We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Redbrick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redbrick House
Ranked #5 of 14 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Great food, service and value for a birthday evening meal.

Whilst we enjoyed the experience the layout of the restaurant had a canteen feel. The red and black and mirrored back bar is more in tune with an 80's nightclub but don't it put you off.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoJo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    41
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
36
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for one night. Arrived late to find the restaurant had just closed, but the staff kindly made some sandwiches which was greatly appreciated as I was starving:) Bar prices were pretty good and as I mentioned the staff were pleasant and very helpful.
My room was clean and comfy, a little dated but not unpleasant.
Breakfast was table service and very tasty, again served with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulOnHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights whilst on Business, it was lovely, will be returning on pleasure! Food lovely, the breakfasts had the best fried eggs I had every had!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in Moshannon lodge for a Mon - Fri break. This was a very clean and comfortable lodge and we had a lovely time here. The hot tub was very relaxing after a days walking in the surrounding forests. We chose this lodge as we took our dog. The only gripe i have is that as soon as we got there they told us dogs are not allowed on beds and although i understand this it should have been stated then we could have made other arrangements as our dog didnt settle as used to being with us and i never slept for two nights so felt rough for a couple of days. The hotel serves lovely food and the service was brilliant all staff were very polite.
I would strongly suggest a visit to Clumber park as this was so beautiful and serene i could have walked miles round this park.
Overall i would recommend the lodges to anyone looking to holiday in Nottinghamshire and also recommend Nottinghamshire itself as we are now contenplating moving there eventually.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandimoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed in the "Lakeview" log cabin, one of three situated around the back of the hotel. They are in the process of building a fourth. The cabins were clean and nicely furnished with log fire and free view tv and wonderful hot tub. The only gripe was the amount of logs they provided. The had provided a small amount of logs free of charge, but they didnt last very long, we did ask where you could buy more logs from and the reply was that they would last us all weekend.
We went for a meal in the hotel restaurant, and we were told that all the tables were reserved so they offered us a tiny table in the bar. Whilst we were eating our meal we couldnt help but notice that not many people turned up!!!! It was a shame as the food was really good.
Another point for improvment would be to provide some sort of safety gate to the top of stairs for people staying with small children, as the childrens bedroom is located on the first floor, and the master bedroom is on the ground floor.
Overall the short break was good, and we would return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAZA MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Spent a night there as it was my christmas work do..We were asked to pay for room on arrival (every other hotel is on departure) and I now know why. We were very very dissapointed with the quality of the room... e.g. a drilled hole in wall for tv aerial cable...no socket just a gaping hole, wadrobe drawer could not open as hit radiator, a lamp that came on and off at will, freezing cold even with radiator on(top half warm), bathroom door that would not close. When I went to ask for heater to be taken to room I was asked to wait. On receptionists return I was handed a huge dirty electric heater so then I climed two flight of stairs back to my room (Cheers)...customer service leaves a lot to be desired. Pride myself on northern hospitality but saw none of it. Due to party night the function room bar was heaving so myself and three colleagues went to get drinks from hotel bar (as I was a resident) only to be told they would not serve us as they needed the glasses... why they could not be taken back after they were washed ??? maybe due to fact hotel bar was cheaper than function room bar...was not even given option to drink them in the bar just not served. Left party early as room was dire for accustics, to sit in bar once again only to be told rudely at 11pm it was closed...so much for being a resident.Then overheard comments by staff clearing up about wishing they could just tell us to clear off. Breakfast on a sunday 8-9am (and strictly 8 - 9am) I was told by many people this was a good hotel with high standards...but it's seriously let down by attention to detail dated decor and severe lack of customer service...seemed to be get as many in function room as pheasable possible and blow it... they already had our money up front remember.
I loathe negative reviews normally but was so so dissapointed with how myself and colleagues were treated, could understand if we were roudy or drunk but this was definately not the case, we were out for an end of year get together to say well done for out hard work...will not be going back here. Seriously needs an update on the decor, payment policy and staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Chose hotel initially on closeness to Forest because we planned to cycle the Sherwood Pines trails. We didn't expect much but was amazed at what we got for our money. The room was immaculate, tv & shower superb. The bar & restaurant decor was very funky not oldy worldy. A must have was the seafood combo to share - to die for !!! The staff were very helfpul & chatty. Yummy all english for breakkie with plenty of coffee.All in all a wonderful experience but you must take a look at the pine lodges at the rear of the hotel - they are just amazing. We are currently trying to book one of them for early next year for a short break.

Room Tip: We booked through booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
5.9 km away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.9 km away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
11.5 km away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Clumber Park Muthu Hotel and Spa
4.7 km away
Mansfield Manor Hotel
Mansfield Manor Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mansfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.7 km away
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
#1 of 14 in Mansfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbrick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbrick House

Property: Redbrick House
Address: Peafield Lane | nr Edwinstone, Mansfield NG20 0EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redbrick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing