We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful and relaxing family weekend break at...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donkey Barn

Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove Comfy recliner sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove
Comfy recliner sofas
Large & light kitchen area
Front of Donkey Barn
Private and secluded garden area,perfect for children and dogs.
Twin bedroom
Kids bunk beds next to ensuite.
Kids play area can be accessed from double bed room & twin bed room
Children's play garden shared with two holiday lets. Some equipment removed due to H&S
Two tawny owls in care at The Sanctuary - however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Jess the barn owl in care at The Sanctuary (not on permanent view)
Rescued ponies & goats to feed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alisonf95...
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful and relaxing family weekend break at a very special place”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this weekend away at the very last minute and so glad we did! Donkey Barn was idyllic and so homely (our youngest daughter loved it so much she asked if we could buy it and move in permanently - I wish!!!). We particularly enjoyed the wood burner and reclining sofas and were very snug even though it was chilly outside. This is an excellent property for those with children as a couple of the bedrooms have doors leading straight into the playground. Guests can also visit the sanctuary and feed the animals (titbits provided in the thoughtful welcome pack). The location is ideal for exploring Northumberland, with many places just a short drive away. There are also some lovely walks from the door.

Met by peacocks on our arrival, we loved seeing all the animals and learnt from Kim and Allan about their amazing journey which led them to opening up the wildlife sanctuary - their story is truly inspirational. Our daughters did a wildlife training course with Allan and thoroughly enjoyed meeting and learning how to care for the animals.

Overall this is a wonderful place to reconnect with nature and relax. We would highly recommend it and are looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
What an amazing and positive review ! Thank you so very much and we are so very glad that you and your daughters had a great time here.
Hope we see you here again one day soon.
Kindest regards
Kim & Allan and of course all the animals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbambrick
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a really enjoyable weekend at Donkey Barn. The barn is lovely, with plenty of room, good facilities and has a cozy feel. The owners are delightful and were very helpful (especially when we left something behind). We brought our dog, so the proximity to lots of local beaches was great for getting some exercise. We love the area, and highly recommend Donkey Barn as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Kay - thank you for your great review - much appreciated and we hope we see you here again one day soon.

Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexalan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for children and adults !”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect place where the children can wander about in complete safety and feed, stroke and enjoy the animals. Accommodation comfortable and the living, dining, kitchen area is a great area to spend time in together.
Kim and Allan both very friendly and sociable, but not in an intrusive way.
The sight of about 10 Kiddie Coupes and kids plastic motor bikes etc as we arrived was enough for grandson Ben to be hooked.
Their very own playground right outside their bedroom was a dream come true for all the grandchildren , but it was hard to get them indoors on occasions!
Close to wonderful beaches and places such as Walkworth and Alnmouth make it an ideal base , though we spent most of the time just enjoying the sanctuary.
Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethRalph
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Family holiday with husband & 3 children. Accommodation fabulous, spacious, well equipped, excellent wi fi signal. Lovely playground, friendly animals. Visited Druridge bay beech beautiful sandy beech, rock pooling at sea houses , Annick lots food places but gave house & gardens a miss steeply priced at over £60 for family ticket.....went to Carlisle park in morpeth instead for free....great garden & playground with children's paddling pool. Disc parking, just purchase a time disc at the car park meter for £1 set to your time then 3 hour free parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillCD10
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just had a brilliant week at Donkey Barn, very comfortable large accommodation, grand kids couldn't wait to get back after our days out, to play in play area & feed animals, us grown ups enjoyed reclining by the log fire with couple drinks & watching couple of films, Harvey (Labrador) loved chilling out with family instead of being in kennels for the week, recommend visit to Druridge Bay, Widdrington Inn, Alnwick Castle & Whitehouse farm centre

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on the animal sanctuary
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our trip to the Donkey Barn was an excellent short break! A great place to stay, very well maintained and equipped that formed an excellent base to explore Northumberland from. Plus the daily round of feeding the various inhabitants of the sanctuary was also great fun.

I'd recommend this to anyone and have already done so to family and friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole feel of the place!
Liked least: The internal TV ariel ;-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulH76
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our second stay at the Sanctuary with our extended family (we'd stayed in the larger property previously). Property fully met our expectations: clean, well-equipped and the owners did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Location was ideal to explore the Northumberland coast. Highly recommended...we will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and large kitchen / living area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$214
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing