We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As good as it gets”

Review of KITTIWAKE

Relax by the fire in the cosy sitting room at Kittiwake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax by the fire in the cosy sitting room at Kittiwake
Comfortable 'home from home' Well equipped dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Relax by the fire in the cosy sitting room at Kittiwake
Comfortable 'home from home'
Well equipped dining kitchen
Enjoy a delicious meal and relaxing glass of wine
Sleep like a log in the comfortable new Kingsize bed
'Cosy & inviting'
'Delightful'
'Our children loved this room and the books provided'
Cosy twin bedroom
The Bathroom
Oh I do like to be beside the seaside!
'Welcome to Kittiwake'
Beautiful sandy beach 0.25km from Kittiwake
Seahouses harbour
Puffins on the Farne Islands
Beach between Seahouse and Bamburgh
Lindisfarne Priory
Bamburgh Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Seahouses, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulBelle...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A clean, comfortable and welcoming property that provided an excellent base for our stay. Everything that you could need to enjoy your holiday at your own pace whatever the weather (blazing heat during our stay), with the knowledge that at the end of the day you are returning to somewhere that feels like a home rather than just holiday accommodation. We managed to visit almost everywhere on our list, but deliberately left out one or two places so that we will have to return in the not to distant future (a cunning plan!!). Would reccommend Kittiwake as excellent value for money, to anyone planning to visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinSouthY...
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfy Kittiwake”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I booked Kittiwake for a 7 night stay. When we arrived we were surprised by how much bigger it looked from photos we had seen. The house is spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need. The rooms were spacious and the lock-up garage came in very useful as we travelled on foot, bus and boat all week! Kittiwake is just a few minutes walk from the Harbour, shops, pubs, restaurants and bus stop. The house is very tastefully decked out in a seaside theme, The bench on the front garden came in very useful too for the sunny week that we spent there. The front of the house gets the sun till early evening, and it was nice to sit out with a glass of wine or a coffee on the bench and people-watch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

A beautiful cottage 2 minutes from everything that Seahouses has to offer. The cottage was very clean, well equiped and very spacious. We took our daughter and 2yr old grandson - a great time had by all - we will definately book again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and near to all amenities
Liked least: There was nothing I disliked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H
Romiley, Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really cosy cottage. Great!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice cottage with EVERYTHING you could need.
We had a short break at Kittiwake, Just 3 nights but there is so much to do around this area it felt like much more.
Pack the basics it's all taken care of!. The Kids (one 14 and one at 8 are usually VERY difficult to occupy at the same time, had an amazing time.)
Saturday we visited Holy Island castle, went on a Farne Island boat trip to Grace Darling's light house, saw lots of seals, had a lovely walk in the sunshine around Sea houses. Had Tea in the Ship Inn (very nice)
Sunday we went to Alnwick Castle, Tree house and the kids were soaked in the fountains at Alnwick Gardens.(Fab day out, don't miss this if you're in the area.)
Monday visited Cragside (needed all day really).
Cottage is spotless and roomy, in a quiet area, Car is safe in a garage just a minute away.
Its great!

Thanks Karen. Will visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and very well appointed. Just needed clothes and toothbrush!!!!!
Liked least: Couldn't park outside but car was safe.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmags1863...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spotless, well-placed, comfortable, just excellent”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in July 2012...wish it had been 2 weeks but the 2nd week had already been booked. Delighted to find the house well-placed for a beach and sight-seeing holiday. It was spotlessly clean. Everything to hand, a real home-from-home. The children enjoyed the choice of dvds, games and books and their comfy beds. There are no negatives for me...had a fab time and will definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose but probably the cleanliness and homeliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: cosiness
Liked least: getting in !! but that was one of those things i was just concerned as mother was in pain with her back
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenny1870...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way-beautiful attention to detail”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Rented for nearly two weeks-perfect place to stay. Owners were excellent. Everything you want and more. With a REAL fire, lovely hot water, good bedding, excellent bathroom, well stocked kitchen and washing machine. Now has a lock up garage a few streets away but we parked on street opposite without any problems.Close to town with Co-op just round the corner!I am booking this place for other family members to stay at. This is a real quality find and I would like to stay there forever! Thank you .

Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$113
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing