We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, comfortable and well equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mrsvickyw
2 reviews
“Tranquil, comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We booked Rothley Lodge for a multigenerational family holiday.The owner has thought of everything so you don’t need to bring lots of equipment.The kitchen is well equipped making self catering easy. It was lovely cooking on an AGA again and Mary Berry’s AGA Cookbook is provided if you’ve never used one. Its isolated, rural position makes for a tranquil,relaxing break. The beds and furniture are very comfortable. The children loved playing in the grounds in the tree house and large basket swing.The owners are very helpful but don’t hover.They went out to find my parents when they couldn’t find the property! I would definitely book again if planning another break for a large party.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed July 15, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We couldn’t believe our good fortune staying for a week in the home where my mother and her siblings grew up.
It was a family pilgrimage from Australia to remember our parents who were married in the nearby Cambo church in 1951. The day we visited Cambo happened to be the Village Fair where we met so many delightful locals who made us feel very welcome.
The grounds of Rothley Lodge are serene with the soft twittering of birds leading down to Hart Burn with a quaint bridge and weir with water gently trickling over mossy rocks.
Belsay Hall also quite close by was well worth the visit, seeing the beautiful gardens and the magnificent Quarry Garden with fantastic trees and shrubs.
Damian & Lorraine were charming, very friendly and shared stories of their renovation of the Lodge which is finished to a high standard. The AGA stove was a hit and used several times over the week. Lorraine has supplied every possible kitchen appliance you could need.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pippadipp...
St Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic -immaculate welcoming family home”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Rothley Lodge is perfect for a luxury stay with extended family as there is plenty of room with a large dining room and sitting room plus eat-in kitchen allowing all the family to sit and eat together whilst there is also space for those moments when you don't necessarily all want to be together. The whole house is immaculate and beautifully decorated - the kitchen is especially impressive with everything you could possibly need from Nespresso coffee maker to a stunning blue Aga in pristine condition. Lorraine and Damian are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We loved the fresh eggs every day. My daughters were encouraged to play the piano and am not sure why others have commented on blinds as certainly not an issue for us. A really lovely Christmas with wonderful family memories.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Couldn't relax as acutely aware of need to keep house immaculate
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Dear Guest
We are pleased you enjoyed your week holiday, however we are sorry you felt some negative points regarding the property and your stay.
Just to clarify, you refer to a 'rule book' which is in fact a guide to the property which explains everything you need to know for safety, security, emergencies and details to make your stay comfortable. Most guests really appreciate the guide and commented positively in previous reviews.
The unfortunate situation with the fridge freezer, could not have been replaced in time for your stay, however replaced now. The property does have sufficient refrigeration with two large capacity 60/40 fridge freezers and one medium capacity separate fridge, which has always proved sufficient for all guest parties.
The piano is not banned from use, we actually encourage use of the grand piano, however we do always ask guests to respect the age of 1860 and handle with care due to its delicate nature.
Unfortunately we do need to charge an additional fee for dogs and deep cleaning to ensure the property is free from dog odours and hairs for follow on guests who may have allergies. Our terms do make it clear that dogs are allowed but not allowed on the furnishings or beds and must sleep in their own dog basket in the rear porch.
We are extremely sorry you felt you couldn't relax, we aim to make the property as relaxing as its location and most guests we believe do in fact find the experience very relaxing which previous reviews show.
We thank you for your valued booking and your honesty in your review.

Kindest regards
Rothley Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.