jenny. Im pleased you understand the complications of Grade 2 listed buildings regulations. With being a regulated three star hotel all decor has to be of similarity which potential guests can see on our virtual tour on the web-site, transparancy has to be evident in all businesses these days which I think we have achieved in our hotel. Were more than happy you enjoyed your venison wellington which personally I thought was a great dish & was popular & well received while on the menu! I do hope you both come back to our establishment in the future to stay & enjoy our fine cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My company booked the Queens Head when stopping in the North East on business.

Great little hotel, clean, warm and a great breakfast cooked using quality produce

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Many thanks for your review & hope to see you up in the area in the not too distant future on business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have eaten in the Queens Head Hotel over a number of years, sometimes just two of us, other times with family or friends. We have always had a really enjoyable meal and have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and food.The staff are always helpful and pleasant.
from Jane B.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thanks Jane for your review & hope we can continue to provide good food in the future for your family & friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.4 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
496 reviews
2 km away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
325 reviews
38 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
23.7 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
0.5 km away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#10 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: $158 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing