We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donkey Barn

Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove Comfy recliner sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove
Comfy recliner sofas
Large & light kitchen area
Front of Donkey Barn
Private and secluded garden area,perfect for children and dogs.
Twin bedroom
Kids bunk beds next to ensuite.
Kids play area can be accessed from double bed room & twin bed room
Children's play garden shared with two holiday lets. Some equipment removed due to H&S
Two tawny owls in care at The Sanctuary - however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Jess the barn owl in care at The Sanctuary (not on permanent view)
Rescued ponies & goats to feed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
charlieha...
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just returned from a 2 night stay with family and had a wonderful time. The Barn is decorated and maintained to a very high standard with excellent facilities and quality furnishings. Bedrooms are lovely with comfy beds and beautiful bedding and accessories.
The childrens play park is brilliant and even the cold weather did not stop the children having fun {Nana too}. It was so lovely to see all the animals lovingly looked after by the owners and to see the excitement on the childrens faces to be staying in a barn and being surrounded by goats, chickens, pony's, donkeys and all kinds of wildlife.
2 nights was not long enough at this wonderful place, hope to stay longer next time.
Thank You Kim and Alan for the lovely welcome pack and making our stay so relaxing and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loads of space
Liked least: only staying 2 nights
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hello

Thank you for your lovely comments! We are so glad that you had a great time - especially in this awful cold & windy weather ! Hope to welcome you back perhaps when the sun shines!
Kind regards.
Kim& Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretD...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family,five adults and two children,stayed at the Donket Barn for New Year 2014.
We were very pleasantly surprised to find a real Christmas tree,and the whole barn beautifully decorated for the festive season.We were also greeted with a card from the owners,wine for the grown ups,chocolate for the girls,and ginger biscuits for the donkeys,although,our daughters dog had his eye on them!
The barn is exactly as you see in the photographs.Extremely comfortable,and warm,with the optional extra of a wood burning stove.Wood for the fire is available at £8:00 per basket,and more can be ordered from the owners,Kim and Allan,who were lovely.
The Donkey Barn has everything you could want,it is stylishly appointed,and with two bathrooms,just what we needed with one of our grand daughters being a fashion concious teenager!!
Not far from the A1,we were out most of the time spending a lot of time exploring the beautiful Northumbrian country side,villages,and,of course,castles.
The Donkey barn is situated within a wildlife sanctuary,which we found delightful,so nice for us city dwellers to wake up to the sound of a rooster,and to see close up some amazing birds.
The stars of the show are of course,the donkeys and goats.The donkeys are kept in the stables during the cold winter months,but Allan,very kindly allowed our grand daughters to visit them "at home"
I would highly recommend The Donkey Barn to anyone wanting a place to get away from it all type of break.Beautifully rural,but with all the comforts of home.
Thank you once again Kim and Allan for a great New Year break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hello

Thank you for your super review, it's really appreciated! We're glad you like the real Christmas tree - Christmas wouldn't be the same without one !
Glad the children enjoyed meeting some of ponies & donkeys in their winter stables - despite the mud !
We hope to see you here again one day.
Kind regards,
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovellmor...
1 review
“Perfect personal touches!”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What a wonderful place to stay with my 2 small boys! Donkey Barn is beautifully decorated and so homely. The kids loved the fact that their back garden was a play park!
Thank you so much for the Xmas boxes for the boys and the wine and ginger nuts for the grown ups! Perfect personal touches! We had a fantastic weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jac488
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time, great house, amazing value for money”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed in donkey barn with another family so 4 adults and 4 kids aged 3-5. Plenty room for us all although the kids were barely in! They spent most of the time either wandering around the animals or in the playpark - this is the first time they have ever had that little bit independence due to the set up being so safe. For the adults, settling in for an evening reclining on the sofa in front of the log burner was bliss. Everyone was happy.
Value for money is superb and I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Outside area
Liked least: Double bed could have been a little comphier
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey P
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic country u hholiday cottage managed by amazing owners”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed as 2 families for long weekend in September. Cottage had everything we needed and more both inside and out. Lots of thought has been out into this cottage with kitchen accessories plentyfull , large range of books and games for adults and kids and welcome pack greatly appreciated. Log burner great to add to the atmosphere. The big selling point for us was the outdoor space for the children. Having their own play park with access from the bedroom was priceless. The children were also able to freely wander around the animals and enjoyed feeding ginger nuts to the horses and donkeys . The area was perfectly safe and secure for the children to explore and in estivate the outdoors by themselves. It is a pleasure to wake up in the countryside surrounded by animals. This cottage is rural but not too far out. Local co-op about 5 min drive away. Druridge bay was about a 15 min drive away and stunning. The beach is jaw dropping. Kids loved it here. The country park at Druridge is also great for the kids. Last but not least is that full credit goes to the owners not just for the cottages and their hospitality but for the work they put into the sanctuary. Hats off to you Kim and Allan.You really are doing a fantastic job and wish you all the success for the future .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2014
Hello

Allan and I just want to say a huge thank you not only to Tracey for her amazing review but to all our other guests who have given us fantastic - often 5 star - reviews. It is without a doubt a juggle managing about 100 animals and managing the holiday lets too - but luckily for us our human guests leave their barns in much cleaner condition than the animal residents do! ( And are much quieter too !!) Once again thank you for such kind comments as we are learning all the time what our guests need and want for a perfect holiday stay. Thank you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traceywit
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay for all the family”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked a weeks holiday with our 2 year old daughter and 70 year old mum and it really was a great place to stay. The cottage has been renovated very well and has a huge open plan kitchen and living room. The two main bedrooms are a decent size and the third room has been designed for kids with a bunk bed and animal duvets and curtains and a very nice en-suite shower room. There is also a separate modern bathroom.

The Donkey Barn is one of two holiday lets located on a wildlife sanctuary about 6 miles outside of Morpeth. Therefore one of the unique points of the place is having access to the sanctuary. Our daughter enjoyed playing in the outside play area each evening which can be accessed from the patio doors from the two main bedrooms. We also went out to feed the donkeys, goats and horses each evening so make sure you take plenty of ginger nut biscuits with you.

There were a few minor down points, the main train line runs along the boundary of the sanctuary about 300 metres from the property. However, whilst we could hear the trains during the day they did not wake us at night. The TV signal wasn't great and the cockerels get up pretty early, but it's the country and eating your breakfast with chickens clucking around outside and being able to see an array of animals from your kitchen window was fab and we would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself, my partner and 3 daughters aged 20. 17 and 9 and our greyhound stayed at Goat Barn Cottage for 3 nights. Kim and Allan were incredible hosts, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage was beautiful and immaculately clean, spacious and airy, well equipped and comfortable, a thoughtful welcome pack of tea, coffee, wine and chocolate was provided, with a packet of ginger biscuits for the resident goats!
My 17 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed her 3 days work experience at The Sanctuary. She hopes to study animal behaviour at uni and working with Allan and with the benefit of his vast experience and knowledge, feels she has a greater understanding in this field of work.
There is something here for everyone, beautiful walks, a childrens' play area and of course the animals being rescued and cared for tirelessly by our hosts.
Would we come again? Most definitely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$184
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing